We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay - still brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Clontarf Hotel to your Saves list
The Clontarf Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2nd stay - still brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Tis was our second stay at the clontarf and have to say it was better than the first one! We dont usually stay in the same hotel twice, but after the first visit there wasnt a decision to be made! We had a different room but the same high quality stay. Little things, such as biscuits, sweets and bottled water make the stay even better.
We had the evening meal on both nights and the food is both scrumptious and huge in portions! I recomend the chicken tikka masala, very nice!
Already looking at making it a hat trick of stays and visiting again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect to be honest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    43
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
334
30
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed. Shown around the dwelling, nothing was too much trouble, shown to our room which was upgraded free as our booking wasn't correct and they didn't have a cot. Perfect quiet location, only a short walk to the main streets. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is most definitely a dream destination! I have stayed in many places and this is one of the few breathtakers. You can book some extras via their own website like champagne, chocolate or flowers to be added to your room on arrival for reasonable prices. I went for a box of yummy chocolates as an added surprise for my girlfriend's birthday. What a lovely idea as well to have a 24h honesty bar. Such a lovely cozy place with 8 amazing rooms close to the sea. Very convenient location ... 1 minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes walk into town ... best to walk via the Great Orme path (starts next to the castle like house on the beach). It might take a bit longer than the direct way into town as the views make you stop and fill you up with admiration all along the way and the numerous benches invite for breaks ... and not to forget the tea room half way. What a gorgeous place ... the hotel and the town. An experience not to be missed!!!

Room Tip: Any room is a winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A wonderful find. The hotel is spotless, the hosts cannot do enough to make your stay special. The room was fantastic and the food was excellent. Thanks for 3 lovely days! If you are visiting Llandudno don't even think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buxton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I could go on and on repeating what everyone else has said about how good this place is. Its true. All of it. Rooms,breakfast, evening meals,location, effort put in by Jo and Mark. Exceptional.
There was almost a problem. We stayed for 2 nights, 16th and 17th of April. The first being a non landmark anniversary (36th). The second being my wifes 60th birthday. I booked a bottle of Prosecco for the first night and a bottle of champagne for the second. Due to a computer glitch the second bottle booking had slipped a few columns and wasnt visible to the owners and probably the reason champagne arrived the first night. Quick knock on the kitchen door and Mark produced not Prosecco but an ice bucket containing a further bottle of champagne (Taittinger no less) for the price of Prosecco. Nice touch.
Would certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 on the side of the property with a slight sea view and excellent view of the Gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have been to the Clontarf before and so expected a great stay in this small, cosy hotel in Llandudno - and we were not disappointed. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and even our dog was made welcome! The rooms are individual, clean and comfortable, the food delicious and good value for money - highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Clontarf Hotel for the first time but it definitely will not be our last. From Booking to departing the Hotel was first class service. Welcome by Joni was great and even carried suitcases to our room. Nothing was too much trouble. The Hotel is spotless. The food is 5* quality only wish we could have had time to sample dinner. Best recommendation you can have is from previous guests returning because as they said "Its like home from home".

Room Tip: The rooms are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clontarf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clontarf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.