We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic,but ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Marine Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Marine Hotel
The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
stockport
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Basic,but ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night bed,breakfast & evening meal break with my partner,father in law,daughter & grandaughter.The room my partner and I had was clean,functional and spacious for the 2 of us,decent powerful shower over bath and hot water was steaming,bordering on the dangerous! Bed was comfortable enough,tea & coffee making facilities were good and replenished when required.Wardrobe space was ok and drwer space also adequate.
If you are looking for luxury and all mod coms,you may well struggle.The decor could probably do with updating,a lick of paint here and there,bedding upgraded,but fortunately for us the weather was good & there was no need to linger indoors for any real length of time.
The lounge area was pleasant enough,but as other reviewers have stated,drinks are expensive at the bar.
Car parking is at a premium,most who obtain a space never move their car for fear of not regaining a spot!
Food was good,decent choice both at breakfast and evening,with veggy choices available.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Beware,that rooms aren't available until 15.00 and this is strictly adhered to.
I have to say that the rooms for single occupancy did appear to be a bit pokey,both my father-in law and daughter with grandaughter were in single rooms,both on 3rd floor.Both appeared dull and dingy,although both had sea views.
Real downer was that disabled wheel chair lift was out of order,which wasn't a problem for us,but others certainly struggled.I'm sure others have also stated this has occurred and is poor when you think that the majority of guests are on Shearings coach holidays and are elderley!
All in all,I think the Marine is good value for money,in a decent location,but could do with a bit of TLC.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Hello Shadowfish and thank you for the review. It appears you enjoyed your stay with us, which is brill and it's great to read that you feel we offer value for money. Currently we are awaiting approval from the local council planning department to be able to install a ramp to allow for improved disabled access. Unfortunately this is not a short process. Many thanks for the review and look forward to seeing you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    206
    122
    53
    44
See reviews for
80
257
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Visited the hotel in a family party in March. Bits of the hotel need a bit of doing up but it was clean and comfortable (if a little hot - overly efficient central heating!). The hotel is a big grand pile in a superb spot on the sea front. It's actually 3 hotels which over time have been knocked into one, which is the reason when walking along corridors you have to go down a flight of stairs then back up some more. Service and food were very good (food just like all the other Shearings hotels with good vegetarian choices). The car park was very small but the hotel has use of another hotel's car park further along the backstreet behind the hotel. There is also free on street parking on the Prom so parking was never an issue.

The hotel is in a brilliant spot and a very good starting point for strolls around this lovely Victorian town. For shoppers Mostyn St is just around the corner, a lovely Victorian thoroughfare with canopies at either side. There's also a retail park right behind the hotel with a few department stores there. With Debenhams, BHS, M&S, lots of smaller and independent shops Llandudno has better shopping than towns many times its size!

Enjoyed it all in all... you always know what you're getting with Shearings. 5 star it ain't, but it is good value and clean & comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
TerryPheasant of Barnsley, your review reads like a travel Magazine article - thank you very much. Just need to point out for those not familiar with Llandudno the parking is free on the side streets but there are time limits that apply during the day only; not the night. It is pay and display on the sea front, although it is only £3 for the whole day. If you are a disabled badge holder, it is free and there are no time restrictions. Thanks again for your review. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale Cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Hotel good position on promonade.Hotel reception good & very welcoming. Dining room & Bar area pleasant. the food was very good. Unfortunatley the bedroom was very "poky" just enough room to move around one at a time.The bathroom was so small the wash basin over hung the toilet seat, the shower was a cubicle type. To save banging your elbows you had to dry yourself in the bathroom area with the sliding door open or in the bedroom. This let the hotel down, perhaps other bedrooms were better! we only stayed two nights so made do!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
GlendaSaleCheshire, thank you for taking the time to write the review. Your review reads that you enjoyed your stay with us but feel let down by the bedroom. I am sorry that the bedroom did not meet your expectations but should you wish to visit again we do have other larger rooms available and room upgrades you might be interested in. Feel free to ring the hotel direct if you would like to make another booking and we can go through with you about all the options. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

you can book through shearings to this hotel and it might work out a little cheaper, Its a nice hotel, some areas need a little touching up but where doesnt. If you book through shearings just be aware that the rooms are basic and are all the same looking no matter which hotel you stay at with them, and not nice decor at all, so if you upgrade your room it would be better, its not alot extra to pay. Evening meal is also included in price. they have an indoor swimming pool, which when i went really needed attention and decorating but i dont know if its the same now so best asking when you book.

Room Tip: if booking through shearings ask for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Hi jayjayjay_10, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a selection of rooms on offer from Standard Rooms to Premier Rooms, to be able to offer more choice to our customers, I’m glad you think the upgrades are worth the little bit extra. Just so you know decorating by the pool should be completed by the end of this week but it will not affect anyones access to the pool. Thanks again, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Flat, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

On the sea front,so ask for a room with a sea view. The hotel was clean , the staff very friendly and efficient,the bedroom spacious and the quality of the food was very good value.
With entertainment in the evening in the lounge it has all you need for a most enjoyable holiday.
This hotel would appeal to the 40+ age group.

Room Tip: pay the little extra to get a sea view with a bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Short and sweet, thank you for your time and your review, jamescheshunt. We have clearly ticked all your boxes and look forward to your return. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Arrived early, no problem to leave luggage and go out for the day.
Booked 2 single rooms, one turned out to be a double with sea view (no extra charge), very clean, my single room had a refurbished bathroom, lovely, and the shower was superb, plenty of hot water.
Food and restaurant service were great, bar staff could do with wearing a smile (my only criticism, oh except for the drinks prices - when will these hotels learn, folks will spend more if the drinks are cheaper).
To all the 'moaners' - just remember how much we pay for these breaks - don't expect 5* luxury.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Many thanks smf2109 for your review. We do try to please everyone and I'm glad we were able to ensure you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Booked this as a late deal Friday morning after seeing it the night before. Was a bit put off by the first customer advisor that answered the phone as she was quite disinterested in our requrements and kept repeating herself in a monotonous tone. However, I asked to speak to a Manager who very politely rang me back when she had made enquiries and it was booked immediately. On arrival we were met by a pleasant member of staff on reception and we were pleased to have a room on the top floor with a side view of the sea. This was a pleasant surprise as we had not paid any supplement. Generally, there is some decoration needed in this hotel as the wallpaper is very old-fashioned and the paintwork rather scuffed. It needs a total upgrading sooner than later. The restaurant manager was first class and arranged a nice table for our anniversary. However, on ordering a bottle of wine I was asked to leave the table and go to reception to have my credit card details taken! I am pretty sure this could have been done at the table instead of marring our evening. Anyway the food was served and it was very good indeed as were the meals on the following two days. The only problem here is that there isn't long enough to eat the courses, as the next course is brought out straight away and there is a feeling of being rushed. The restaurant times should be extended from 90 minutes to 2 hours for people of enjoy the food and relax. There was one waitress that served us on one occasions who was quite rude and got our orders wrong. We were made to feel that it was our fault and when my husband asked for a jug of water she came and banged it down on the table. The entertainment was pretty awful. A duo with a guy who the xylophone and organ and a woman who sang. It was very repetitive as they were on every night except for Sundays when there was no entertainment. All in all I would say that this was value for money and we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Pay a supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Hello Dorisday of Chorley. Many thanks for your comments. It does appear that you enjoyed your holiday with us which is brill. I have addressed both bar and restaurant departments regarding the issues you have raised with procedures and conduct. We do take these things very seriousely and I would want to reasure everyone that if you have an issue, we will do what we can to resolve it as quickly as possible. Thanks again for your comments and I hope to see you again. Marcus.williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.