We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was the bacon?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elsinore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elsinore Hotel to your Saves list
Elsinore Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St George Crescent, Main Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Where was the bacon?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Tough beef rasher instead of bacon for breakfast. No waking up to the lovely aroma of cooking bacon. As for the room: Antique TV picture kept breaking up, Ten minute wait for shower to get a warm trickle. Windows ill fitting and cracked panes of glass.

Only good thing about the hotel was it's location and price.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, or B & B offering better accomodation and service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    54
    43
    181
See reviews for
51
148
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We needed a couple of nights away after Christmas. I read all the reviews on this hotel, but did not believe they could all be true - couldn't be that bad. Poor, poor hotel. Beautiful setting, right on the front,
Room 202, views of the Orme and the pier - through a cracked pane of glass! Only one pair of curtains, shared over two windows. Plenty of coffee, tea and milk. Clean bedding and towels. Had to ask for toilet roll. Shower held together with gaffer tape. Tried shower on evening of day 2, but did not work, couldn't be bothered complaining.
Breakfast was good, but stay clear of shoe leather - oops - mean beef rashers. Cereals, jucies, toast, tea, coffee, rest of cooked breakfast was good.
Staff are corteous and pleasant, but I guess they get a lot of stick.
This hotel could have so much going for it - basics are there, but lacks love and attention.
I won't be staying here again and I couldn't honestly recommend it, but for what it cost us, it did not spoil our weekend in Llandudno.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I just felt sorry for the staff - very kind and courteous, and good customer service skills that are wasted in this dump. I had to change my first room as the springs were coming out of the mattress. The second room was marginally better, and I did get some sleep by wrapping myself in the quilt like a sleeping bag. The second night however, my corridor was invaded by a group of noisy drunk men who banged the ill fitting bedroom doors all night long, shouting and singing up to 5am.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

This has got to be the moast grotty and the most awfull place on the planet. This hotel makes me sick and i wouldnt advise anyone to ever stay here. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. And half the rooms are infested with bed bugs !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Criccieth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very short review on a one-night stay booked fairly last minute to facilitate a stay-over after a friend's party.. The best thing about the hotel is the location - beautiful seafront position on the promenade. The room was clean but the bathroom very dated, cramped and tatty - gaffatape holding the shower together! Bed was ok for one night. Didn't use the lounge area. Reception staff that we met was friendly enough. Very limited choice of breakfast cereals. Coffee was terrible. The hot breakfast was obviously all cooked and kept warm in the kitchen as within 2 minutes of putting our order in, it was delivered to our table. Not very appetising at all. The hotel met our requirements on this occasion ie just somewhere to lay our heads overnight, but I wouldn't really recommend the hotel,sorry.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view as that was the only saving grace about the hotel anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had read the negative reviews about the Elsinore but decided to see for myself.
Im sorry to say it was just as bad as others have said.
It wasnt dirty,just very sad and worn.
Yes,the beef bacon was absolutely horrendous,tho the rest of the breakfast was ok. I stuck to scrambled eggs with toast.
My toilet wouldnt flush properly and the water would rise up towards the top then gradually recede. I was on pins in case it came over the top!
No toilet brush to clean toilet. Bathroom so small,my knee was hanging into the shower when I used the loo.
My room wasnt tidied on my 3rd day so at 3pm asked when it was getting done.
Bins not emptied,full bottle of pop went missing and sink scummy from that mornings toothpaste and soap.
Scaffolding outside my window-with a chair on! Was told it had been there 2 years.
Nasty!
BUT-great location and handy for everything.
Over all a very disappointing stay.I

Room Tip: Try and book a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just come back from a weekend in Llandudno and was suprised to see so many negative comments on this hotel. Its definitely a bit tired looking and could do with a bit of TLC but for the wonderful location and cheap prices it is worth staying at. I found the staff to be helpful and friendly, the room was clean and there was no problems with the hot water. The breakfast was very tasty apart from those beef rashers everyone keeps mentioning! For a weekend away this is a good, affordable hotel in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elsinore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsinore Hotel

Address: St George Crescent, Main Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elsinore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Elsinore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elsinore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elsinore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.