We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience and place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lighthouse
Save
You added The Lighthouse to your Saves list
Marine Drive | Great Ormes Head, Llandudno LL30 2XD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 152 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unique experience and place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for our friends 50th birthday and had a lovely evening in the lamp room soaking up the atmosphere of this lovely building. It's an old lighthouse so don't expect things to be pristine. The character of the building is complimented by the owners who welcome you into their home and treat you as guests. Even I, who can be quite antisocial, felt able to relax into this homely atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    10
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
simonhutch
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Just come back from a 2 night stay, as per every other review the location is absolutely fantastic. Fiona is a great host and breakfast was top notch. I work in the music industry and their son is one of the best pianists I have heard, that said his practice sessions do go right around the lighthouse. I know it is their home so if you are after a quiet break it might be better to book mid-week.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I've been coming to the Lighthouse for three years now and without any reservations, I can tell you it is my favorite place on the planet. From our first arrival, we were greeted by hosts and owners Ray, Fiona and their son Jordan, some of the most hospitable people we've had the privilege to meet.
You can come for the views, or the birdwatching, or the Kashmir goats running wild on the Orme (once we saw a parade of goats behind a double rainbow!), but really you should come here for your soul!
As beautiful music fills the air, provided by the budding world-class musician Jordan, age 11, you'll be in awe of exactly what a special place you've come across. Don't come looking for some snooty luxury hotel, if you're looking for that, you've completely missed the boat on what the experience is all about.
It's a place you come to when you need to take a breathe and have some self-reflection. A place to really connect with nature, yourself and the ones you love.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

From the greeting at the door, we were made to feel so welcome. We were offered refreshments on arrival which were served in our room.
We stayed in the fantastic lamproom suite. The best room to see those spectacular sunsets from, it was cosy, clean, very comfortable and very private... just what you want on your honeymoon. The kitchen was open all night for you to help yourself to a late night drink.
There was an enormous cooked breakfast or choice of cereal and toaste with tea coffee juice
etc and access to the grounds to enjoy those splendid views.
This is not a posh hotel, if thats what you want this is not the place for you, this is better,
this is a home from home in the best location, with hosts who couldn't do enough to make your stay all you could wish for.
This is the place we want to revisit.

Room Tip: Lamp room best for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We have just arrived back after spending a wonderful night in the lamp room. On arrival we were greeted by Fiona in to her wonderful home. She gave us a guided tour of the grounds and abit of history on the lighthouse. Fiona made us feel very welcome. We thought the location and views were fantastic. What alovely place to stay on a very special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Yes it is a lovely old building with lots of history and fab hosts but not a lot else sadly. One entry in the guest book states 'six windows, six views'. True if you want to constantly wipe the condensation with the towel provided. There is also no way of opening the windows to get any fresh air in.We stayed in the telegraph room which is furnished beautifully with old furniture but spoilt somewhat by the dehumidifier in the corner. Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast was nice but nothing that special. There is only one dining table so all guests have to sit together. Was glad it wasn't the first day of our honeymoon! As mentioned the owners were lovely and friendly. A little too much perhaps. After 'escaping' our three children for a rare night off we were a captive audience for the young son to show of his talents on the piano. Brilliant as he was it was not what we went for.A very expensive view(once you have wiped the windows!)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Four of us have just stayed in the Lighthouse for the weekend and had a great time. I have just read some of the reviews and would say they are pretty fair. The situation is amazing and while there we saw a wonderful sunset and a shooting star from the edge of the cliff. The place is full of history and there is some interesting documentation to read. The building is very unusual and not like the expected tower type of lighthouse. You can easily imagine what it must have been like to work here in the past. There is an account of keepers having to climb up the outside of the lamproom to clear the ice in the winter, just feet from the cliff edge.
It's true that the place is a bit tatty but that adds to the atmosphere - if you want modern 5-star luxury go somewhere else! We found the beds fine. The Kilpatricks and the breakfast lived up to expectations. It was nice to have a free run of the kitchen at all times and we had coffee there after returning late at night. My wife had no problem going down to the kitchen in the morning.
Pricewise it is comparatively expensive but we felt it was worth it and clearly the demand is enormous so why should it be cheaper. It must cost a fortune to maintain. And you do get a free concert thrown in.
Because we wanted to drink with our evening meals we took taxis, or more accurately we took Steve's taxi four times. He's very reliable and a mine of information about the area. We ate at Nikki Ip's and The Seahorse, both superb. Nikki's banana fritters are wicked!
Would go again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Address: Marine Drive | Great Ormes Head, Llandudno LL30 2XD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Llandudno
The Lighthouse Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.