We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food - FANTASTIC Pork Pies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie

The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie
3 Lloyd Street | LL30 2UP, Llandudno LL30 2UP, Wales
01492 860084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 138 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Brasserie
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“great food - FANTASTIC Pork Pies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Love the food and could happily eat the pork pies until the moon turns blue. Good for breakfast or lunch. The baps are so large, you can easily share. Try the soup or fresh roast.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamboneLlandudno, Manager at The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are immensely proud of our pork pies and are happy you feel the same. Our soups are all freshly made and we are always trying to come up with new, fresh and innovative flavors. Look forward to your return.
Best wishes Martin Ainsworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    82
    23
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

quite often go to Llandudno but tend to go to a regular place, out of habit. but thought the food in the window for takeout looked nice so we thought we would give it a try for a change, quite busy when we went in, but acknowledged straight away and told few minutes wait and given menus while waiting, food and service was lovely, we now have a alternative regular place to eat in Llandudno.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamboneLlandudno, Manager at The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you you for your review feedback is very important to us and your comments are extremely useful.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Martin AInsworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Standards have fallen”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have, for many years, called into the Hambone Deli and, after it opened, the cafe. We recently purchased 2 Chicken and Ham pies to eat at home, as a treat, having previously enjoyed the well-filled and tasty pies we were expecting. What we got were two attractive looking, but abysmally poor, apologies for Chicken and Ham pies. There were no identifiable pieces of meat to be found in either pie, and the sauce in which the shredded and finely minced meat was served was undefinably savoury, but extremely salty. A bitter disappointment after so many years of excellence.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamboneLlandudno, Owner at The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I am very sorry that you were so disappointing with your pies that you purchased recently. Im not quite sure why on this occasion these pies did not meet your expectations as they are made fresh daily with the finest ingredients and care.
I would however like the chance to rectify this mishap and as you have stated you have been loyal customers for a few years and we take our customer feedback very seriously, if you would like to come in and see me and discuss this personally im sure we can come to some satisfactory conclusion. Kind regards M Ainsworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Food & Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Been here a few times with friends always lovely food polite and staff. Would recommend both resturant and takeout.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamboneLlandudno, Manager at The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for writing your review. It is always encouraging to receive customer feedback. Look forward to seeing you back at The Hambone.
Martin Ainsworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

a lovely, clean cafe with great choices and good service, staff were pleasent and the choice of menu was excelent, everyone working there was a pleasure to talk to

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamboneLlandudno, Manager at The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
What lovely comments, thank you so much for your review. We are very proud of our team here. We are in the process of updating our menu and hope to have it up and running in March with many new dishes available, we also have our daily special menu which changes daily. Hope to see you back soon. Best wishes Martin Ainsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hambone Food Hall and Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.