We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to unwind and relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baytree Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Baytree Hotel to your Saves list
Baytree Hotel
6 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to unwind and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having just come back from a 3 night stay over the Bank Holiday Weekend I must say it was perfect. Perfect location, great staff and a very relaxed atomosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was good and the service was excellent staff couldn't do enough for you. Excellent location for all activities and tours.

Room Tip: Definitely a sea view room for the for the excellent picturesque view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
14
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at the Bay Tree for 3 nights and would stay here again, but only as a last resort.
The location is brilliant and the views from the front facing rooms are lovely. The room was clean (although the bathroom suite was outdated). There are some hard working and pleasant staff in the hotel. The more mature members of the serving team were very attentive at breakfast and very pleasant. It is unfortunate that these are in a minority!
One day when we arrived at breakfast at 8.45, a young waitress stated that there was nothing left as breakfast finished at 9. We were able to get breakfast but were not made to feel welcome; it seemed our arrival was an inconvenience. We felt that, when there was a coach party in, the staff did not care about private parties. On our final day, a couple arrived at 9 and were greeted by one of the older members of the restaurant staff who welcomed them completely. The hotel needs more people like her!
Many aspects of the hotel were disorganised- we were never told what time breakfast was, we were not informed when there was entertainment arranged, we were never asked if we wanted a paper/wake-up call. The owners do not seem bothered about the private guests.
If improvements were made, this could be a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked the Baytree through a lastminute website (not sure which one). We paid £90 for a double room B&B, which in my opinion was expensive for this type of hotel. I would’ve thought that £65 to £70 was nearer the mark. We arrived early-ish on the Saturday morning and so managed to get a parking space on the back of the hotel and we were cheeky enough to ask if we could have a sea-view room too, which we got.

The hotel has been recently refurbished and so the room was nice with a comfortable bed. The bathroom had not been renovated and so was somewhat dated but we had a good shower and it was clean. The view from our room on the 3rd floor looked right down the prom and we had little noise during the night. The room had a good flat-screen TV/radio and coffee & tea making facilities.

Breakfast was another thing however. I have never been in such an unorganised breakfast room in my life! When we got down to breakfast in the 2-hour window, it seems quite a few of the guests had beat us to it as the only vacant tables had yet to be cleared, which seemed to be the problem. More and more guests were arriving for breakfast and were sitting at uncleared tables. Whilst our table seemed to be set it wasn’t, we had cutlery and cups missing and in the end ended up taking bits & bobs from other ‘unset’ tables. Orange juice and coffee were ‘thin on the ground’ and the service was appalling.

My friend and I felt like leaving our men at the table and taking control of the staff, because that is what it was lacking – a bit of man-management. The lady owner should’ve taken charge and got some sort of organisation back in the place, but she was busy doing not a lot. One young waiter was just wondering in and out of the kitchen in a tired daze. The breakfast was mediocre at best.

The hotel has a public bar with an outdoor seating area on the front, which we used. However, same again – tables weren’t cleared and they lost a lot of trade due to that fact. The steps into the hotel & bar were also in need of a good brush too. Kerb appeal and all that . . . . . . .

Whilst we had a good night’s sleep in a lovely clean comfortable bed we would not return due to the price and disorganisation.

Room Tip: Seaview room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for three nights in August. Had to wait a short while for someone to arrive at reception despite pressing the bell a few times but once someone came she was extremely friendly and helpful even showing me up to my room. Unfortunately I was at the back of the hotel so no sea view but could see the Orme so pleasant enough. The room itself was done to a good spec, the ensuite was fine although the shower was a bit of a squeeze, only downside was there was no catch on the window so it wouldn't stay open and there was no hairdryer. Breakfast was perfectly adequate, fruit juice, cereals, grapefruit segments and a full English. A good bar area with plenty of window seats to watch the world go by they also have a dining area and light bites and menu for the evening should people wish to use it. The hotel is in a great location, it was a comfortable stay and I would thoroughly recommend it for other travellers.

Room Tip: Try for a front room for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and was very impressed with the complete refurbishment of these premises. The bedrooms were large and beautifully decorated with amazing views. The food was to a high standard and the staff very friendly and obliging. I would highly recommend a stay in this hotel, I for one will definitley be returning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had planned to stay two nights for the weekend but added a third one because we were having a good time in Llandudno. The big plus points of the Baytree Hotel are that the entire hotel has been tastefully refurbished (not the bathrooms), so there's a pleasant look throughout. The location is perfect, and we just loved the sight from our sea view room on the third floor. Paying extra for a sea-view room is well worth the money. The owners are friendly and give a lot of personal attention. The choice of breakfast is good. We ate in the grill for dinner on our second night, which was excellent and the main course was served with a good choice and generous quantity of vegetables. Only minus is that the car parking is limited and is available on a first come first serve basis so you cannot be guaranteed parking even if you offer to pay for reserved parking. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincolnshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Visited for 3 nights and was looking forward to our stay in a fully renovated hotel as advertised. We had a lovely sea view from our room on the third floor and was very pleased there was a lift. These were the only two good points. The bathroom was certainly not renovated, the toilet dating back to the 60's/70's and the shower cubicle small dirty caked in lime scale and only running cold water. the wall paper was old and peeling from the walls. The sink in the bedroom was fitted at an obscure angle and was certainly not new. We were moved though to a twin room, facilities were a little better but still dirty and certainly not renovated. Fire exit signs in the room were very vague, after following directions we ended up in a spare bedroom corridor with a basement in front of us.
Breakfasts took forever as hardly any staff, we waited so long for coffee one day, not expected for breakfast on another and were forgotten about on another. Staff unfriendly and most inexperienced. The only person who seemed to have an idea was a young Polish waitress who was rushed off her feet and very smiley, she was also very loyal to her employers though was clearly stressed.
The cost of the stay, £88.00 per night certainly did not reflect the service or quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baytree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baytree Hotel

Address: 6 North Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baytree Hotel is ideally situated on the Grand Promenade, across from the Pier and a minute’s walk from the central shopping area. The hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of the whole bay of Llandudno. Two dining suites, each with its distinctive character, will allow guests to savour a varied cuisine served with fresh local produce. Live entertainment is offered on many nights and the Ballroom with fitted wooden dance floor can accommodate 100 guests. Two well stocked bars and an elegant lounge provide guests plenty space to relax and enjoy spectacular views of Llandudno Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Baytree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baytree Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baytree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.