We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all Grand” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel - Llandudno to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Happy Valley Road, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Not at all Grand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Arrived quite nervously after reading some of the reviews but took the view that people only leave reviews when they aren't happy. Well.......trying to be objective about the stay.
The 1st room (224) was really unacceptable for any modern hotel (No shower) and my partner wasn't at all happy about that. Were shown to alternative (513) but there were people in bed as we let ourselves in (eeek). Eventually ended up in 511 (after much climbing of stairs as the lifts were not working). Very small room, but better bathroom....although hairs in the bath (eeek).
Dinner was carvery (food OK) although had to get our own drinks from the bar !! Evening entertainment was laughable...unless you are over 65 and want the waltzing around the dancefloor type of entertainment.
Breakfast started with a 45 minute queue for a table but the buffet food was OK once we eventually managed to get seated (at a table with others we didn't know).
I have stayed at other Brittania hotels quite a lot and what a shame that this one is bringing down their brand name.
Please take care when booking this hotel and make sure it is really what you are looking for. Don't just think that you're getting a cheap DBB deal and expect quality as you simply won't get it.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your feedback.

The engineers worked hard to repair the lift over a period of 5 hours and thankfully it was fully operational by the evening.
We are working on modernising our bathrooms and I am most upset to read that you found a hair in the 2nd room you occupied.
Entertainment is for the benefit of the majority and is very subjective and I perfectly understand it may not be to everyones taste. The hotel is in a fantastic position and makes an ideal base for just getting out and about if you do not want to join the activities.
There are never normally queues of 45 minutes but we were hosting a reunion weekend where a lot of the guests know each other hence the reason guests were sat together at breakfast.
156 guests have rebooked for 2012 which gives a clear indication they they enjoyed themselves. Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    244
    205
    178
    217
See reviews for
193
441
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Booked 1 night on a last minute impulse. Paid 55 quid for dinner, bed and breakfast in a standard room with sea view (fab for two people) This hotel clearly is tired and in need of some tlc to get it back to it's former glory. If I had paid the peak season rates I would have been a bit miffed. Although it is fair to say, I found the reception and dining area staff very pleasant. I think it's a very good idea to ask guests to use hand gel before entering the dining room (shared utensils will always increase spread of bacteria - so why would some take offence at this?) The hotel is over 100 years old is it any wonder the floorboards creak! The seaviews are fantastic and would probably be be all the better if the windows got a good wash! Perhaps a few more hands on deck with cloths or a paint brush wouldn't break the bank and even during a recession you have to speculate to accumulate (the place shouldn't be left to go to ruin) Some people are unbelievably sad - who on earth checks for dust on top of hotel wardrobes for heaven sake? I bet their own wardrobes at home probably not seen a duster in yonks (I admit it - mine too, but that's because I have a life!) We had no complaint with the food - everything perfectly edible and enjoyed three courses at dinner and breakfast (I don't do that at home either!) The entertainment a bit naff when your only in forties, but watching the 'oldies' entertained me loads! It was clear to see the likes of Doris, Ethel & Stanley have taken this place to their hearts. I think on a standard booking it's a bit pot luck with the type of room allocated, but get out and enjoy the area and stop climbing wardrobes (I think these octogenerians are on something??! Maybe that's why the hotel sees so many zimmers and invalid scooters! - haha) Oh why not give it a go. The more customers they get, the more profits could be ploughed back in for future improvement (hopefully?)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel, especially the staff who all work extremely hard to ensure the guests have a good time. Indeed the hotel is actually 107 years old on July 4th and is at times hard to maintain but we strive at all times to offer good value for money which is reflected in the rates we charge in off peak season.
The hotel has enjoyed an 85% occupancy since April 2010 which is no mean feat in these financial times and yes there are certain times when Doris, Ethel and Stanley frequent the Grand;the hotel welcomes all ages. We are in a fantastic positon overlooking Llandudno Bay which is great for just using as a base to explore the surrounding area if you don't want to join in the entertainment, although you might find you like a bit of dancing and karaoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Do not expect to be able to park your car, we were advised to park on side streets several blocks away from the hotel or pay on the meter. Drove around for approx 15 minutes trying to find a suitable parking space.We had to carry our cases through the streets of Llandudno to enable us to check in to the hotel. We had booked a premier room with a sea view for our wedding anniversary. We had to fight our way through disgaurded laundry cages to get to our room, very disapointing you had to go onto a rusty balcony to be able to see the sea. The room was very old and shabby nothing premier about it. Unfortunatly we were so disapointed we decided not to stay at the hotel but to drive home. Based on this experience we will not be returning

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
The hotel does not have a car park as it was opened in 1902 when there was not much call for a car park and unfortunately we do not have the space for one.
The charges on street are currently £1.50 per 24 hours and £4.10 per 24 hours in the pay and display which I feel are reasonable for a popular seaside town.
I do understand it must be very frustrating to arrive at the hotel and be unable to park but Llandudno was very busy during half term which does mean parking will be at a premium.
The room is perfectly alright and the laundry trollies were not discarded. The linen porter was actually sorting the laundry from the previous day as we had accommodated 324 guests but this should not affect the bedroom in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

This hotel is attrocious after spending nearly £200 on a 2 night stay in a so called superior room! When i booked at central reservations was told seaview with a balcony. On struggling to my room with a pushchairs, luggage and a 2 year old it was nothing as i was told. It was floor minus 1 out of the lift downstairs then up a flight to the room. I was not happy and went back to reception was given a key to look at another room, i opened the door and 2 people were in bed! I went back to reception again then was given a so called premier room on the 1st floor right above the entertainment. Three hours sleep each night just what we needed. The premier dining is not premier in any way, tinned veg and awful food. I did get a letter from thr hotel telling me it was frozen not tinned. The staff don;t speak english, not 1 person comes and asks if everything is ok. I tried to order poached egg for breakfast and gave up in the end as the staff were clueless. As for the entertainment well it is designed for 65 plus thats for sure. The bingo money is so low don;t bother playing.Anna thr so called General Manager(glorified receptionist i say) was never to be seen mixing with guests in the entertainment or about in the dining room thats because she knows she won;t get away. I wrote to Brittania hotels and they passed it to the hotel and the deputy manager responded. The letter was an insult for the amount we paid. If i was on a coach trip fine but not when you pay all that moneu for 2 nights. I really suggest another hotel if you want to see LLandudno. This hotel is a disgrace and save your money!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britannia1, On behalf of Britannia Hotels Head Office at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
The comments from the above review have been noted and investigated.

It is our belief that a response to another hotelier would be inappropriate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I have just had a weekend at the grand we had a great time it was a valatine special, when i booked it the web sight said it had free car parking of which it was a lie it has no such think, people should be made aware they are going to stay there they have to be carefull the parking attendants are very quick on the job.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel; I am so glad you had a pleasant Valentines Weekend.
I cannot find any websites stating free car parking; the on-street charges are as follows:
1st October - 30th April; £1.50 per 24 hours
1st May - 29th September; £3.00 per 24 hours
Pay and display car park, situated 200 yeards from hotel entrance;
£4.10 per 24 hours
Once again, thank you. I do hope you choose the Grand Hotel Llandudno for a future short break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Grand Hotel it is not..thankfully we were only staying for the 1 night....the bedroom was a fair enough size, however it was VERY dated, the main light did not work and there was patches of damp on every wall...which lead to a very damp smell, the bathroom was very dated with no loo paper....as for the windows they were so dirty we didn't need to use the curtains!!

As we were running late we decided to eat in the so called restauarant, where they only offered a set 3 course meal...the food was terrible and all appeared to be deep fried and processed...so I ended up with salad for a starter and main.....so not value for money..

We we also ordered to use hand sanitizers on entrance to the 'canteen'. The tables were all crammed together and as the average age was '75' we couldn't move for walking sticks and zimmer frames...it really was like eating in an old peoples home

Breakfast was included, but we gave it a miss so couldn't comment on it!!

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Having checked Rm.403, the room accommodated by this reviewer I can find no damp on any wall. However, there is a slight mark where there used to be a border and the adhesive has seeped through. The room does not smell of damp because there is no damp to smell; the room is being painted as I type this review.
The average age our guests is most definitely not '75' although this would not be a problem if it was the case as we welcome all ages, including couples and families.
The Daily Menu is situated outside the entrance to the Restaurant which states clearly what is being served. The only reason the hotel uses hand sanitizer is because we offer a buffet service and guests handle the utensils.
The hotel accommodated nearly 600 guests during this week with very little negative feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

The Hotel does not live up to it's name 'GRAND' give this one a miss if you like a good standard of service and a nice clean room to stay in,without water dripping from the ceiling. The staff are scruffy in particular the kitchen staff and the food very poor. Depressing looking public rooms in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
I am so sorry the hotel did not live up to your expectations.
I have noted your comments about the appearance of the kitchen staff. The hotel caters for over 200 guests every night and we have a lot of positive feedback about the food.
Reception would have been more than happy to move you to another room if you were experiencing maintenance problems.
The hotel was opened in July 1902 and it is true we experience maintenance problems from time to time which we do our utmost to address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Address: Happy Valley Road, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.