We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kensington Hotel to your Saves list
Kensington Hotel
6-8 Nevill Crescent | Central Promanade, Llandudno LL30 1AT, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

nice hotel mid promenade. Rooms were spacious and comfortable we were lucky to have a newly renovated bathroom. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good and dinner was ok at least we had a choice of dishes. We could buy a packed lunch for our return journey which was very nice. Hotel is very good for disabled and elderly people.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    54
    17
    14
    14
See reviews for
21
65
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 via mobile

Some of rooms have new bathrooms. If your unlucky enough to get one waiting to be refurbished I feel sorry for you. The hotel restaurant staff think they speak English well but consistently get orders wrong and then get rude and defensive saying they understand what you are saying!!! They obviously don't and made our party of nine feel very uncomfortable. My advice is find a better hotel for much less money!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed in the rooms at the rear of the hotel. Rooms were clean and had recently refurbished bathrooms. The only complaint we had was that the beds weren't comfortable as the mattresses were hard and lumpy. Breakfast was great and the dining room had a lovely sea view . Staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

After reading the reviews we were a little worried by some comments,but we found everything fine.we were a couple spending 3 nights.The hotel is located in the centre of the promenade,so convenient for theatre,shops and pier.We went B&B and ate out in the evening-not that many places to choose from-but were suited each night and came back to the hotel later when a singer was on.There were a couple of coach parties in,so obviously not young people,but we knew what to expect.The room(sea view) was fine with a new bathroom,bed was comfy.The breakfast was very good.Help yourself to cereal and juice,pot of tea or coffee and choice of full breakfast or poached/scrambled eggs etc-good quality.Reviews said they were rushed but we weren't in any way and all staff were polite and helpful.Would be happy to recommend on our experience.
The room was near to the lift but it didn't cause a problem.Again because guests are a bit older there are no late night revellers!

Room Tip: Our room was no.6 above front door.It was quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed at the Kensington 2 yrs ago, and since then there has been many improvements, the entrance from the rear is so much brighter, in fact the lounge,stairs,front reception was so much brighter, the bedroom (no 8) was spotless, lovely modern shower that blows your socks off!! lovely big bay window and 2 comfy chairs, the beds were clean and comfy, we opted to just do bed and breakfast , we dined out for our evening meal as we were a little dissapointed the last time we stayed 2 yrs ago. so I cannot comment on the dinner although we did take a look at the dinner menu and found there was very little choice. But when breakfast time came round, we couldnt fault it..lovely prepared full breakfast hot and very quickly served.Yes you do have to pop your bread in the toaster machine but this means you have hot toast and as much as you like when you like, the slightly downside was ! there wasnt a lot of choice for breakfast few cerials and orange juice, like the other post said..no fruit/yogurt etc etc . but all in all we enjoyed ours and it has been a pleasant surprise to see the Kensington a lot brighter and fresher! the staff on reception were very helpfull with anything you requested.The hotel was quiet , no noise so we had 2 peacfull nights sleep and would certainly stay at the Kensington again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

stayed 4 nights. The dinner is dreadful.such poor quality. The dessert menu the same every night.the triffle from a packet. Only 2 cereals avail at breakfast no yoghurts, fruit ,rolls. There is porrige and cooked , but if you do not wish cooked, tough! The bread was the cheapest available which you had to queue up and cook yourself. The bar in the basement which we had to use sometimes is so dark and depressing. We went to another hotel in the end for drinks as we would not sit in there.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

The owner never even took the trouble to introduce herself , coffee making facilities what a joke you are only allowed one cup of coffee a day I had the cheek to ask for more and I was told it was locked up I ended up buying a jar of coffee I have never been anywhere so miserable, there was hardly any staff I had to wait at least 20minutes to be served at the bar, the barmaid was also the receptionist, the room was clean but very basic a really old TV that did not work very well in fact I have thrown better away, bed very uncomfortable etc.,etc., I could go on and on I tried speaking to Mrs Beardmore at least I think that is her name frankly I found her a very scary lady. I would never go back to this Hotel neither would I recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Hotel

Address: 6-8 Nevill Crescent | Central Promanade, Llandudno LL30 1AT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Llandudno Hotel is a traditional, family-run hotel, which is located in a prime location, on the central promenade in the heart of Llandudno's magnificent north shore. Run by the Beardmore family for over the past 20 years, the hotel is well-known for its warm, friendly, personal service. The hotel has 50 en-suite bedrooms, with tasteful, traditional decor. Every room is well-equipped with TV, tea & coffee making facilities to give a feeling of comfort and homeliness. Premier rooms enjoy magnificent sea views of Llandudno's north bay. From private guests to group parties, the hotel is suitable for every kind of visitor to Llandudno, Snowdonia and other North Wales destinations. The Kensington Hotel is less than a minute walk to the Venue Cymru which makes it an ideal base for delegates attending a conference as well as people attending a musical concert or theatre show.The hotel's location provides convenient access to all of Llandudno's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.