We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie

The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie
3 Lloyd Street | LL30 2UP, Llandudno LL30 2UP, Wales
01492 860084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 138 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Brasserie
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hand cut chips are fabulous, good range on the menu, they have just revamped the menu and it was disappointing to see that dishes are the lower end of the scale have been removed. Lovely fresh food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    82
    23
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“Lovely freshly made rolls and thankfully no bone in my ham!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The Hambone has been popular for many years and now offers 3 distinct Llandudno eateries: a little cafe, a takeaway deli, and a small unit in the precinct selling filled rolls. I popped into the takeaway deli because I was hungry and chose to buy a ham salad roll. The indifferent chap behind the counter prepared my sandwich and off I strolled, munching away on my butty while spilling some of it's contents on the high street because it was well filled and pretty tasty. The cafe itself is nothing to write home about but I will definitely return for a nice bap.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lovely food & setting a pleasant surprise amongst the greasy spoons & chain restaurants!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Quality homemade food, good portion sizes reasonable value for money. Lovely setting only minor gripe was that waitress was quite surly & insisted on discussing the theft of some shoes with a colleague at quite high volume right next to our table.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our biggest surprise of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

What a wonderful restaurant. The food is excellent ! We went back 4 days in a row. Our group of six tried a variety of different meals and each was superb.
I also took their famous pork pie for the train ride to Manchester and have never tasted better.
Service was excellent.
Looking forward to our return trip to Llandudno and the Hambone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamboneLlandudno, Owner at The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello
And thank-you for your review it was a pleasure to serve you and your party it makes us very proud to here such feedback and gives us the strength and motivation to create new innovative ideas here at The Ham Bone.
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and that you enjoyed Mr Ainsworth's award winning pork pies on your journey home.
It would be lovely to welcome you and your party back again in the future.

Regards
Martin Ainsworth and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

staff seemed a bit worn out when I got there and were border line abrupt but the food was excellent and I would go back as the soup was very good and i'm a soup snob!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamboneLlandudno, Owner at The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review it was nice to here you enjoyed our soup with us on your visit ,we try to keep our soups unique with exciting flavours and seasonal produce.
I do apologise for any reason our staff seemed a little rushed it was a busy few days for us at that period and at times can get a little stressful.
Do hope you return very soon.

Regards
Martin Ainsworth and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.