We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grafton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grafton to your Saves list
The Grafton
14 Craig y Don Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 149 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Went to Llandudno for a short conference. The Conference centre is a short walk along the Promenade. We stayed at the Grafton which is a cute little B&B. When we arrived we found the staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in the morning, which was nice. Very home cooked food. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The ensuite was spotless. It was a bit on the small side so not good if you are large! But other than that The Grafton is a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
31
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at The Grafton for a two night stay last weekend and must say it was a very decent bed and breakfast. As a small family run business we could find no fault with the warm, friendly and efficient service provided with a good breakfast choice and clean room. There is only one detail that marked down our score from excellent and that is that the bed was much too firm and quite uncomfortable but on the whole a very pleasant place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I wanted a short break in LLandudno, spending a good deal of time searching through many hotels and the reviews which they had earned.

It can be a little daunting, as there always appears to be someone who will not be satisfied. Erring on the side of caution, we opted for the Grafton, as almost all visitors commented on how clean the place was.

When booking the hotel, I was impressed by how helpful Rob, the proprietor, was. I immediately felt reassured.

We booked a room on the top floor, with a sea view. The room was a lot larger than a number of hotels we have stayed at in recent years and very well furnished. I suffer from a bad back and a comfortable bed is a must. The bed was actually the most comfortable I have ever encountered in any hotel. The bathroom appeared to be newly renovated and was very generously sized.

The decor of the hotel was excellent and the whole place was spotless. The service from the staff was nothing less than faultless, with breakfast being freshly cooked and quickly served. The car park (at the rear) is limited, but there was so much on street free parking that we parked right outside the Grafton - on the promenade.

I have travelled to many locations in the UK (on work's business) and have paid a lot more, for a whole lot less.

I unreservedly recommend the Grafton and we will use again.

Many thanks to the Grafton and their staff.

Room Tip: As we only experienced a front room, I cannot comment on others, but the front rooms are of the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We booked this Bed & Breakfast as a mini break for my Wife's 30th birthday. We were very happy with our room, view and able to book in earlier than first advised. Staff were very helpful, cooked breakfast was alot better than other places we have stayed at. Being located away from the centre didn't bother us. Can't complain at all. The just wish the room had a mini fridge available to keep our drinks cool.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The Grafton in Sep '11 with my partner and we had a great time!
The room was lovely, the bed was really comfortable, the bath was amazing - really roomy and deep. The rooms were keet spotless!
We had a sea view which was amazing to wake up to! In the room were tea and coffe making facilities, which included some amazing hot chocolate and gorgeous cookies!
The staff were really friendly and so helpful! When our car broke down at the end of the week and had to go to the local garage to be fixed (leaving us not a lot of money to go out) they brought us up some DVDs.
Breakfast was really good, great coffee, orange juice, plenty of choice from toast with jams and marmalade, cereals, full English, vege breakfast, kippers on toast.

The negatives would be:
Breakfast times could be better - after a long day walking up Snowdon it would have been nice to be able to have breakfast up until 10am the morning after.

If you have trouble with stairs then make sure you request a lower floor - we were on the top floor. I'm not sure if there are lifts but then we didn't ask!

The views are great but there is a main road that the hotel is situated on. Although it did not pose a problem. If I had known beforehand maybe I wouldby have booked. However now I know it's not a busy road and didn't restrict sea view in anyway I would book again.
The hotel is in a great location. To explore the local area. Also only 45 mins from Snowdonia. Hiking up Snowdon is a must! You will have to set aside the whole day for as it takes around 6 hours. If you're not fit enough for it (although unless you had extreme health problems anyone can do it) there is a train that takes you to the top and back down.
That bath is amazing after a day up Snowdon :-)
Great Orme is just up the road and you can either walk up or take the scenic drive (for which the is a small charge £1 I think). There is a cute little cafe at the top!
I have to recommend 'fish tram chips' the do great fish and chips and are just across from the trap station (which you can also take up Great Orme).
The shopping is really good in Llandudno and all within walking distance from The Grafton.
Another minor negative is that The Grafton is one the hotels further away from the pier, shops and restaurants. HOWEVER, a trip or two to fish tram chips and all those breakfast you will be glad burn a few extra pounds :-)
Also I am assuming that the further up the promenade you go, the more expensive the hotels become. So a few more mins will save you those kind of pounds as well!

All in all I would definately reccomend The Grafton! I am planning to go back again in May!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Me and my partner Jenifer and son leo have been and stayed over twice, summer 2009 and 2010 and wil return again this easter. very accomadating to our baby son. the rooms were well presented and clean, exelent food and helpful polite staff. thankyou.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed here for the weekend Very clean Rooms Very nice good service will definitley use again staff were exellant

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grafton

Address: 14 Craig y Don Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton is a Grade 2 listed building and dates back to the 1860’s. We are a small family run business situated on the promenade in the popular Victorian town of Llandudno. We have various types of rooms (singles, doubles, twins and family rooms). All have en-suite facilities, many of which have breath taking sea views over looking the promenade and Great Orme. Your stay will include a hearty full cooked breakfast served in our sea view breakfast room.The Grafton is conveniently placed within walking distance to the Venue Cymru conference centre / Theatre, shopping, local attractions, bowling, sailing, fishing, and is an ideal base for golf, walking, cycling and exploring the area of North Wales coast of castles, Snowdonia park, Conwy valley, Betws-y-Coed, Anglesey, Portmeirion, and surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Llandudno
The Grafton Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grafton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.