We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews are correct, it really is that good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chilterns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chilterns to your Saves list
Chilterns
19 Deganwy Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2YB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 150 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The reviews are correct, it really is that good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A great little find thanks to this website. Pat and Stuart are exemplary hosts and nothing is too much trouble.

Although I booked fairly late and only the 'standard' room was available it was far from standard. The whole hotel is beautifully decorated with really good examples of local artwork and photography which makes this hotel stand out from the others in the area.

The room was a good size even for an extra-large person like me. The food was superb and even offered fresh smoked salmon for breakfast. You really can't ask for anymore and all for a lower room rate than most premier inn style hotels.

We are already planning a return trip for next month.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
70
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Excellant venue, close to the town and all it has to offer. Pat and Stuart are welcoming, helpful and provide an excellant place to stay. House is immaculate with lots of attention to detail, as are the welcoming and nice touches in the rooms. Breakfast choices are varied and excellantly prepared, cooked and presented. Nothing is too much trouble and they have helpful suggestions as to places to visit and places to eat.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue be aware there are no ground floor rooms, so ensure you have a room on the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Very warm welcome when you arrive, if you require a relaxing break chilterns is the best the atmosphere is warm friendly homely.
Both Stuart and Pat are Lovely people you arrive stranger you definitely leave best of friends.
From the standards of the rooms to the all freshly cooked breakfasts everything is to a high standard.
A++++++++++++
Would definitely book again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very clean, comfortable and well-run guesthouse. Pat and Stuart are very friendly, looking after guests with care and attention to detail. Food was very well prepared and presented; the whole house carefully decorated and well maintained. We would definitely recommend Chilterns to friends and would stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We only live 25 miles away from Llandudno, but decided to have an overnight stay following a night out at the nearby Venue Cymru. The Chilterns is in a great location with all ameneties within easy walking distance. There is room for four cars to park on the paved driveway in front of the hotel and we were immediately greeted by Stuart who was chatty and welcoming. We had room No 4 which was on the second floor at the back of the building. Throughout the B&B the attention given to health and safety was obvious. Everywhere was well decorated and spotlessly clean. The tea/coffee tray in the room was well stocked and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast is served between 8.15 and 9.00 am and cooked to order. The only negative aspect is that the bathroom is extremely small and narrow and the shower not as powerful as we would have liked. That said though it was a good overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We where looking for an overnight stay in LLandudno and found this on-line,we wanted somewhere central, relatively inexpensive nearby to Pubs/Restaurants etc, well 5 minutes walk
to the main street of the town, local places to eat and drink nearby, the hosts Pat & Stuart are two of the most friendly people we've ever met the Guest house is tasefully decorated to a high standard, warm and very comfortable and the breakfast excellent we would highly recommend
and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from a 1 night stay at the Chilterns, you cant fault the welcome Stuart straight from the off made us feel really welcome even offering to wash out our the little plastic bowls we used to eat our dinner out off, its the little things that make you feel really at home nothing was too much trouble.

The room was not massive but easily big enough for 2 with a very nice arrangement of tea, coffee and hot chocolate, the shower and toilet in our room (No.1) is a little on the small side but once again stocked with all the little nick nacks you need and spotless. The only real complaint if its worth complaining about is the sound of running/flushing water from the room above, i presume the bathrooms have been added to the rooms later and the plumbing must run between the floor boards, It didn't bother the wife but i found it a little weird.

We had a very relaxing evening the bed was very comfortable and the location is very quiet away from all the possible noise from the local pubs and restaurants.

Breakfast was fantastic, a nice selection of cereals / fruits / yogurts for starters and a choice of cooked breakfasts from beans on toast to the full english all served with a smile from pat again couldn't do enough to help out without being in the way whilst we ate, i hate it when people are buzzing around looking to take plates just as you put in the last mouthful, non of that here i am glad to say.

All in all if we get the chance to head back to Llandudno without the kids in tow i am sure we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: A room at the top i would imagine would not have the water noise we experienced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chilterns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilterns

Address: 19 Deganwy Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2YB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chilterns Guest House is run by wildlife artist Stuart and his wife Pat. Tastefully refurbished to provide modern comforts it has 4 en-suite double rooms with king size beds, a twin en-suite room and a single room with private facilities. All have high quality bedding, branded LCD TVs with DVD player, Ipod Docking alarm clocks, (DVD & Book library available), hairdryers, corkscrew/ bottle opener/ glassware, individual complimentary toiletries, tissues and a well stocked beverage tray with biscuits and free bottled Welsh mineral water. We use Fairtrade products whenever possible. Free Wi-Fi available in all rooms. Breakfast is normally served from 8:15-9.00 am in the light, airy and contemporary ground floor dining room (earlier breakfasts available on request). Vegetarian and other dietary requests are catered for. Chilterns is close to Llandudno's many attractions, only 5 minutes to the promenade and even nearer to the restaurants, bars and shopping areas of Llandudno, yet is located in a wide, quiet avenue. We have private parking for up to 5 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chilterns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilterns Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilterns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.