We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works do” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Senses at St Georges Hotel

Senses at St Georges Hotel
St George's Place, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
0808 168 6030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 167 Restaurants in Llandudno
Cuisines: Continental
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Works do”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

The plated dinners were awful and the soup was inedible. However, the bar and the company were amazing.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“So brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014 via mobile

The staff here were so kind, letting us have Sunday lunch in the restaurant as it was my boy's 7th birthday. The roast beef was amazing and even the baby loved the soup. They were so attentive. Old school style of service. Would go back and stay - such a lovely relaxing place

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Capital”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I have eaten at this venue several times and also have stayed here and all i can say is the food is excellent whether it is in the what i call the wedgewood room or in front of hotel snacks are good as well as dinners i have tarvelled a long way just to eat here that is how good it is !!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The view was great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The food was ok, not amazing but not dreadful, the problem was that my daughter had finished all but two chips of her steak sandwich and chips before my prawn sandwich arrived, the staff couldn't understand why one item had gone through and not the other and did sort it as quick as possible but it didn't add up to a great lunch

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“afternoon tea please think twice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Took my mother and brother for afternoon tea today after reviews on the afternoon tea in llandudno website. The view is lovely, but the tea is disappointing. No choice of different teas or coffees, meal consists of pink meringue bases witha blob of cream and rasperry, bara brith is more of a tea bread and sandwiches were given as opposed to asking what filling the customer wanted. We had two vegetarians and the fillings were salmon and ham. The scones were purchased, as opposed to home made with rhodas clotted cream rather than fresh cream. The tiny brownies had a large lump of mint fudge on top and the swiss roll had again been bought in as opposed to home made. Very very disappointing. The food in the restaurant may be great but avoid the afternoon tea since at nearly eighteen pounds each, you can get better in Llandudno. This is so sad, since they could make the tea so lovely. If they firstly offered a selection of teas, secondly gave the customer a choice of sandwiches, and thirdly if they offered the carrot cake that came with the cheaper afternoon tea. Yes you read correctly. The more expensive tea does not include a carrot cake, whereas the cheaper tea includes a scone, jam and cream and carrot cake, why can this not be offered with the more expensive tea I do not know. Please look again at this since it could be great. One final thing. My brother had paid half of the bill with me and I had left four pounds as change for him on the table next to my mother. When I returned from the toilet it had gone, and my mother said the waiter had come to clear the table and taken the pounds thinking it was a tip., no thank you or anything, just took the coins, which I found incredible. Didnt say anything as my mum did not want to make a fuss. Reading other reviews, the explanation about the scones is a blatant lie, because being a cook myself, scones are easy to make and can be frozen so there is no excuse to buy the scones in. We did not have china cups with the tea by the way just coffee cups

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senses at St Georges Hotel also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Senses at St Georges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senses at St Georges Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.