We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long queues and pricy for what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Orme Cable Cars

Great Orme Cable Cars
Happy Valley | Great Orme, Llandudno, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 70 things to do in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Long queues and pricy for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

At £8.50 for a round trip of about a mile each way it seemed a bit pricey. Going up was fine but when we returned to come back down at a little after 2pm there was a long queue that took us a 45 minute wait. It's a decent view during the ride but it's North Wales not Victoria Falls.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    104
    25
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Fantastic, on a clear day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Probably the most pleasant way to get to the summit: the views are great, you can see the tramway (and, if lucky, travel in parallel to a train), the town, the sea, and look at walkers and tourists below. I think it's the priciest option, but worth the expense, on a clear day. At peak times, it can get a little busy / involve queuing, but I took it in the morning, just after it opened, and found it a queue-free experience.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

After we walked / trekked all the way up and stood in the line for ages, they tell us that they only accept cash 45 mins before the last cable car! It's a tourist place for crying out loud, they should have a sign or something. The closest ATM was a 30 min walk down! Sad I didnt get to go on the cable car!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Long queue but great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We did a return trip with our 4 year old grandson so weren't caught out with the pricing but be aware they don't take cards. They did accept a cheque after we asked having stood in the queue for 40 minutes and we did get the third degree at the top - they like you to pay at each end - the views were great though and I would recommend it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Views & Value For Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great Views and value for money. Approximately £8.50 return each for 2 adults. Magnificent views over Llandudno and surrounding areas. It takes about 10 minutes and covers a mile each way. Wrap up as it can be cool at the top.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Orme Cable Cars also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Great Orme Cable Cars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Orme Cable Cars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.