We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinmel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kinmel Hotel to your Saves list
Kinmel Hotel
11-12 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the kinmel for 2 nights we found it a lovely friendly hotel with great staff nothing was too much trouble great clean room with a added bonus of a sea view great breakfast with a good choice of food will def stay again thanks to Sara for making us feel most welcome see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara G, Director of Sales at Kinmel Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thankyou very much for your kind feedback, we look forward to seeing you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    41
    31
    18
    18
See reviews for
41
87
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We booked the family room as we were in Llandudno to visit relatives to celebrate a special occasion. We didn't check in until approx 7pm as we had spent the afternoon / early evening with family locally. When we did get in our room, our 13 year old daughter immediately alerted us to the fact that the double bed was broken and was being propped up by a drawer from the bedside cabinet! My husband immediately reported this to reception and to be fair, we were told that the hotel would try and find us alternative accommodation at another hotel. Since we had had a long day (and had an elderly relative and 2 children) we thought that we would make do with what we had. We really just wanted them to know that we hadn't broken the bed. We went down for breakfast well within the allocated time and there was barely anything available to eat! We thought that more food would be brought out but it soon became clear that that was not going to happen. When we asked one of the staff, we were told that a large group had been in early and had eaten more food than expected, therefore there was no food left!!! When we checked out, we mentioned that we had not had any breakfast and the staff member told us that we would receive a discount for this. As we were preparing to leave our room, we received a knock on our door. When opened we were confronted by a man who said he was the owner, he was shouting saying it was our fault that we had slept in the broken bed! He was very threatening and my two children were frightened because of the aggression and shouting he displayed! I thought this man was going to attack my husband as he was furious. A female member of cleaning staff was with the man and was trying to tell him to calm down, but with no avail! We left the hotel feeling very shaken and were left to try and reassure our children and elderly relative! The owner did come back to our room with a half hearted apology and we ended up not paying our bill at all! We would have been prepared to pay for what we had had, but left as soon as we possibly could. This really but a downer on what should and could have been a happy, special occasion :-(

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely clean room, great breakfast, fantastic location & a warm welcome from Sara & Neville. Can't recommend this place highly enough! We had a lovely view of the promenade & will definitely be back soon (but will order better weather next time!!!!!!!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

no staff around. we got asked to fill out a form with all our details on which we did, we went to go for a walk and they had left all of or details on the side for anyone to see. we didn't get shown to the room or where anything was, we had to find everything ourselves. you couldn't lean on the stair banisters because they felt like they would snap off, we opened the door and it was blowing gale force winds as the window was wide open and we tried to shut it but it wouldn't close, headboards weren't even connected to the bed just banging against the wall. the toilet door wouldn't shut, no signal on the TV. screws hanging out the wall,carpet all worn,wall paper hanging off. hole in the mattress. overall it needs a total revamp and more friendly welcoming staff a complete rip off for what it was i will not be going back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Wonderful hotel, made very welcome with the staff, great entertainment on Saturday night. food OK, could do with a bread roll with starter, other wise good. we had a Mountain rescue families get together, there was 15 in our party, all enjoyed it and could be going back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANEV, Manager at Kinmel Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Wow what a weekend!!! We thoroughly enjoyed sharing it with you all. It was a pleasure to welcome you all to Kinmel. Both Friday and Saturday nights were great fun and certainly entertaining, from both Eryl our resident entertainer and yourselves (your singing was great). We look forward to welcoming you all back next year and thank you for such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful few days at Llandudno staying at the Kimnel Hotel. Sara and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Room was adequate and well serviced with a good bed. The food was amazing, all home cooked and varied with good choices every day. The breakfast was more than adequate and the staff worked hard with so many of us to satisfy.
We can really recommend this hotel and would certainly return there if we had the opportunity.
Thank you Sara, for all your hard work.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANEV, Owner at Kinmel Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review. We have welcomed Treyn Holidays to Kinmel Hotel many times this year and what a great group you all proved to be. We are glad you enjoyed the comfortable bed and the stunning seaviews. We pride ourselves on our homecooked food and are glad you enjoyed it. The staff are always keen to please, the reason why we were awarded the Silver Award for Service from Treyn Holidays. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kinmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Having read reviews on this site before we travelled we were a bit wary. No need. We were allowed to choose our seaview room when we arrived. We chose the family room as we knew we would socialise before dinner there. The view was great. So many different people using the prom for activity of all kinds.
The tea/coffee facilities were more than adequate.
Breakfast, a hot buffet, was very good, especially the mushrooms!
We had to choose our evening meal during breakfast: three courses and always a choice. The fish pie was especially good.
The wine service was a bit hit and miss but the staff were always pleasant and eager to do their best.
Evening entertainment (singers) were arranged. We took advantage of the local theatre, Venue Clwyd, and ate there that evening (excellent food) and good touring play (The Butterfly Lion)

Room Tip: Why not pay the extra to look out at the sea, the Great Orme, the pier, the oil platforms (lit up at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinmel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinmel Hotel

Address: 11-12 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinmel Hotel is a family run, 28 En suite room hotel, with a lift to all floors, a fully licensed bar, a menu of freshly cooked food, and friendly well trained staff. The hotel centrally situated, only two minutes walk from the theatre and conference centre at Venue Cymru. The hotel enjoys the panoramic views of the beautiful coastline of North Wales. This seafront hotel is based on Llandudno's Promenade, between the Great and Little Ormes, and is ideally situated for your visit to Llandudno - The Queen of Welsh Resorts. Occupying a prime position on the promenade, the Kinmel Hotel is simply a stone throw away from the numerous shopping facilities and attractions within Llandudno and North Wales. The Kinmel hotel benefits from a car park, exclusive for our guests, located to the rear of the property, and cctv in the public areas to ensure our guests safety and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kinmel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinmel Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinmel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.