We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff. Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Marine Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Marine Hotel
The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£10 A NIGHT DEALS!
Ranked #51 of 64 hotels in Llandudno
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff. Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed with our son for a long weekend - our second visit to a Shearings hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful and we had no complaints regarding the food. There was a choice for all three courses and the service was good. We booked a room for three and I was apprehensive as to whether it would be a bit cramped, but the room (122) was clean, comfortable and spacious. It had obviously been refurbished recently. The bathroom, also, was perfectly adequate - our only complaint would be that with only one short towel rail, there was not enough drying space for towels in a family room which could potentially have been used by 4 people. We used the swimming pool on two occasions which obviously meant we had extra towels to dry off. It was not a major problem because we draped them over a chair next to the radiator and dried them that way.
There was entertainment each evening which seemed to be enjoyed by the majority of guests. We had not particularly booked the hotel because it had entertainment but found the different acts to be good.
We reserved parking for the car in advance at the hotel which we were glad about, because we are not sure how easy it would have been to find parking nearby. The adjacent streets had time restrictions on them of - I think - 90 minutes but we did not investigate any car parks in the vicinity.
All in all, we had an enjoyable trip and found the hotel to be excellent value for money.

Room Tip: 122 is a spacious family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi MeMAWirral, I am glad you found the staff to be so friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed all of what the hotel has to offer. You are correct about the parking on the side streets, 90 minutes waiting between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. with pay and display on the sea front between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. The hotel car parking does offer a lot more convenience. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    147
    103
    49
    39
See reviews for
58
194
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Short weekend trip, our first in the winter and we found the hotel a little cold on arrival but by bedtime it had warmed up to comfort level. Basic room was adequate but we find Sheerings policy of different classes of room and charging a fiver a day for parking a bit snobby and totally mercenary and the bar prices prove that Dick Turpin is alive and employed by Sheerings.
Staff, food and entertainment were all excellent and the swimming pool a bonus. All in all a good break and we will be back

Room Tip: worth a 'bit' extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi BOXMAN57, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to return. We aim to offer value for money and to give guests a choice of rooms and facilities during their stay. No snobbery intended, most view the extras as treats to themselves that are normally well received. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

After looking for a short break after the holiday period. We chose a weekend break at the Bay Marine Hotel Liandudno North Wales. As this was the first holiday with Shearings the reviews where a bit hit and miss. 'But' what a surprise!! Even though the weather was a bit wild at times it was great value for the money. Marine hotel is a bit dated, We had a double room sea front facing very clean with spotless bedding and well heated for the time of year. All the the staff very polite and helpful. With breakfast & dinner included, as most of the guests are of a elderly or mature the portions were not large but all of a good quality and choice With Free drinks on the Saturday night, entertainment all three nights. With a added tour around the Snowdonia National Park on the Saturday. If you are looking for this type of break don't expect 5* rating..Let your hair down and give it a try. We will again....Pete C

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Peter C, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and were not deterred by some of the negative posts we have received. We are constantly working towards ensuring our guests enjoy their stay and improving the fixtures within the hotel. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgwater
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Room 219 you open the bashed door,and smell damp straight away.Look to the ceiling and you see why,damp patches from rain coming in the roof.In the bathroom a crack in the sink 1ft 6ins long black as it looked like it had been there a while.On the third night no hot water.and rain dripping into the room.By this time we had to complain about the drip in the room,as it was right above the television.We did not complain before as we were along with friends,but there room 220 was not much better.We stayed out of our room for as long as we could,making us very tired.Glad to get home.Have written to Shearings,but have not heard nothing yet not even a phone call.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi rodney s, I am sorry you had issues during your stay. I worked the arrivals on 30 December and was on shift the morning of 31 December and have no record of the issues you have raised. Alternative rooms were available. Customer care have received your e-mails and have forwarded them to me to assist in their response, so you will be hearing from them shortly. Again I apologise for the issues you experienced. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

stayed here as a couple for two nights on the 28th and 29th of dec our room was on the second floor with a great sea view the bedroom was nice and warm and very clean we went on a band b basis and breakfast was very good we realy enjoyed our stay and are looking to stay here again in the near future the hotel is in a great centeral position and the staff friendly and polite

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi plum4_12, Really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel staff looked after you. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just returned from a new year break at the marina hotel. We had a great time, the food was good the service in the restaurant was on the whole good with only one minor hic up. Kelly on reception is one of the most pleasing receptionist we have met. Our room was a up graded room and was of a reasonable good standard. the entertainment led by Sheila and John is brilliant one of the best we have experienced in a Shearing hotel, all other hotels should go and see how to entertaining guests of all ages should be done. Overall a good New Year Break The manager is available at all times. Enjoyed the indoor swimming pool plus their is now a ramp at the front for the least able. Visiting again in March

Room Tip: Room 214 is large and has duel aspect views over all of the sea front plus it is near to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi johnbda105, Glad you had a good new year and are looking forward to returning in March. I passed your comments on to Kelly and she was very happy. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Overall our stay at the Hotel was pleasant but the bathroom was far to small every time we went to the toilet we were banged by the toilet roll turning round to sit on the loo was difficult for my husband who has balance problems there was no way either of us could use over bath shower. The water was either too hot or too cold. The dinning room was difficult to get around for my husband but once seated most of the food was good to excellent the dinning room manager did his best to sort out the problem of our cold meal on the first night. Loved the bar with the log fire the entertainment seemed well patronised. The positioning of the hotel was ideal, and the staff were really friendly. Would like to go again in the summer if we can get a better bath room. We had not been to Llandudno for some years and were very impressed with it. Need to speak to Shearings about the unsuitability of the drop and pick up point they used this time.

Room Tip: Check about bathrooms if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi travelersjoy_11, Looks like you enjoyed your stay with us, which is good, with the exception of your bathroom and table in the dining room. I understand the difficulties that can be caused by even a minor ailment. As your husband has balance problems I would strongly recommend that you speak with our special help desk for any future bookings. Their role is to liaise with the hotel to organise a suitable room for you, before you travel. They also keep you informed of any changes that will affect your booking. The more information you give them the better. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 64 hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.