We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel - Llandudno to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Happy Valley Road, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed in the premier rooms, balconied views on 3 sides over the sea, pier and mountain park. We expected the room to be cold due to 3 double glass doors but 3 radiators kept us snug. Furniture is a bit old and there were a few scuffs and scrapes, and a little paint peeling on the ceiling but very clean and comfortable. As we had upgraded to the premier we ate in the premier restaurant. Food and service was very good but as it was a Valentine's celebration we were disappointed in the feeble decoration. A plastic heart on the window and not even a plastic flower to decorate the table, never mind a rose. The complimentary wine in the bedroom was a cheap bottle of Perry and the chocolates were only 3 in a little box. However, the chef on the evenings, a lovely asian gentleman was very friendly and helpful. He really makes guests feel special especially in comparison to the chef at breakfast. Most of the Staff were helpful, efficient and polite though (except for the rude and miserable Sean in charge of Kareoke in the Connaught Room). The ballroom entertainment was a lovely bonus. As there was an outbreak of the Novovirus in the resort when we arrived the hotel smelled of disinfectant, and clients were obliged to use the hand gel in the corridors and toilets. We would have cancelled if we had known in advance but it was so obvious the management were taking no risks that we were happy to stay. We went out and about and found lots to entertain and interest us outside the hotel. We had stayed before when day time activities were laid on during bad weather but not this time, inspite of it being cold and rainy - not what we expected for what was billed as a fun Valentine's Celebration Weekend. We might stay there again but would not recommend it for a theme party or function. And pity the balconies were full of gull droppings.

Room Tip: Upgrading to the premier does not get you the better furnished and comfortable accommodation. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments about you break at the Grand Hotel Llandudno. I agree the decoratons were a bit feeble so lesson to be learnt for next year I think ! Choice of wine and chocolates were out of my hands.
Thank you so much for you comments about the chef. He is in fact Portuguese but he does have a look of the orient about him.
The entertainment staff do not actually work for me but I will pass your comments on about Sean although I am surprised to hear your comments because he is normally so polite.
On the positve side you did enjoy the entertainment in the Grand Ballroom which is good to hear.
We do take outbreaks of the Norovirus very seriously and anyone who has contracted this nasty virus will understand why.
We have over 100 balconies in the hotel and it is a constant battle to combat the seagulls; one in all honesty we will never win so if you arrive and your balcony needs cleaning, pick up the red phone on every landing and ask reception to send the porter up. Alternatively use your mobile to call the hotel direct on 01492 876245.
The only thing I will disagree on is that I think we do theme weekends very well; we don't actually think of Valentines as a theme weekend; it is more a personal break for 2 - not one to be 'shared'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    272
    234
    189
    236
See reviews for
213
494
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed at the hotel due to visiting the theatre and getting a brilliant deal. The hotel itself is very very dated. The minute stepped off the lift we were greeted with creaky floorboards. The room (Twin room) was fine, One double bed and a single which makes me think they thought there were going to be 3 of us. The strangest thing was no lights on the ceiling just two small lights above the beds and a lamp.. bit strange, the light in the bathroom is very dim and flickers for about 2 minutes before staying on. The cold water tap is warm so not great when brushing teeth! however the shower is amazing!! very powerful and hot couldnt fault it. The problem we had was that the walls are very thin. We could hear everything outside on the corridor then everything above and I mean everything the guest above us didnt stop moving around until 1ish then were up about 6:00 so not a great nights sleep. The piping was also so loud in the bathroom.
However breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice hot and cold. couldnt fault it, There is obviously the concern of norovirus which we were warned about when we got there, what I couldnt understand was that there was bottles of anti-bacterial gel around but they werent actually telling people to use it. and I witnessed many people going into the breakfast room without using it,
Overall the hotel is fine for a nice break.. definalty for the older generation we were 100% the youngest people there. Needs updating in certain areas.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. The floorboards do creak in certain parts of the hotel and there is not much we can do about it (my floorboards creak in my bedroom and my house isn't even that old !) Not sure what room you were in but there must be some soil pipes close by the room; every building has to have them I'm afraid. We use the triple rooms as a family room, double or a twin so the staff would not be expecting 3 people.
We have some rooms that do not have a ceiling light and I have never heard that the cold water is warm. We have a direct feed for the cold water so unsure how this would happen but we have since tested the water temp and all is o.k
Thank you for the positive comments about the restaurant and breakfast; sounds like you were definitely the youngest guests in the hotel at the time.
Norovirus is till prevelant in the local hospitals so we have the hand gel out for the guests to make the choice for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Good hotel, friendly staff, quick check in, problem with the lift kept breaking down. Breakfast was great selection. Good location for shops, beach and the Great Orme. Good for getting about.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review.
Thankfully the lift problems have been resolved; just volume of traffic with nearly 300 guests going up and down all day. On the whole (I have my fingers crossed as I type this) the lifts do not present much of a problem since the total refubishment of our main lift.
Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Had a Friday to Monday break , hotel very clean spotless for such a large hotel, room was was clean roomy had what was asked for when booking, Food was plentyful breakfast and dinner very good choice , self service and could have as much as you liked, good entertainement , comfy seats in lounge bar if wish just to relax if weather is bad , which it was when we were there but we was happy sitting in comfy atmosphere. would recommend a stay at this hotel , This was our second stay here,

Room Tip: had a corner room and had wonderful view's across the Llandudno
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the fabulous review. It is always nice to hear favourable comments, especially from someone who has previously visited the hotel. You summed up the hotel beautifully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Nice and quick check in,really friendly staff always smiling,good service at the bars and breakfast was good also,yes the floor boards do creak as per previous reviews but that didn't bother us. Enjoyed our stay and will be back this year. Entertainment people worked their socks off also.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the positive comments. We look forward to seeing you later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed 17th-19th feb 2012.Room was small and not clean(used tissues under beds)full of dust.Asked for a sea view and was given a room overlooking a rubbish dump (the site of a former baths next door).Chairs in room full of big stains,toilet sealant stained brown,bath panel hanging off.shoddy decorating.Tired thin towels.Room service left old bits of paper/silver wrappers on floor which were there when we arrived and we didnt see a vacuum cleaner used.Staff were friendly and breakfast was to a high standard and its in a lovely location.Wouldnt book there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. Not actually sure what 'sheet whole' means but I can only apologise for the shortfall in housekeeping standards. Towels are supplied form an outside contractor so I will pass on the comments.
Requesting a sea view does not guarantee a room with a view I'm afraid. If you pay the supplement; you get the sea view but a request is just that, a request only.
Thank you for the positive feedback about the staff and breakfast; and of course we are in a wonderful location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Just returned from this hotel on a national holidays superdeal.Room was long and tight and susceptable to noise at night when act on in the bar.We did not complain as we had got such a cheap deal but others did and were promptly moved to more opulant room.There are 3 price band/standards rooms available.Food was well cooked with plenty off choice which did not take long to replenish, very good.Some staff in restaurant didnot have very good english to deal with queries, but we managed.Entertainment usual hotel fair of live music for dancing then bingo followed by a different floor show lasting approx 45 mins.Then it was up to the bar for resident comic and karaoke.In a great location for pier with direct access available in summer months.There are 2 lifts which are a bit slow but honestly we were on the first floor and i soon got used to the stairs which are very shallow.Main gripe for me was bingo.I stopped playing after i realised that every day they kept 50% of the takings.Nearly forgot, the bathroom badly needed refurbishing!

Room Tip: Choose sea view for quieter better rooms. Some suites available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thanks for your review; so glad you enjoyed the break. We are an entertainment hotel and noise does sometimes travel to the first floor. This ususally means the guests are having a good time in the Connaught Bar singing along to the karaoke or resident organist; this leaves the Night Manager in a dilemna but if the availability if there the staff will always try and move guests. Ultimately, the guest is our priority so if we can assist we will.
Glad you like the food and found the restaurant good. We have 11 restaurant staff, 7 British, 1 Latvian, 2 Portuguese and 1 Egyption; all who have been with me a long time. In fact nearly all of my staff have worked here for years which I think helps a great deal with service.
Sounds like you had a fab break; sorry about the bingo - it is out of my hands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Address: Happy Valley Road, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.