We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad at all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Hotel

Save Saved
You added Somerset Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somerset Hotel
Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LF , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 64 hotels in Llandudno
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“not bad at all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

First time in Llandudno and was very impressed with the resort itself. We went on speck during half term and had a good choice of accommodation available to us however we went with the Somerset.
We got a sea view double with en suite which was more than adequate, clean, comfortable fresh towels every day. breakfast was also pretty good too. Overall it was good value for your money. the evening entertainment was not to our taste (aimed at the more mature clientle) but most seemed to enjoy it. The only criticism I had was that the Victorian sash windows have had so many coats of paint on them over the last 100 years or so that they did not close properly. not a problem in the summer however with a force ten gale blowing from the north west in october it was blowing the curtains and needed towels to plug the gaps and the heating on full to keep warmth in the room. would we use this hotel again..........possibly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
21
29
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Been on a group bus holiday on Monday 2nd July-Friday 6th July to the Somerset hotel, had a great time, all staff very friendly, hospitality was excellent, food excellent rooms very clean, comfortable and spacious. Entertainment was excellent would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Lovely rooms, fresh towels every day and very friendly staff - restaurant, room assistants, and reception. Evening entertainment appropriate for the majorty of the clientele.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here last weekend for a family get together. The room that we had, even though it had a sea view was small and basic and the bed was very uncomfortable.

The lounges were good. They had entertainment on that although it wasnt to my taste, older members of the family could go and enjoy the entertainment. There was a good supply of lounges to sit and talk in if you didnt want the entertainment.

The Food was very good. Good choice, well cooked and well presented. Reception and the Restaurant team were very good. Friendly and helpful.

All in all we had a good weekend and was only let down by the standard of the room really. Every other aspect was fine - hwoever the drinks were expensive too

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I nearly cancelled our holiday after reading the reviews, in fact I rang the hotel to ask if the report of bed bugs was correct. The reception staff were horrified and said they had never had bed bugs so we carried on with our plans but with a little trepidation. We need not have worried! We had a sea view, which although not necessary was very pleasanr, and the room was spotlessly clean.I stripped off the bedding to find a very clean matress with two covers on it. Yes the sink was in the room but the shower and toilet werent! The water was always nice and hot and clean towels were always provided.The food was excellent with a choice of two starters, four mains andat least four desserts.My only criticism was that a cheese option for dessert would have been nice. The waiting staff always had a smile no matter how rude some visitors were and although some tables seated large groups of people we had a table for two.I would advise people who dont like eating with strangers not to go on coach trips! The hotel was on the sea front with an easy walk to the pier. What do people expect for their money! This is an old quirky building, if you want modern and bland go to a Travel Lodge! Congratulations to all the staff ,we would certainly return! Mrs Douglas ,York.

Room Tip: Let the staff know if you have mobility problems.Lifts are small but available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Firstly good points - Excellent location in the centre of llandudno. Stunning views from bedroom. Efficient and helpful staff.
Nice terrace at the front of the hotel. Only a short walk from the train station. Very clean everywhere. Good size bedroom. Good disabled access.


Bad points - The hotel is very dated, bedrooms look like they are from the 70's . Also communal areas are dated. The main problem I found is the bathroom, it was tiny and dated plus the sink was in the bedroom. I stayed as a private guest not on a coach party and found the dining room to be small and the food poor quality.

Overall the best part of the hotel is its location, however I wouldn't stay here again due to the tired and dated feel of the accomodation. Although this is just my opinion, many of the people there were very happy with the hotel and returned every year. Older guests seem to love this hotel, however I would not reccomend it for younger ones.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The location is good if you don,t have a top floor room overlooking M&S storeroom roof and the chiming church clock. The sink was in the room and the flow of the shower was pathetic and temperature varied between scalding and freezing at any time. The lift is a disaster and when it did finally arrive the door would not open on my floor.I climbed the 3 flights of stairs for the rest of the weekend The food was reasonable but I have to praise the girls in the dining room as they were first class and the service was A1. Even though it was in a prime position I thought the prices were a bit steep for the standard of the room.

Room Tip: Go for the lower floors with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Hotel

Address: Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LF , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 64 hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.