We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaclyffe needs upgrading.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seaclyffe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaclyffe Hotel
Save
You added Seaclyffe Hotel to your Saves list
11 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HG, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
england
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Seaclyffe needs upgrading.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

First of all I'd like to say The Seaclyffe was run, on our Fri -Mon break, by the young waitresses, who worked really hard, and were pleasant and run off their feet.
We did not see the owner, until we were ready to leave at 10am Monday Morning.
Our room had no handle to shut it, and I had to close it by pulling the hydraulic hinge towards me, everytime we had to leave.
Our chest of drawers was missing a handle, only 1 bedside lamp worked, my duvet cover had stains on it. The hot water was sparse, the place needed painting and refurbishing, and the meals were small.
The whole place looked like it was run on a very tight budget.
The staff, were left to it, and they did try their best, but the owner/s should have been more hands on.
The views were nice however, and the garden was well kept.
I would not return, and would advise elderley/people with a disability to check before booking, as there was no lift.
I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor rooms if elderley/disabled. Very steep and no lift,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
11
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Very enjoyable weekend,excellent food friendly staff thanks to Tammy and Barbara our waitress's. Lovely room very clean can recomend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was our second visit to the Seaclyffe and we were looking forward to seeing Christine and Clive again, they were the previous managers and very good they were too., but sadly we arrived in a state of confusion only to be told they had left.
Well really it was downhill from then on , our room was freezing, our toilet wouldnt flush nor could we have a shower so we had to sit around waiting for the plumber to arrive , which meant we had to go down to dinner without being fully freshened up and after travelling all day it wasnt very nice.
The plumber did arrive and fixed our toilet and bled our radiater so as we had some heating but it didnt last very long and we spent a very cold night indeed and got up next morning to a cold shower, this lasted for the duration of our 4 day break. This wasnt the case with all the rooms as some of them were warm but most of them were cold .
The food on the other hand was excellent and the young girls who were in charge worked very hard indeed and always had a smile for us considering their workload ie, reception duties, porterage, housekeeping, waitressing, serving at the bar, and numerous complaints especially when they thought they ran out of beer and they had to ask the owner to bring more and she brought cans !!!.
We werent welcomed by the owner nor did she attend to any complaints nor did we see her while we were there until the very last day when she came onto the coach to thank us for staying and hoped to see us soon, well Im afraid unless she sorts her problems out there wont be a next time , which is a real shame and if it wasnt for these girls who virtually keep the place running there would be real bad problems.
On the bright side we had a lovely driver Warren who couldnt do enough for us and kept us laughing and gave us a great optional tour on our day off.
I would like to return to the Seaclyffe one day so hopefully things will improve in the future.

Room Tip: avoid room 15 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

ok most importantly, this place does not look as good as it does in the photos.

the entrance is the only area that is reasonable. everything else is falling apart. wobbly hand rails, peeling paint, mouldy ceilings etc.

upon arriving there was alot of confusion about our booking, the guy running the place didnt seem to have a clue about what he was doing, he was quite abrupt and rude.

eventually he showed us to our room. which for a triple was small, it was dirty and there was a large patch of mould on the ceiling. the window was broken and would not close. the furniture was old and damaged. the carpet smelled bad and was stained.

5 minutes after seeing us to our room the man barged in and announced that the room hadnt been cleaned and that we would gave to get out. we found this to be incredibly rude and frustraiting as we had arrived well after the earliest check in time they had specified. so we went out and waited an hour to be able to return. when we were yelled at to go back to the room, that didnt look any cleaner. this time i checked out the ensuite, which was actually a tiny cupboard in the corner that was mouldy and that had a toilet that wouldnt flush - at all. we asked for it to be looked at and so the man came back again, briefly looked at it saying that he had never been in to this room before so he didnt know weather it worked or not. fantastic. after 10 seconds of trying to get it to flush he marched out of the room saying 'you're only here for one night, you wont need it anyway'.

the beds were uncomfortable and the room was freezing cold due to the window. there was a tea tray, but the uht milk was so old it had gone off.

there was some very loud country and western live music being performed in the hotel lounge until quite late at night. no one slept well.

breakfast was disgusting. we arrived in the basement dining room, which has slightly better quality decor than the rest of the place, to find two very flustered staff members running around a half empty room. we found the table that had our room number on it, but it was a table for 2, so we sat at a near by table for 3. the owner came and told us off for sitting at the wrong table and left. we ignored him. then he came back and announced that we would have to wait for our breakfast because there was a coach full of guests going on a day trip and they needed to eat first. i could see 8 ppl. hardly a coach full. i got up to look at the cereals and juices available and it looked like they had been sat on display for months, so i decided to wait for the hot food. eventually we orderd a cooked breakfast and asked that the wine glasses on the table be replaced with tea cups so that we could drink tea. the food was basic and cheap.

when checking out and returning our room key we waiting for an hour at the reception desk, pressing the buzzer to alert staff to attend. eventually the cook finished his work and came to take the key saying only ' you paid right?' and storming off.

every time we spoke to the owner he made jokes about and immitated our accents. throughout out entire stay, his actions were inexcusable. it was a wholly disgusting experience that i hope never to be unfortunate enough to repeat ever again.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

If you didn't laugh you'd have to cry. Four chaps up for the weekend to watch the cricket didn't need the Ritz but didn't expect 'Faulty Towers'. The hotel looked a little shabby from the outside and inside it is definellty worse for ware. Loose doors & fittings, peeling wallpaper etc. The single rooms are incredibly small, the bathrooms laughable..so narrow I couldn't close the door if I stood by the washbasin. No room for a chair or any surface to put something down. The toilet flush in one room made a noise like the Titanic's fog horn, I could hear it 4 doors away. My mate phoned his wife and flushed the loo, she thought there was a cow in the room. The staff were hopeless, the manager didn't understand the room numbering (actually nobody did), I had a guy who could'nt speak a word of english knock my door twice to give me somebody else's luggage. The smoke alarm in my sons room sounded for 15 mins we couldn't stop it... eventually disconnected it, but no one from the hotel showed up. I couldn't suss out why there were footmarks above my head board until I realised the only way to watch the TV was to lie with your head at the bottom of the bed. Some guys had no soap or towels others had enough for the whole hotel. The breakfast was ok and if you wanted entertaintment you could either talk about the hotel or listen to the nightly artists. All in all I wouldn't recommend but I gave us endless fun tallking about it with a few pints.

Room Tip: Get the rooms in the basement......avoid the single rooms. Take towels & soap. Set your expectat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We usually find it quite easy to write a list of positives for the hotels/B&B's we've stayed in but unfortunately nothing much positive to say about the Seaclyffe. The location, however, was fantastic right near the sea front and on the same road as the tram station that takes you up the Great Orme.
The room was so small there was no space to move at all. We understand that it was a busy weekend as the Victorian Extravaganza was taking place but that is no excuse really for the room being so poor.
I have never seen such a small bathroom. I don't even recall there being a little shelf on which to put your toiletries etc.
the decoration really needs to be looked at too.
The reception staff were always kind and friendly but breakfast service was so slow and we has to get up ourselves to get things from other tables as we had asked for things a couple of times already so it got a bit embarrassing. The waitress got a few things wrong and the food wasnt very nice one one of the days.
We felt this all was a real shame as we were very much looking forward to our weekend in Llandudno. the hotel looked pretty good on the website but didnt meet ur expectations
I had a look at a few other b&b's in the surrounding area and wish we'd booked them instead.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We have just returned from a 4 day breaks to this hotel with David Urquhart holidays and had the most wonderful time thanks to our hosts Christine and Clive who joined in with everything and made it a real family atmosphere.
When we arrived we werent sure what to expect as everywhere was a bit disorganised and our room on the top floor was a little on the small side but as we only use it for sleeping in it was fine altho I must say it is rather noisy at night due to people coming home as it is the main road back from the entertainment round the corner but I must say the hotel itself is very quiet.
Christine is amazing she cant do enough for you and if she doesnt stock your favourite tipple she will get it in for you as she did with me for which I was really grateful. the dining staff are also lovely very efficient and always smiling and the food was excellent , served warm and fresly cooked, hats off to the chef .
The entertainment was also very good bearing in mind most of us were 60 somethings we had a bit of everything to suit all tastes.
The hotel is almost over the road from the Great Orme railway , there is also a great pub next to that called the Kings Arms , I think it may be Llandudno's oldest pub and can recommend it for its friendliness and great decor.
It is a short walk to the beach and town and very near to Happy Valley.
This is not a 5 star hotel but sure makes up for it in friendliness, homeliness and good food. thanks Christine and Clive we will definately be back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaclyffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaclyffe Hotel

Address: 11 Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Seaclyffe Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaclyffe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.