We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Keen” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lighthouse
Save
You added The Lighthouse to your Saves list
Marine Drive | Great Ormes Head, Llandudno LL30 2XD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 150 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not Keen”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

As with a previous "reviewer", I too have tried without success to contact this place. 4 emails and a phone call all unanswered. I tried the same time last year too. Obviously not keen to take more business (I was asking for 3 nights B&B). But very rude not to answer inquiries. I too have booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Lighthouse as part of our wedding week. Amazing experience. Stayed in telegraph room so we could go on the roof. Everyone should go there at least once. Host was fantastic, so nice and friendly. Couldnt have been any better for our wedding. Tony and Trudie.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a wonderful place in which to spend a wedding anniversary ! Our stay here was a gift from our daughter and son-in-law and it couldn't have been more appropriate. The welcome we received from Fiona and Ray was so very warm and we felt as though we had been friends for years. The room was warm and comfortable with a panoramic view and we slept well, lulled by the sound of the wind and the waves below us.
We made the climb onto the roof where it was like entering another world. The whole place is steeped in history and the whole atmosphere of the place quite easily takes you back in time.
Wonderful !
It was so very different from anything that we had experienced before, and is to be highly recommended.
We felt honoured to be guests there and to share in something as unique as this.
Thankyou Fiona and Ray. We'll be back !
Anne and Graham XX

Room Tip: Either the Lamp room or the Telegraph room. Both are cosy and have phenomenal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

nothing less than expected, teriffic, fabulous, different, we stayed in the lamp room the veiws where fantastic, the lighthouse was like staying in a small victorian museum ( spot on )
Fiona and Ray were very pleasant and nothing seemed to much trouble.
Thanks for a nice stay 1-3 nov 13
best regards, Terry & Sheila Heywood Lancs

Room Tip: lamp room worth waiting for
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the Principal Keeper's Suite and our friends had the Telegraph Room, both of which were lovely and just as pictured on their website. The Lighthouse is nestled in a peaceful and private hillside, 400 feet above the water with spectacular views from anywhere on the grounds. They opened the roof access for us so we could climb up and take in more views from the rooftop. Fiona and Ray are excellent hosts and showed us around the house as well as providing information about the area. Fiona even mailed a packet to us in the states, so we could plan in advance to make the most of our visit. Llandudno is only a few minutes drive away and we found a nice spot for a late dinner. In the morning, we enjoyed a full breakfast in the elegant dining room followed by Jordan's talented piano playing. We would have loved to stay longer, but the rooms were already booked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

While driving around Llandudno and the Great Orme we came across The Lighthouse. We couldn't resist peeping in but unfortunately it was fully booked. Ray came to greet us and he took us for a tour of the place which is absolutely breath-taking to say the least.

I thought the impressive Keeper's Entrance Hallway says it all ... but it doesn't! There is much more to this extraordinary place and I am sure that one day I will manage to stay in it! My husband and I are planning to make this a romantic get-away for our anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here last night for my son's Birthday as a special treat and it was absolutely spectacular! Enchanting place,Ray and Fiona are the best hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Lovely lovely experience, one which I will remember for a long time and hopefully return to again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Address: Marine Drive | Great Ormes Head, Llandudno LL30 2XD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Llandudno
The Lighthouse Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.