We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you need a wheelchair at all times this hotel is not for you .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chatsworth House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chatsworth House Hotel to your Saves list
Chatsworth House Hotel
Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“if you need a wheelchair at all times this hotel is not for you .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

my mother who is 95 needs her wheelchair at all times,so my granddaughter and her friend offered to take her on holiday.the girls knew she had a sleep in the afternoonsand goes to bed early at night.so we assumed while my mother was asleep the girls could go out for an hour or two by themselves,BUT NO THE STAFF SAID THEY HAD TO STAY IN THE HOTEL WITH HER AT ALL TIMES,because if there was a fire they could not help my mother. the maids were very good.but management and staff NO CHANCE.no way will they begoing back there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    127
    66
    48
    57
See reviews for
85
117
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Just returned from a 5 day holiday with Travelstyle staying at the Chatsworth hotel and really enjoyed it. I dont Know what some people want to moan about this hotel for as we have stayed in many hotels both in this country and abroad and found it very good value. It was clean and comfotable, we had a seaview room which had every thing we needed,the food was good with quick and efficient service and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.There was entertainment every night .What more could you ask for, we will certainly be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at Chatsworth House Hotel in Llandudno from Sunday the 3rd July until Saturday 9th July. This hotel was poor quality and needs updating.

Firstly, our first room given was of very poor quality. There were large damp patches on the walls and ceiling, the net curtains were filthy as were the windows. Our view from the window was onto scaffolding and rubbish.

We were offered a second room due to this however, found this room also to be poor. So that we were able to continue with our holiday we paid extra in order to get another room!

The food in the hotel was also of poor quality. In the 6 days we stayed the menu was repeated twice and the food was cold. The heat of the food did improve towards the end of the holiday when we advised of our concerns.

In relation to the entertainment in the hotel, this was also very poor and repetitive.

This is the first time we have travelled with National Holidays and due to the above I think it will be our last. Overall, we were very disappointed with our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Couldn't fault that much at the Chatsworth House Hotel in Llandudno, It's a pleasant Hotel right on the prom so was plenty to do, especially for my 9 year old daughter.
Its a short walk to all the shops aswel if you fancied a little afternoon shop. We had a room with a sea view which had a stunning view of the bay, especially on a night when it was all lit up. The food was lovely and was served quite quickly really and the hotel staff were very helpful aswel. The hotel was very clean, and the bar was good prices so could have a drink without breaking the bank, there is entertainment every night so always something to keep you amused. Its just a lovely place to be and will most deffinately be going back next month

Room Tip: Room with a sea view its fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We booked a superior double room requesting a sea view and after being given a rather small room were given a much larger one with a bay window as soon as we requested it. The position and its sea view rooms are the unique selling point of this hotel which caters mostly for coach tours. The rooms are basic but clean and the one we were given had a very powerful walk-in shower. However the view of the pier as soon as we woke up was worth the money we paid. Breakfast was not a highlight as it was set up for guests on the coach tours. There were far too few staff on duty and there was far too little choice of items. Aside from the cooked breakfast only orange juice, toast and 2 types of cereals were on offer. The staff seemed unable to cope at times but despite this the breakfasts were delivered to the table quite quickly. We used the pool and this was clean and warm and we had it to ourselves. I would use this hotel again for a cheap and cheerful short break in Llandudno.

Room Tip: Room 114 has a lovely bay window and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The weekends we have had at the Chatsworth are everyone is very welcoming and the meals are served very quickly. The Jazz events run by Harry are wonderful weekends and are very good value. We all have a very good time and it is nice to see the owners around in the Hotel. It is also very central. Any problems ie tv....the staff were there in minutes sort it out. Dee and John Stockport

Room Tip: We like either the front or rooms 153 and 154
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Going by other reviews, it looks as if the Chatsworth has some good rooms, others not so good. Mine was in the latter category.

Stained and matted carpet, ugly 70s wallpaper peeling in places, wonky wardrobe, mastic parting company with the sink, ciggy burns on ageing lino, screeching extractor fan, TV with a decent picture but horrible tinny sound...

The shower was not what I expected. The usual problem in hotels is lack of pressure but this went off like a fire hose, a jet of water so fierce that the displaced air sent the nasty plastic shower curtain flying when it wasn't stuck to your body like clingfilm to a leg of chicken. Not so bad if you can swing out of its path but the cubicle was so small I could barely turn around. At least you could get a decent shower once everything had been adjusted.

That said, the staff were generally pleasant and the waitresses/waiters very attentive. The food prepared for our conference party was more than adequate.

OK for coach parties of pensioners and conferences on a budget, but not my idea of a holiday treat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
predz, Front Office Manager at Chatsworth House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for your review.
Just an update to let you know that we have a continuing programme of refurbishment in place. Being one of the larger hotels in Llandudno and operating at full capacity most of the year this takes time and planning . Our swimming pool upgrade has been completed and we have newly decorated guest rooms in use and more planned to be reopen soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatsworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth House Hotel

Address: Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Victorian hotel situated in the centre of the promenade. The beach is opposite the hotel and the main shopping street is directly behind and only minutes away from the theatre. We have a very limited spaced free car park within the hotel, the majority of parking is on street on the promenade (£1.50 per day low season £3.00 per day high season (correct at time of posting this message)). Badge holders have free unrestricted parking, except in the coach bays. Please feel free to contact the hotel for any further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chatsworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Llandudno
Chatsworth House Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatsworth House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.