We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Clontarf Hotel to your Saves list
The Clontarf Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful single night stay here out of season (room 1), ordered flowers and fruit for our room for our arrival, very attentive service. Great views and a terrific night's sleep. Breakfast superb and kept us going until the evening! Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    43
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
334
30
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Me and my husband had a short break here in February 2013. The other reviews for this hotel were fabulous and I agree with them all. It's a lovely hotel and the extra luxury touches in the rooms such as the fab drench shower we had in our room and the L'Occitane toiletries really make it stand out from the crowd. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The hotel is in a lovely quiet area only a minutes walk from the West shore beach and only a 10 minute walk to the more lively area near the pier on he opposite beach. The breakfast is the best I have ever had at a hotel - lovely quality products and lots of choice. We were made to feel very welcome and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My partner and I spent one night here on Feb 5th 2013. We stayed in Room 2 (The Romantic Room) - it was absolutely gorgeous and immaculate. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We ate at the hotel in the evening and the food was 10/10. We will definately be staying here again. Thank you for your hospitality! Hannah & Craig.

Room Tip: The Romantic Room has a gorgeous Jacuzzi bath! Would definately recommend this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We visited the Clontarf back in October 2012 as a treat for my wifes mother, who deserved a break away. Joni & Mark came across as two lovely people who work really hard at making sure their guests are looked after as well as possible and will do that little bit extra if you need something that isn't immediately available. I needed access to wheat free food & they were more than happy to oblige. On our first night the chance to have an evening meal at the hotel made life so easy. The choice of food for dinner and breakfast was excellent and was well cooked, tasty and plentiful. You can see that Joni & Mark work hard on keeping their standards so high, but they both still spared the time for a chat. The rooms we had were both really well appointed & the views from the Premier Supreme room were superb & the room my mother-in-law had (Teal) was a good size and only up one short flight of stairs from the ground floor. The guidebook that was in the room was really well compiled with good ideas of things to do / walks in the area. This hotel is at the West Shore which for us was spot on, as it is just away from the main hustle and bustle whilst being just a short walk down the road. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eglwysbach, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This couple really have got it right when it comes to running a small hotel, the quality of furnishings, the linen, the thought that has gone into the needs of their guests is remarkable, I cannot rate this 9 room hotel well enough, it is exceptional. Really guys; thank you for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Book a table in The Seahorse for dinner while you're in Llandudno, excellent restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

What a great little hotel this is!! Excellent value for money!
Joni and Mark could not have been more hospitable from the day of check in to the day we checked out. The room was spacious and relaxing and it's facilities where perfect and had everything you needed for your stay. The information of the local amenities and things to do was excellent. Breakfast was perfect, plenty of choice and also anything that was not on the menu was made without any fuss. I can not say a bad word about the hotel. As I have worked in a hotel for 8 years I know how hard it is but The Clontarf is a great example of how a hotel should be ran!
If we are ever in the area again we know where to stay.
Thanks again for a wonderful weekend!
Adam and Rhiannon xx

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

You could not get a friendlier welcome, a lovely couple that were very friendly and helpful. The place was beautiful, the rooms were large and spacious, clean and modern with lovely bathroom products. Breakfast had many local ingredients and had plenty to choice from, would definitely recommend and go back again. Thank you. Ricardo and Mark

Room Tip: First floor double with the sea view was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clontarf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clontarf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.