We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like massive portions and excellent value for money...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candles

Candles
29 Lloyd Street, Llandudno LL30 2YA, Wales
01492 874422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 138 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you like massive portions and excellent value for money...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

...then eat here in Llandudno! 12 of us ate here whilst we were on conference, there was loads of choice on the 3 or 4 course set menu. You get a choice of 2 from rice, veg, chips or salad with mains, but save some room for pudding! I went shares on lemon meringue and blackcurrant sorbet and both were delicious. 4 courses and 2 beers came in at £25, which I consider excellent value for money. Hope to go back in 4 years when we're back in Llandudno!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    27
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Small and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Candles is like eating at home, but out. The menu is great and very reasonable. The mushroom stroganoff is a must, it's lovely. Can't praise here enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“just brillant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

we found this restaurant a couple of years ago.and have been going there ever since .the food is excellent the staff are brilliant nothing is to much trouble .great menu great price .try it you will not be disappointed.we tell every one about candles.we just love it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Secret delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Shouldn't really share how wonderful this delightful restaurant is or it may be fully booked more often! Having been in catering over 25 years I am hard to please, but the family that run this have had me return time and time again as it is perfect. If you are looking for good food, good value, excellent ambience and great service, look no further!! A secret treasure in Llandudno!! Well done guys!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Return visit - definitely not disappointed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had our Anniversary meal at Candles once again, as we know how good it is, and we knew we would love everything about it. Once again we were not disappointed. The food is excellent, as are the service and the atmosphere. We have recommended this Restaurant to many people and they too have enjoyed themselves very much. We have also recommended Candles to the proprietors of the different B&B's at which we have stayed, and they in turn have recommended it to their guests. Definitely looking forward to returning to Llandudno and eating here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candles also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Candles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.