We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old fashioned tea shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Characters Old Curiosity Shop & Sandwich House

Characters Old Curiosity Shop & Sandwich House
11 Llewelyn Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ER, Wales (Formerly Characters)
+44 1492 872290
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 138 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Characters Teahouse and curiosity shop. We are a family run business with the idea of bringing back the past time of sitting down for Afternoon Tea, whilst also being able to mooch around and take a look at the quirky items we have for sale. Whilst being enchanted by our old boutique style Teahouse, to accompany your visit, we have a variety of our vintage teas and delicious cakes and pastries. If you are catching up with old friends or simply want to sit and watch the afternoon roll away.Characters teahouse brings you the a warmth and comfort that can only be found in your own home.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice old fashioned tea shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I love the style of decor from the furnishings to the tea cup,nothing matches! You must try the afternoon tea which is great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    38
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Girls night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lovely food all fresh served beautifully mouth watering puddings home made lovely relaxed atmosphere and you can bring your own. Booze all together a very good night

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Must be a 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

What an absolutely gorgeous place. It is very difficult to review as it is an absolute gem. We visited on pancake Tuesday which meant that my daughter and husband had the American pancakes of course. Fortunately they had one between them as there were two pancakes with lashings of cream, strawberries and maple syrup. My mouth is watering just thinking about them. They both had the cream tea and I had the VIP afternoon tea. Everything was superb. The first class waitress said that we had to visit downstairs so we did. The owner had obviously enjoyed creating this area as it was beautiful. Our only disapointment was that we were not able to visit on a Friday or Saturday evening to enjoy their steaks. Next time we visit Llandudno we will make sure that we do visit this jewel in the crown. If you are visiting Llandudno do not miss this emporium of good taste.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Afternoon Tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday lunchtime after reading the great reviews on here and weren't disappointed!The staff are so friendly and allowed us to choose to sit downstairs on a cosy sofa.The cakes and sandwiches were delicious and proper tea and mismatched crockery added to the character.The toilet room is even lovely!Will definitely go back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

i came here for the first time today with my fiance, it was really nice and welcoming. the ladys that served us were so nice and friendly, it makes all the difference and its great when someone makes you feel special even when your only after a cuppa :). we will be going again very soon i hope because the afternoon tea i had was fantastic, not only was the presentation amazing and querky, the lemon curd cake and cherry choc scone were super good x

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Characters Old Curiosity Shop & Sandwich House also viewed

 

Been to Characters Old Curiosity Shop & Sandwich House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Characters Old Curiosity Shop & Sandwich House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.