We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sorry” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Chelsea to your Saves list
The Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   67 Church Walks, Llandudno LL302HG, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 153 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Abergavenny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“sorry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

very disapointed, landladies mother very unwelcoming on check in. inflexible breakfast time 9-9.30. Room very tired and dusty. Breakfast transport cafe quality. Young landlady herself was very pleasant. Not at all enjoyable.
Photos on the website made it look a million times better than it is.

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — Very old fashioned, unwelcoming check in.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
12
44
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Just returned from a few days rambling using the Chelsea Hotel as a base.The warm welcome from the staff more than made up for the cold weather outside.We were made to feel at home and provided with excellent packed lunches for our walks.The owners were very useful in supplying guides and local knowledge which we found invaluable.The drying facilities proved invaluable more than once.We would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Helpful staff,Cater for walkers
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

really enjoyed our stay. we stayed on top floor and the room was vey clean and tidy. the only thing it could possibly do with is a shelf in the bathroom.my boyfriend and i stayed 3nights and the breakfast was fantastic.. i would stay there again ..

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — no shelf in bathroom and also would prfere a 45 minute slot for breakfast plus no parking
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

Having stayed at the Chelsea 8 times over the past 10 years my family and i were really looking forward to our latest weekend break there. How disappointed were we - VERY!!! The previous 2 owners have been exceptionally friendly and accommodating making our stays very enjoyable. However, this time we found the hotel to be very cold and uninviting, and by cold i mean cold! When asked if we could turn on the heater in our rooms we were told the heating is not put on during the summer months because it was to expensive, if this was Spain we would understand but this was Wales in June where even if a heater had been put on for an hour both in the morning and at night it would have made a lot of difference. Instead not only did we have no heat and nothing to dry the towels on we were also subjected to COLD SHOWERS!!!
We had to pay for our stay on arrival ( a fact not mentioned when booking), which we found very unusual, but after spending 1 night there we realised why - had we not paid up-front we would have deffinately checked out and found somewhere else!!!
Would we go to Llandudno next year? the answer would be certainly, would we stay at this hotel again? NEVER!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cold water/no heating
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthWalesWelshie, Owner at The Chelsea, responded to this review, January 7, 2009
It should be noted that the weather at this particular time was in the high 60's, and as such it is not our policy to put heating on just to dry towels. We happily offer a drying service if so requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed over at the Chelsea hotel just for the weekend, as me and my boyfriend was celebrating valentines. we thought the staff were very help full and friendly, and the room was spectacular, i didnt expect such a cozy, clean, walm, spacey room for just £30 a night, it was really nice, i new before we went that parking was a problem, and in the day it was but as soon as about 5 o'clock came we had a perfect space right outside the hotel, were we could over look to make sure it was safe, there is plenty to do, and we had great weather to which was a bonus, we ate out at a little pizza parlor one evening, which was really nice, only about a 2 minute walk from the hotel its self! the breakfast was beautiful too, our over all stay was excellent!

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — parking was a little problem
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

Had a great stay, comfortable pleasant room, good facilities,
excellent breakfast with a very good choice and the staff very
friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

Absolutely first rate stay. We were made most welcome by the staff who were friendly and made our stay in Llandudno extra special. The room was comfortable, warm and fully equipped. Breakfast was fabulous and nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend The Chelsea Hotel and can't wait to go back there in the Spring. Thanks to everyone there for making us and Tilly so welcome..

  • Liked — Cleanliness, food and staff service
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea

Address: 67 Church Walks, Llandudno LL302HG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chelsea has 8 en-suite rooms ranging from double, four poster, king and double/twin and offers peaceful bed and breakfast accommodation nestled against the Great Orme. All rooms have central heating, LCD freeview tv's (some with DVD), iPod dock clock radio, complimentary beverage tray (some with mineral water) and toiletries. The guest house is ideally situated for walkers,cyclists and shoppers, being less than a minute from the beachfront, Great Orme, and shopping of Llandudno. We welcome well-behaved dogs in some rooms (charges and restrictions apply), and we politely request that dogs are not left unattended as this can be distressing for your pet. We regretfully do not accept children under the age of 10. Parking is available on-site and on-street and is free of charge. Bike storage available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.