We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oscar Wilde” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venue Cymru

Venue Cymru
The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1BB, Wales
01492 872000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 40 Attractions in Llandudno
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oscar Wilde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have been to many shows at Venue Cymru . The performances are always of excellent . On the 5th April 2013 we saw a performance of The importance of being Earnest which was well produced and thoroughly enjoyable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    56
    20
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An Enthralling Evening of Opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you like opera the try Welsh National at Venue Cymru. This year we saw Madam Butterfly.
Venue Cymru stands on the promenade. The view from the front is outstanding, taking in the full sweep of the bay from the Great Orme and the pier to the Little Orme.
Parking is very easy, either in the pay-and-display car park or on the promenade.
Despite its rather odd appearance, clearly designed to blend into the Victorian sea front buildings, it is a theatre that is well designed. The view from our seats in the rear stalls was excellent and gave us clear sight of the surtitles.
We visit the theatre in order to support WNO but there are a many different types of show on offer.
Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Venue Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

First time we have been to the Venue Cymru, to see a play on national tour. Booking was easy, parking cheap and plenty of spaces. Couldn't get a meal at the restaurant because of "staff shortages" but had nice soup and sandwich and drink in the cafe/bar. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The play was well staged and good fun, but we found the seats a bit uncomfortable and quite restricted legroom on our row (Row O) Bit of a bun-fight getting out of the car park but altogether a good night out. Would definitely return. Llandudno is a great place for a break and take in a show at the Venue.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bowmac999”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Excellent venue. Attended 2 shows there during our stay. Seating was comfortable and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knutsford
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A great little theatre for all sorts of shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Many a great shows have been seen here, a Ken Dodd show once going on until 12.45 am, and then a long drive home. The restaurant is also good

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venue Cymru also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Venue Cymru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venue Cymru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.