We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Clontarf Hotel to your Saves list
The Clontarf Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
3 nights for 2 is back!
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great place to stay !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I spent a night here recently. The hosts were most welcoming. We had the evening meal, which tasted fabulous. Breakfast was just as enjoyable , and set us up for the day . Room was very well presented , with lovely view of the great orme. We will certainly be returning!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    43
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
334
30
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been back to the Clontarf for the second time and it was just like going home,Joni and Mark are a lovely couple and were very helpful with my brother-in-law who has health problems.The bedrooms are 1st class and the food was wonderful.We will be back and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Clontarf last year and bought my parents along this year for a short break, we were not disappointed. The rooms, food and service were exceptional and my parents will not be staying anywhere else on any future trips to Llandudno. Thanks again for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

just got back from the Clontarf - husbands 50th birthday and stayed there in the romantic room which was lovely - had 2 couples along for the weekend and their rooms equally were lovely - Joni and Mark were wonderful as nothing was too much trouble for them - i had rung Joni before we went to ask if she would be able to get a cake for hubbies birthday to be a surprise and everything was done including the balloons and banners - like previously mentioned the honesty bar is great - all 3 of us couples have said we would go back again - lovely rooms, good location and very welcoming - many thanks to Joni and Mark xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My family of four stayed recently at this wonderful B&B. There are no family rooms, so we split between a standard double room (#7) and a superior double room (#9). The standard double room is well laid out and there is enough space to easily move around the room. The flat-screen TV is of a good size and location to view from the bed. The bathroom is very nice and quite roomy for a smaller-sized room. The superior double room exceeded our expectations. This is a very spacious room with a large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room is furnished with enough storage space to unpack if you are staying for any length of time. My wife and I agreed that there is a romantic feel to this room. She was particularly impressed with the bathroom, especially the shower. The full breakfast, included in the room rate, was fabulous and filling. There are a variety of menu options to choose from. An evening meal can be prepared with prior notice. There is also an honour bar with a variety of beer and wine to choose from.

Joni and Mark were wonderful. Joni is a true lady who exhibits poise, grace, and hospitality. Mark greeted us upon arrival and served us tea in the relaxing common area before showing us to our rooms. He also helped with identifying some local sights to visit and a nice hiking path.

The location of the Clontarf is at the western side of Llandudno. The area is quiet and you are a short walk from the beach. It is about a ten-minute walk to the main shops, restaurants, promenade, and pier of central Llandudno. There is limited parking on the hotel grounds. However, there is plenty of parking along the streets, which are quite wide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in May. For the money there was nothing to complain about at all. The owners were pleasant, obliging and friendly The breakfast was good - with plenty of choice. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The hotel is in a quiet area and there is ample parking in the vicinity of the hotel. We would not hesitate to stay there again if we were visiting LLandudno. It is a 2 minute walk to the quiet beaches, but about half a mile to the pier on the busy side of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisbech
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I, and two friends stayed for a weekend [ a very wet one unfortunately ] 10th and 11th of May. Joni and Mark were very welcoming, and both of them being motorcyclists, were more than happy to accomodate three bikes at the rear of their forecourt, and had offered to house them securely in their garage.
Breakfast was varied and well cooked, honesty bar an unexpected pleasure. All areas were clean and well maintained.
Evening meals are available by prior arrangement, the location is only ten minutes from town centre for meals and entertainment, but far enough out to be quiet.
My wife and I paid a little extra for the larger room [ room 9] and were very pleased with the bed comfort, shower size and general room size.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clontarf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clontarf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.