We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value 5 day break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Marine Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Marine Hotel
The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent value 5 day break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just returned from a Shearings coach break - 'Great Little trains of Wales' and it was so well-organised. Our driver Lee who picked us up at Stretton Interchange, was one of the best we have travelled with, friendly, helpful and so informative on all the excursions. He should have been a history teacher with all his knowledge! It was very interesting. On our arrival at the Hotel at mid-day, we were greeted on the coach by the Manager and were advised our rooms would not be available until 3.30 pm, but we could leave our hand luggage in the ballroom and have lunch in the bar. The weather was lovely so we had a walk and when we returned our cases had been taken to our room. Our room was spacious and had been refurbished and we were pleasantly surprised to have a sea view, which was a bonus. It was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay and plenty of coffee and tea provided. We could not fault the service in the Restaurant and all the staff were pleasant. Good choice of menu and we were always served with hot food. Coffee and tea were served after the evening meal in the ballroom which was followed by a short game of bingo before the cabaret. We watched a duo Sheila and John who were entertaining, also a Comedian on one of the nights. The only disappointment was on the Wednesday evening when no entertainment was provided. We are mobile and able to go out for a walk, but for some people who were unable to do so and had been looking forward to the entertainment, they were rather disappointed.

We thoroughly enjoyed the excursions on the Festioniog railway, Welsh Highland Railway and little railway round Lake Padarn in Llanberis. We also had a half day optional excursion to Betwsycoed and the chance to visit the Swallow Falls. An extra surprise was over to Anglesey where we had a stop for coffee and shopping at an outlet village.

The Marine hotel is in an excellent location for walking along the promenade to the pier and The Happy Valley, plenty of seats for people to sit and have a rest if not too mobile (just be aware of the seagulls who like ice cream!) Good shopping location with plenty of cafes. We took a one hour drive in an old Leyland bus which left from by the pier and went along the marine drive, round the Great Orme, with a commentary by the driver. He stopped halfway round for passengers to take photos of the scenery and we even saw some goats on the side of the Great Orme. There is also a little train leaving by the pier which takes visitors to the West Shore and an open top 'hop on and hop off' bus going to Conway. We can recommend the Marine Hotel and the 'little Trains of Wales' break to anyone requiring a clean comfortable Hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi janus274, You have given a very comprehensive review of the hotel and area and it is reads very well. It is good that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I would hope you will come back again as there is so much to see and do. Thank you for making the post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    205
    122
    53
    44
See reviews for
80
257
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Hotel is on the sea front so you could walk the sea front.

The food was good same in most of the Shearing Hotels
Entertainment was good there was dancing if you wanted

The rooms were clean they have been update.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi trusue, short, sweet and to the point. Thank you for your post and the good score for the hotel. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at the bay marine because it is a clean, comfortable, very friendly hotel with good entertainment and great food.The veiws from the hotel are beautiful .The staff will help you with any request's if they can especially Kelly on reception.We have already booked our 5th holiday here.Can't wait to vome back agsin in august.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi llandudn, Thank you for your post. It is good to read that you are able to have repeatedly good holidays with us and are looking forward to your next. We look forward to having you back in August, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We Stayed at the Marine Hotel 27th to 30th June 2014.
Had a sea view room on the first floor room 120 was a nice room and very clean.
Nice friendly reception staff.
Food ok although Saturday evening wasn't very good,perhaps a different chef.
Could do with more staff in the bar area at certain times,bit annoying when you have to go to reception to get somebody to serve you.
Great location in Llandudno and worth paying the extra for a sea view room.
Didn't do any entertainment but there wasn't any on Sunday night anyway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Sue P, Looks like you enjoyed your stay with us which is good. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I visited Llandudno June 16 through 20 on a Shearings Coach holiday, a treat from relatives in Wigan to mark my first trip to the UK (I am from Toronto, Canada) and as an early birthday celebration. I had a single room on the first floor with sea view. The room itself was immaculate and the view spectacular! The food was fine as well: lots of choice at breakfast and nice selections for dinner, all nicely prepared and served by friendly staff who happily accomodated all requests. The packed lunches were surprisingly generous and very delicious - excellent value for the small amount charged. But the staff is really the best part of this hotel. To a person, everyone with whom we dealt was welcoming, courteous, warm, friendly and helpful. The location was ideal, quite centrally located within easy walking distance to shopping and the pier. As a bonus, the weather itself was perfect the entire time, warm and sunny. If there is any criticism at all, it would be the difficulty in getting a seat on the enclosed veranda, which seemed to be monopolized by the same people every day; however, part of the issue could be that the chairs are unusually large and the tables quite small. Perhaps smaller chairs would solve the problem, but it is really not that big a deal. All in all, a wonderfully enjoyable stay and I will definitely return!

Room Tip: The sea view is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Carolyn B, I am so pleased that your first holiday in the UK was such a good experience for you and thank you for praising all the staff in the hotel. The chairs in the bar are comfortable and there are lovely views to be taken in across the bay. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Our 4 day stay by coach with National Holidays was very enjoyable, this hotel is quite old but spotlessly clean and in reasonably good decorative order. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a reasonably good sea view. The meals were very good (they always are in a Shearing's Hotel) and the serving staff excellent. The Hotel has a small swimming pool which was lovely and warm and better still as I was the only person using it. The hotel is right on the sea front and has a conservatory where you can sit and watch the lovely sea view and people strolling along the promenade.
My 'BUT' refers firstly to the entertainment as it was supposed to be a 'Cabaret' week-end. On the Friday evening a male and female duo did their best to 'murder' their songs and we walked out after half an hour, Saturday was Bingo, a quiz and a key draw, not my idea of cabaret and Sunday you were left to make your own enjoyment. My biggest complaint and that of other guests was the price of drinks for which you needed a second mortgage. The prices were not even consistent, for example on the Saturday a female bar tender sold me a double vodka and orange juice with a Tomato Juice and charged me 85p more than I paid for exactly the same drinks on Sunday night. When. Complained to reception I got no satisfaction.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Malcolm H, Firstly I can only apologise for the issue with the entertainment. This time of year it is normal for us to have entertainment on a Friday and Saturday night only, so I will have to investigate why you were led to believe it was a cabaret weekend. I will also investigate why you were charged two different prices for the same drinks. Thank you for praising the cleanliness and service you were given on your stay. I would like to think we might see you again. You can always contact the hotel direct before you travel to confirm what will be on offer or even to book a holiday with us direct. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were at the hotel as self drive Shearing holidays. Parking at the hotel is £5 per day,parking on the roadside is £3 per day and there is plenty of it.
This hotel is on the sea front with easy access to the promenade and the shops of Llandudno. The room we had faced the rear and had been refurbished. It was adequate for our needs clean and comfortable. The building is a typical English seaside creaking three star hotel which is in need of some refurbishment in places, but you have to remember what you have paid for your stay. If you compare your half board stay against the prices displayed outside the B and Bs you will see you are getting a good deal.
The food in the hotel was reasonable, served by efficient and pleasant staff. For three nights out of the four we had entertainment in the evenings which was good.
Whilst we were in Llandudno we visited a ice cream parlour called The Looking Glass at the pier end of Mostyn St which is the main shopping street. It is fabulous and well worth a visit. It allows you to enjoy excellent ice creams etc away from swooping seagulls. The young couple running it are to be commended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi Malc333, Thank you for your post and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Parking in one of the two hotel car parks is a matter of preference. Yes it is cheaper on the road side and you can usually get a space but the car parks offer peace of mind. Depending on the time of year the road side parking does get busy. Hope to see you again should you want another ice-cream. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.