We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lighthouse
Save
You added The Lighthouse to your Saves list
Marine Drive | Great Ormes Head, Llandudno LL30 2XD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 149 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked all three rooms for a birthday celebration on 3 August. There were six adults in the party and a 3 year old child. The accomodation was everything we had hoped for. On our arrival Ray showed us round the building and explained its history and features. In the grounds, he served us tea, coffee and delicious biscuits and pointed out nesting peregrines, a seal and a rare butterfly.

After dinner at the "Seahorse " (reviewed elsewhere) we watched the sun set in the Lamp Room. Our 3 year old grandson was absolutely delighted by the sight of a rescue helicopter hovering alongside the cliffs below the Lighthouse (hopefully on practice)

The next morning Fiona served a delicious breakfast which was accompanied by Jordan on the piano. Nothing was too much trouble for her and we left absolutely delighted by a magical stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mersea Island, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in the Lighthouse House w/e 19 July 2013. We stayed in the Telegraph Room which was fab. Fiona and Ray were brilliant hosts and the breakfast was to die for. Their son Jordan played the piano excellently and we had a great time. We would recommend this hotel its full of history and character and we will be definitely going back

Room Tip: The lamp room has fab views, but a bit hot during this heat wave
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had a BIG birthday this year and always wanted to stay in a light house. We chose this one and were not disappointed in any way. Stayed in the Lamp room which was quite an awesome experience,being able to view from East to West as a panorama was wonderful. Fiona and Ray were wonderful hosts,and we had the added treat of listening to their very talented son Jordan,playing classical piano. We sat in the Lamp room door open, and his music filled the air. What could have been better.

Room Tip: Lamp room! Lamp room! Lamp room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

our second stay ..first stay was principle innkeepers suite and that was great but after seeing the lamproom set our hearts on a stay there so 4 yers later we did it and it was awesome !
lovely warm welcome from ray and Fiona, Fiona kindly brought us some tea and biscuits outside so we could enjoy the afternoon sunshine and the view, we were treated to an aerial battle between 2 peregrine falcons
we spent the early evening up until about 9pm sat outside watching the sunset with a bottle of champagne which Fiona had kindly chilled for us along with some nibbles we had picked up to eat as we didn't want to go into town to eat just wanted to savour the lamproom and its wonderful view and atmosphere
great breakfast the sausages mmm so tasty,...(,not so tasty was a couple coming to breakfast in a loud football kit tacky shorts and bare feet.?.)
thanks again to Fiona and Ray for a perfect stay,your warm hospitality and the lamproom was worth every penny !

Room Tip: the lamp room is a must..but needs to be booked well I advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

the staff a so friendly and helpful they couldn't make us feel more welcome if they tried, a completely different experience to the usual hotel I stay in and the views were amazing and so was the breakfast definitely recommend this for anniversaries or just nice occasions away

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was a surprise for my birthday and what a surprise it was! The Lighthouse is perched on the cliff overlooking the bay, it is so romantic, it looks like a castle.
We had a very warm welcome from the owners who showed us round and settled us into our suite with tea and biscuits. Our rooms were lovely, warm, comfortable and with plenty of unusual features that tell the tale of The Lighthouse.
The full breakfast the next morning was delicious and it was very refreshing to sit round a table with the other guests and chat whilst we ate.
Wow just sums it all up!

Room Tip: All 3 suites are fantastic! Obviously the suite with the lamp room is popular but we had the Princip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

So we arrived at the lighthouse Sunday 26th May 2013 and as usual we had a wonderful warm welcome from Fiona, Ray and Jordan. This was our 4th visit over 4 years. Why are you going there again we were asked? Well if you visit this beautiful lighthouse the answer is infront of your eyes!
Wonderful views, relaxing atmosphere, beautiful quietness. The host and hostess perfect and their extremely talented son Jordan are a complete delight. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The bedrooms are spacious and inkeeping with the atmospheric lighthouse. Elegant and stylish. If you are looking for modern - contemporary then this place is not for you, you will have hundreds of places to visit that are. But for something completely different, original and quite simply unique then the lighthouse is the place to visit.
The breakfast is lovely and very filling. If you are lucky enough to visit when Jordan is home then you are in for a complete treat. This young man, only 13, has a wonderful talent a true gift. Listening to him play is the final tick in the box for us. 10 out of 10 all round and Fiona, Ray and Jordan we can't wait to be back to see you again. Tania and Mervyn

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Address: Marine Drive | Great Ormes Head, Llandudno LL30 2XD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Llandudno
The Lighthouse Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.