We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Tudno Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added St. Tudno Hotel to your Saves list
St. Tudno Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Parade | Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

this hotel is absolutely lovely. it was all chance that we came to stay in this hotel as Stenaline had reccommended we stay in the st. george's hotel which is very near. we had booked it but when we got there and given our room we were not impressed. it was not nice at all and the receptionist helped us to find another hotel. the st. tudno hotel is lovely. the owner and staff knew our situation and were extremely helpful and pleasant. the toilets were lovely and clean. the rooms were lovely and the atmosphere in the hotel was very relaxing. they have a beautiful lounge and it was all very, very nice. i would reccommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    34
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
55
111
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
north wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

beautiful hotel, staff very very helpful, the rooms could be better for the high prices,bed could be better and the pillows in our sea view room were flat.saying that no doubt if we complained it would of been sorted out, the restaurant is first class from the food to the service. if you want first class service and food with above average rooms this is the place to stay

  • Liked — clean and tidy
  • Disliked — beds and pillows
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

Sorry, but we have to agree with those other reviews that found the hotel to be at best tired, if not down right disappointing. It is good food for an hotel of this size and standard, but the accommodation and rooms fall well short of the prices charged.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and feel that the cost of the room did not give value for money. The food on the whole however was worth travelling for. We had a front facing room on the third floor and although the view was picturesque, many other similiar properties offered the same view without the hefty cost of £125 per person per night. The room was adequate but dated and certainly not worth the charge. This rate did include dinner, but I would advise staying in better value accommodation and using the St Tudno as a restaurant.
The dinners were memorable and showed skill and ingenuity in the kitchen. One word of caution. My husband had a disappointingly tough fillet of beef (£5 surcharge) and when the plate was cleared we said as much to the waiter. It was also obvious that 80% of the fillet was still uneaten on the plate. We were surprised that no comment came back from the kitchen at all.
That said, the rest of our courses over the two nights were excellent and we would certainly eat there again if we were in the vicinity.
There was also a problem finding parking as the hotel does not have enough places for guests, and we had to tour the town and park half a mile away.

  • Liked — The view and the
  • Disliked — Cramped and dated attic room with small dated television
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

The St. Tudno positions itself as one of the better-class Llandudno hotels, and dazzles with an array of awards, so having set itself up,
I sincerely regret that I must knock it down a wee bit.

Having paid top whack - £95 ($190) - per night for bed and breakfast,
I was disappointed that my side-view room faced another hotel's corridor, and did not afford the seascapes that must be magnificent from the front rooms. My room was gloomy, not so big, but perfectly comfortable.

The complimentary pint of milk left in the mini bar was a nice touch,
and the only item missing which might reasonably been expected in a hotel of this class was a trouser press. Having seen that a Kit Kat in the mini bar was £1.50 ($3), I was disinclined to avail myself of the small bottle of champagne left in the room in case I exceeded my credit card limit!

The guests' lounges at the front of the hotel are very comfortable and beautifully decorated: just the sort of place to sit and watch the world go by, and the hotel also has a small swimming pool, which is a rarity here.

Breakfast, unfortunately, was a disappointment. I have a hunch I could have walked in to any of the small guest houses nearby and had the same, if not better. And, of course, for a fraction of the price.

The white toast was thin-sliced mass-produced bread, the marmalade looked and tasted ordinary, the bowl of corn flakes on the first morning was on the small size, and the porridge the next was so hot that the first spoonful almost scalded the roof of my mouth.

Having said all that, I can see that the St. Tudno could be the perfect place for a short break, particularly for couples. But insist
on a front room - particularly if you are paying full price - and hope that the breakfasts take on a more personal touch in the meantime: quality breads and marmalade would make a big difference for little extra outlay by the hotel.

  • Liked — The public rooms
  • Disliked — Not value for money
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the St Tudno on the seafront at Llandudno for our wedding anniversary. We had a small room high up (beyond the reach of the lift) at the back of the hotel which had a four poster and no room for anything else. The staff admitted it had air conditioning because it got so hot! The restaurant provides very good food at high price and is successful despite its location in a viewless back yard extension to the hotel. Some friends who stayed in one of the first floor suites at the front of the hotel said they were much better but wickedly expensive. This sort of "boutique" hotel is obviously popular with many people but I would reccommend staying somewhere chaeper and just eating at the St Tudno.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2005

This is one of the most enjoyable hotel stays I have ever had - the hotel, although not cheap, gives high quality and excellent service. Rooms are comfortable and staff friendly. We take our elderly mother who enjoys the sea views from the front suites. Highly recommend for a luxury break.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Tudno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Tudno Hotel

Address: North Parade | Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#20 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#21 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Tudno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St. Tudno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Tudno Hotel Llandudno, Wales
St Tudno Llandudno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Tudno Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.