We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1620 Bistro

1620 Bistro
Bodysgallen Hall | The Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
01492 584 466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 138 Restaurants in Llandudno
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had better food here than at the main hotel, different chef? Cozy space with a decent choice menu. Single waitress was a little harried, so getting her attention was tricky.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bistro meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Good food and excellent service but very quiet the night we visited, so lacking in atmosphere. A more relaxed dining option for Bodysgallen Hotel residents than the main hotel restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“tastie food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

the food tasted as food used to we had steak it was tender the flavour was fantastic small venue little under used a shame really as very nice not a large menu but we really enjoyed what we had cheese biscuit good chose nice size

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good but limited menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The food was excellent, but the menu was limited and didn't change. We were staying at the hotel for 2 nights and ate here both evenings, so it would have been nice to choose from a different menu the second evening. As it was I chose the grilled steak both nights, but I have to say it was delicious. A local draught beer (real ale) would have been welcome also, but only bottled lagers were available.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Really looked forward to trying out the Bistro as the Hotel is very well known in the area but although our visit started well ...the welcome and being shown to table ...... the starters were very nice ...we had the warm lamb salad but unfortunately my son had to send his main course back as the steak was inedible .....they did offer him an alternative but as he was on a visit from Australia was looking forward to a nice juicy steak!!!They did remove the price from the bill.Would not return .......

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1620 Bistro also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to 1620 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1620 Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.