We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bill w” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Marine Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Marine Hotel
The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bill w”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

my wife and i had a three days stay the room could be a lot cleaner. the paint work and the carpet has never been touched for a very long time ,my wife would not have a shower because it was dirty, The rest of our stay was nice and the food was ok,the hotel itself could do with modermizeing if that work was done it would be a 5 stars hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Hi William, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay despite the room not meeting your expectations. I am pleased your found the meals to your liking and that you have scored us well on service. Your comments on cleanliness are noted and efforts are being made to improve on this. Thank you for your comments. Marcus Williams, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    205
    122
    53
    44
See reviews for
80
257
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Just had a 3 night stay at the Marine Hotel, not the worst hotel I have been in but not the best either. The good points are it is very central, on the promenade itself so if you are lucky enough you get some great views of the sea or the mountains, it is clean and has very friendly staff. The food is good with a good choice for breakfast and for evening meal. However if you are looking for fine dining this is not the hotel for you. Meals are general run of the mill but fresh vegetables and plenty of them if that is what you are looking for. Breakfast included cereals, toast, juice and whatever you wanted for a cooked breakfast including kippers! You will not be hungry.
On the downside we had a 4th floor room which was tiny and the bathroom was so small the only place to put a towel rail was above the toilet. The sink was a very small hand basin.The bed needed replacing as did the carpet. This hotel needs a good refurbishment. However it had a warm swimming pool which few people used so we had it all to ourselves. We loved the central position of the hotel and if you can look beyond the decor then it represents good value for money. Would I stay here again, I might, however it is over subscribed by pensioners waiting for the entertainment to come on stage. Took one look around me and it was like God's waiting room! Not for me I'm afraid, but it might suit some!

Room Tip: get a sea view worth the money I would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hi Chinaliverpool, thankyou for the time you put into your review; it is most comprehensive. It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel a pleasant place to be. Marcus Williams, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We spent four days and it was an awful experience in so far as the accommodation and food are concerned. Our room was very poor with dirty window frames and toilet. Our wash basin had a bad crack and one of the taps 'swivveled'! The shower fitting was fine but the tray showed rust around edges and no place to put soap or shampoo. We asked for these things to be looked into but little was done. Finger marks on door and dirt under sink remained.
The food was dreadful, apart from breakfast.
The plus was two extremely helpful girls on Reception.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Hi John L, reading your review I am presuming you travelled with June who placed the review below. Again I can only apologise to you both for your experience here. I am concerned that issues raised whilst you were here were not dealt with to your satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

What can I say...the rooms were badly cleaned the windows with 1" dirt set to paintwork...the rooms were made up each day but the sink was not touched neither was the toilet fro m the time we arrived until we left. yuck...one of my friends rooms had a badly cracked sink...and the shower she had to clean before she could use it....the food wasnt too bad most days..but there were a couple of disasters that couldnt be eaten...shearings what has happened to you?

Room Tip: book the next bay hotel along the road which has been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Hello June, I can only apologise for the condition of the rooms you and your friend stayed in whilst you were here and for the food in the dining room also not meeting your expectation. It is difficult commenting on your experience here or the specifics of your stay as I only have your review to refer to. At this point I can only assure you that action is being taken to review the standards in the Hotel and thank you for taking the time to raise issues noted. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We booked late and really enjoyed the facilities we got. The hotel could do with a bit of updating but which couldn't. A swimming pool was a bonus for a morning dip.The room was small but who goes away to spend all their time in their room. The food was filling and more than expected. We would go again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hi Daniel R, really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Wallpaper wet and peeling and full of black mould. Plaster falling off all over the carpet. Must have been like this a while as residual smell.Only stayed one night but had paid up front for three.

Room Tip: Sorry only know how bad room was the room we had 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dupedbolton, I can only appologise for the condition of the room that was let out to you. There are occasions when leaks occur and we normally do our best to ensure guests are not exposed to the consequences. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The staff were friendly which in no way compensated for the dirty corridors, walls and woodwork. The bedroom was small and the bathroom was rediculously small. So much so that I sustained a nasty 6" scratch where the light don't shine.I was told the lift at the front for wheelchairs hasn't worked for 3 to 4 years, so it is not disabled friendly. The meals were very spartan but mainly edible.

Room Tip: accept top prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Hi Thomas V, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that you injured yourself assisting your wife in the bathroom. We always do our best to meet the needs of our guests; the more information we have before you arrive the better we can allocate a room that meet your requirements. It is true that the wheel chair lift is currently out of order and has been for a while; all hotel staff know that it was decomisioned in 2010 and that we are currently waiting on planning permission to have a ramp installed. At the time of booking we do tell all guests about the wheel chair lift being out of order when access issue are raised. I am sorry the room did not meet with your approval, should you book again at any Bay Hotel, we have a dedicated department who assit guests with disabled needs however large or small. This is our, Special Help Desk. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.