We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and charge for tap water” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Culture

Cafe Culture
79 Mostyn Street, Llandudno LL30 2NN, Wales
01492 868 222
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 138 Restaurants in Llandudno
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Expensive and charge for tap water”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went here and the cafe looks nice and pleasant so even though the prices were quite expensive we thought it would be nice to stay. Having queued up for food and ordered lunch for 4 which cost £27 we were told there was a service charge of £1.50 for tap water. The water was only for a 3 and a 5 year old and I think it is disgusting that they won't give this out for free when you are buying food. Added to this they don't take cards and tell you to go across the roaD to the cash point. With the prices they cahrge they should take cards or have very clear notices saying so.
Overpriced and a short sighted management. If they had just given a glass of tap water I never would have thought to write on here but I think people should be warned.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    15
    17
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Staff attitude/ no prices on confectionary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We a group of 4 adults went for coffee & cake in Aug 12.
2 of the 4 coffees were cold!
When I was ordering at the counter I asked for 2 coffees & 2 vanilla slices which after all isn't anything really special, when I was asked for £9 I asked how much the vanillas were and was told abruptly £2 each!
Now if they were larger than the normal bog standard one's then I could understand the expensive rate. But they weren't!
When I told the lady that I didn't want them she wasn't very happy & if looks could kill!!
I hadn't touched the slices she did so I didn't see a problem.
It's time that coffee shops displayed the costs of their goods & let the Customer decided before they place an order.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“get what you pay for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

i have visited many cafes in Llandudno over the years (and lets face it there's no shortage!), but this one stands out from the crowd.
Mainly i rate this cafe for consistency, i never get a bad meal/drink etc.
The staff are helpful
The place is clean.
Ok the prices are slightly expensive, but lets face it there's a greasy spoon by the coach park or train station, THIS IS A PRIME LOCATION WHERE I KNOW THE RENTS/RATES ARE EXTORTIONATE! so if you want cheap its greasy spoon i'm afraid! Just compare it with the highly successful Nero across the way, they ARE expensive!
Coffees are delicious, fish and chips freshly cooked and all other food i have tried is very acceptable.
location is the key for me here as i cannot think of a better place to people watch!
they even have rides, and ice cream stalls for the kids!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“superb to sit and people watch on a wet Saturday in LLandudno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

excellent service.
Loved the position of the coffee shop.
Staff all clean dressed the same in uniform.
Great place to pop in for coffee.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“ABOVE AVERAGE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

very popular with tourists & locals. Sited on a corner with indoor & outdoor seating.
Reasonable service & quaility

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Culture also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to Cafe Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Culture, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.