We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Llandudno B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunnyside

Save Saved
You added The Sunnyside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sunnyside
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 - 4 Llewelyn Ave, Llandudno LL30 2ER, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 145 Llandudno B&B and Inns
High Peak
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Llandudno B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a very good standard B&B, we would stay here again for a weekend getaway.
Situated on a quiet street, only a short walk to The Orme, pier, beach, town centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    36
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
38
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Both my wife and i stayed here for a few days and again could not find anything that did not come up to the Sunnyside Hotel standards the family run hotel is just a Hidden Gem. The rooms are so clean and the beds are comfy for a good nights sleep before your cooked to order breakfast with warm and friendly service. Free car parking is available on the street outside hotel which leads to shops,promonade and the rest of Llandudno town centre.The hotel has a nice lounge where you can relax and enjoy a drink of your choice.Go on spoil yourselves and enjoy it. This is one to return to. TOM and JEANETTE Blackpool

Room Tip: any room we had is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

A group of 12 stayed for a couple of nights at The Sunnyside during Easter holidays and we were delighted with our choice. Not only is the price very good, but the place is ideally located to explore old-Victorian Llandudno. In a quite street, you have all the bars and restaurants at a stone's throw and also the shops in Mostyn street, the High Street of the town.
The rooms are all very well kept. We used family rooms, twin and double rooms, single room and high standard double room and they were all great.The beds are very big and sooooo comfortable that I'm stilll thinking of it! The owner is very kind indeed and helpful if you need anything.
Breakfast was promptly cooked, even if the buffet is a bit short, as no yoghourts are offered. But the rest was delicious.
And there is also a living room which is great if you go with friends as you can talk and rest in a comfortable atmosphere.
All in all I would definitively go back there again and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great. The high-standard doubles look to the street and have a couple of setee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Just had 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. Every one was pleasant and welcoming and very helpful. The breakfasts were cooked to order and very tasty, especially the bacon!! and the bedroom, apart from being a bit chilly (an electric heater provided by the owners helped put that right) was light and clean and the bed was enormous.We had a lovely break. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed here on Friday night as we were going to a concert at the Arena. We were a bit stressed en route as due to the traffic and weather we were running late and had a reservation for dinner before the concert (at Carlos) we made a call to the hotel and they arranged to phone for a taxi for us as we got closer (if you ever need a taxi when in Llandudno, call Alliance Taxi's who are just brilliant!). The hotel is on a quiet side street but unfortunately there was no parking outside, so we had to go to the next street to park, but it was quite close.
We had pre-paid so check in was really quick and painless and then we went up to our twin room which was very nice, quite modern and very clean. The room was on the smallish side but had everything we needed. The Hotel is deceptively large with a rabbit warren of corridors leading off the main hallway, there is a large lounge downstairs for guest to use with comfy sofas and a pool table. Had a great sleep in a very comfortable bed, the room wasn't too hot either compared to some hotels, had a cup of tea when we got back and were a bit disappointed not to find any biscuits though! Our room overlooked the back of the hotel so was very quiet, with a view of the mountains.
Breakfast the next morning was very nice with the usual choices available.

Very lovely and friendly people there, would definitely use this hotel again as the price was very affordable and didn't add too much to our evening.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and was very quiet with no noise from either the road or the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Myself, my partner and young son stayed here for two nights in order to visit the Conwy food feast.
We had a first floor room. The first thing that struck me was the well-kept exterior, clean windows and nicely painted, this is always a good sign of what to expect inside.
We had a large family room which consisted of a huge bed and a camp bed for the little 'un. There was two chairs to sit on by the window, and plenty of storage for clothes.
The bathroom was a little small but perfectly adequate for our stay but the camp bed was very squeaky.

There was a modern television with remote, and tea/coffee and biscuits.
The room was very clean and fresh from the skirting boards to the ceiling.

The only problem i would note in this room was the fact it wasn't very child friendly where safety was concerned. There was no mixer taps. The hot water tap was scalding, So much so it was out of bounds for handwashing and we were forced to use the cold water instead.

Also the sash windows were quite dangerous being opened from the bottom with no safety bars on in case it dropped. I witnessed two teenage girls sitting on the top ledge of the bottom window as it was so easy just to climb out of these windows. Ours had no window ledge and it would be so easy for a toddler to fall out to the ground in a split second.

There is a residents lounge downstairs, with a pool table costing £3.00 for half an hour.

Breakfasts were lovely, choice of fresh fruit salad, cereals and of course the full breakfasts. I particularly enjoyed the fact the orange juice was fresh and bacon thick with little rind. - for me it's the small things which make a big difference.

I would definately return to this hotel, i didn't get to know the staff/ owners but they all seemed friendly and helpful when needed, and didn't intrude in the guests at all.

it's worth noting due to the thin windows ( i think these windows are a requirement of older buildings in the area) noise can be heard from the pub down the street. Only on the weekend however. And this did not spoil our holiday in the slightest.

Location's great. A short walk to everything you need. Parking was easy although the car was not used till our departure.

Come to this hotel as you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Spent 3 nights here my wife and i in October , Lovely room we were given the only thing i would say, at the end of the street is 2 pub like places and on a friday and Saturday night its loud we were in the front area of the hotel! and at night it was pretty loud to about 2am...Apart from that the place is lovely and clean great prices and what a lovely breakfast area and great food to fill you for your day ahead!!...nice smiling staff...One thing i would say when we booked this place we got a day wrong and got this changed, on arrival we where greeted by i think the owner...and he gave a little dig to the fact "Oh you are the ones that kept changing your minds" Hmmmm just one day of a change.... didn't need that dig!! and that is the only thing that damped this place! but got over it and enjoyed rest of stay, think because we never seen him again lol

Room Tip: they have limited on street parking but just going up the road towards the church and alittle past t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sunnyside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunnyside

Address: 2 - 4 Llewelyn Ave, Llandudno LL30 2ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunnyside 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunnyside is a friendly, family run 20 bedroom Guest Accommodation in Victorian Llandudno. Situated below the Great Orme and surrounded by all the attractions of Victorian Llandudno. The Sunnyside is the ideal location for your North Wales break, holiday or adventure.The Sunnnyside has a light and welcoming restaurant serving a comprehensive breakfast choice, also our warm and comfortable lounge is ideal for relaxing with a drink from our small bar area in reception. The Sunnyside boasts 20 individually decorated rooms all of which have en-suite bathroom facilities, include colour television and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Sunnyside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Llandudno
The Sunnyside Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunnyside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.