We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westbourne Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Westbourne Guest House to your Saves list
Westbourne Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 Arvon Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2DY, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 152 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zagreb
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The owners pretend to be cordial and friendly but are actually quite the opposite. They will "scan" you upon your arrival and if they don`t like you (don`t like you hair, attitude, accent, clothes, the way you said hello, thickness of your wallet or etc..) be prepared to experience coldness of heart, humiliation and neglect.
If they by any chance like you, you will be treated great. But remember, you must pass and get their approval.
The room was small and nothing special. The bathroom and shower was so small that it was actually funny. You can`t eat in your room but only in the dining rooms which is under a locked key. So your eating habits must be the same as owners habits. In any other case, they will have to get up earlier or go to bed later than usual to open a locked dining room. And I urge you not to ask such a big deal because who knows how can they react (especially if they don`t like you). After all, you are there for them and not the other way around.
After my experience there I can conclude only this: I wouldn`t go there if someone paid me to go - that how great it was for me. Someone once said that wise man learn from experience from others. I recommend you do too. And don`t go there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1ian, Owner at Westbourne Guest House, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
to anyone reading this review, please refer to a previous review written by this persons partner on the 31st aug 2013. this is again another attempt to discredit us as she was asked to leave along with her partner for rude and abusive behavior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    14
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
98
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I very much enjoyed my third stay at The Westbourne guest house, the staff are very friendly and nice people, the service is also great. The bedrooms are well looked after and they are very clean. Breakfast is great, very much like the option to choose what items you want for breakfast and also a good choice of cereals. I very much enjoyed my stay at The Westbourne and will look forward to going back. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome. Westbourne Guest House is clean modern family run business who wants to invite you into their family. We were there for 1 night only but because of the warm welcome we felt like we had always been there. Rooms extremely clean and fresh, decor modern and tasteful, bed very comfortable we slept like logs!!!! Breakfast was exactly as stated, even cattering for veggie like me. Would we go again....absolutely yes

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This B and B is run like a military operation. You are given a form to fill in as to pick you items for breakfast and also a time to eat ! Don't oversleep ! We were 5 mins early, also the first down -the dining room was locked so we had to return at the allotted time ! Breakfast was average - a bit bland ! the rooms are very clean - ours was very cramped. Don't book ground floor as other guests coming in can disturb you - especially after midnight coming home noisey ! Sorry but we would not go back.

Room Tip: Don't book ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Clearly this is a place with repeat customers who are quite satisfied and happy. I can not say that we were expereinced the very friendly atmosphere thorughout our stay. We did not get the room we had reserved and not sure where the blame for this lies. Our room was fine, but we picked this place specifically as we wanted a king bed and this was hard to find in the area. Since we did not get this, this B and B was pretty much like any other. We were given several restuarants as reccomendation but even on a October evening, we found ourselves shut out as we did have a reservation. See my review of a great place we found after this. We were supose to have a view of The Great Orme and instead had a view of the back which was a little noisy. We were greeted with wine to help us celebrate our anniversary which was quite nice, but other than that, it was only so so. Breakfast was pre-ordered for a specific time. Even though we were first ones in, we got served after a table of 4 who were obviously better known to the owners.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you paid for
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Firstly would like to say thank you to Marg, Alan, Tracey and Ian for making each stay perfect. Its like a stay with friends. Everything is just right with all little touches which you wouldnt expect.
The bedrooms are lovely and the breakfast is great and top quality.
I dont mind writing good things as long as they do not get over booked!
Its the hospitality and the friendliness and service which makes this a top class guest house.

See you all on 21st November

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Westbourne Guest house is great value for money. This guest house in our opinion could easily pass for a small hotel. The accommodation is excellent and the rooms are tastefully decorated to a very high standard. The hospitality is top class with a very friendly atmosphere when you arrive and throughout your stay, The breakfast is to die for and always served with a smile , What more could you ask for when you want a relaxing break away from the stress of a busy life we all seem to have these days. We have stayed there 3 times and already are planning our return .Thank you for making our stay with you enjoyable.

Room Tip: all rooms are top class
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne Guest House

Address: 8 Arvon Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westbourne Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Westbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbourne Hotel Llandudno
Westbourne Guest House Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westbourne Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.