We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous find! !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Clontarf Hotel to your Saves list
The Clontarf Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
1 review
“Fabulous find! !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night for my husband's 50th birthday. We stayed in lovely Metropolitan room very spacious with large window looking onto Orme.my husband loved the amazing shower.great decor and breakfast was of high quality.This is a gem of the West Shore! We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    43
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
334
30
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our first stay at The Clontarf, a hotel we picked because it allowed dogs. Our first holiday away with the puppy & we could not fault the welcome, service or the beautiful room we were shown to. Joni & Mark are wonderful hosts, & nothing was a problem to them. Opie loved his first holiday away & was a wonderful puppy the whole weekend. The breakfasts were magnificent, you didn't need to eat again till late afternoon/early evening. Thank you Joni & Mark for a lovely holiday, we will be back with you next year.

Room Tip: Ground floor room for us as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Llandudno on a Friday we arrived at the Hotel quite early but decided to pop inside of course our room wasnt ready we were early, but we was welcomed by Joni and showed to a lovely lounge and offered a pot of tea. This made an impression straight away and was very welcoming . We checked into a lovely room one of the smaller ones as we had paid a good price and the hotel was full that weekend it was very modern and very clean. We had a very goodnights sleep and next morning went down to breakfast and was pleasantly suprised by the variety on offer .We are certainly booking again .Friendly hosts beautifull decor comfort and excellent location on Westshore.

Room Tip: seaview in the smaller room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was my third stay at the Clontarf in the past 10 months. I usually stay with some friends but this time I stayed with my husband. As usual I enjoyed every minute of my stay there. Room (metropolitan) was wonderful, clean bright and spacious and oh that shower.... My husband enjoyed his first stay, especially the electric bed. The food is wonderful, well prepared, great variety and so hot. I think anybody who works in hospitality these days has a difficult job and Joni and Mark are no exception. They work hard to ensure everything is right and if it isn't you only have to say and they quickly sort out any problem, it never seems to much trouble. Everybody's expectations are different I know and I am sure that if I tried really hard I could find some faults but having stayed in a number of very poor places over the years I will continue to recommend this hotel to everybody. In fact I like it so much I'm already booked again for November.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful but my favourite remains the romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wonderful family run hotel on the west shore.
If you want a quiet break but within 10 minutes walk of the town centre then this is the one to choose.
This is our 3rd or 4th stay and cannot fault it.
The owners, Joni and Mark make you very welcome and they always try to please.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family and I (8 of us in 5 rooms) have just got back from staying at The Clontarf for a family celebration.

First of all, I will list all the negative things ........ (yep, that should just about do it!)

Now, what did we love about it......
- Joni and Mark were great hosts - very friendly, very helpful and nothing too much trouble
- The rooms were great - as described, very high quality and very comfortable
- The evening meal was superb - as good as any we've had, including some fancy/expensive places
- The breakfast was perfect - lots of choice and well cooked
- The location was excellent - within easy reach of Llandudno and attractions, but, far enough away to be nice and tranquil

Would we recommend to others? - We certainly would and, indeed, already have!

Thanks to Joni and Mark for making our celebration all that more special

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend and we were not disappointed... On arrival we were upgraded, which was a good start, and the room was lovely. Having seen the photos on the website, all the rooms are lovelt, and look as they do on the website, which isnt always the case!! The staff here are all friendly and will do anything to help.Its a short walk to the centre so the hotel is well placed. Breakfast is brill, and again, anything you want, they will do for you. We only stayed the one night, but will deff visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clontarf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clontarf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.