We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryn Derwen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bryn Derwen to your Saves list
Bryn Derwen
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Abbey Road | Llandudno Conwy, Llandudno LL30 2EE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 153 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“High quality friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in September whilst looking for a home in Llandudno. We were warmly welcomed by Debbie and offered tea and biscuits in the most attractive garden in the glorious sunshine. Steve joined us for a time and was a mine of valuable information. The room we had was spotlessly clean and had hospitality tray with really nice biscuits, tea, coffee, chocolate and mineral water. My husband said the cooked breakfast was the best he had ever tasted, and we have eaten all over the world, so that is a real compliment!

I am very fussy and can say that this hotel met my exacting standards in terms of cleanliness, quality of accommodation and food and likeability and efficiency of the owners, Debbie and Steve. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and high quality furniture and fittings
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — car park round the back
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
64
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

Lovely place highly recomended great service and lovely food.

  • Liked — cleanliness, service and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for parking
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2006

First visited the Hotel in 2005 and have used it on two more occasions since. It is a well maintained hotel with a very friendly manager and manageress. You are made to feel very welcome, which is a great start to any holiday. Situated centrally to both West and East beach and is in walking distance to the center of town. Will definately use it again.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2006

The accomodations were spectacular. The hotel is immaculate and the hosts, Steve and Debbie were wonderful. We chose this hotel out of the blue and it was a perfect choice. It is also close to the waterfront and all of the restaurants and attractions in the city. We hope to be back. Recommended highly.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

In April 2006 we enjoyed a memorable holiday in North Wales and stayed at the Bryn Derwen, a family-run hotel in Llandudno, Conwy. Debbie and Steve take excellent care of their guests and Steve prepares a delicious breakfast. At the Bryn Derwen you can enjoy the luxury and comfort of a bigger hotel as well as the care and attention you would expect to receive in a B&B. The hotel has a nice, warm and welcoming atmosphere and it feels like a home away from home. The superior room we stayed in was spacious and had a lovely view on the front garden. They have done a great job in refurbishing the hotel to a high standard and the interior is very pleasing to the eye. If you want to explore North Wales then the Bryn Derwen offers an ideal base to travel from. In six days we visited many romantic castles (like Conwy, Caernarfon, Harlech) and were able to enjoy Snowdonia and its many charming villages (like Beddgelert and Betws-y-Coed). Take it from us: a stay at the Bryn Derwen will make your holiday a truly memorable one because Debbie and Steve do their best to make you feel right at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dukinfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

The Bryn Derwen is part of the modern movement in this country of making a stand against the traditional cold B&B offereings of old. Steve & Debbie manage to provide a classy, comfortable and yet modern hotel in charming edwardian surroundings. The hotel is beautifully renovated and the beds and furniture are in keeping with hotels of much higher gradings (and tarrifs).

We didn't try dinning in the evening but if the same care and attention goes into the evening fayre as goes into the breakfasts it should be well worth trying. We stayed here the week before and returned, with two other guests to show them just how good the place is.
(Ask for the cheese omelette for breakfast and you'll taste the best in North wales).

We'll be back this summer.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

We have just returned from our 5th visit to the Bryn Derwen. Once again we have experienced a warm welcome from the owners. I especially look forward to the beautifully presented breakfasts prepared by Steve - how the food on the plate looks so clean I'll never know!! Option is available for evening meal also (extra cost) again beautifully presented gourmet food - courtesy of Debbie.

Building is Victorian in structure, but this does not mean cold, draughty, run down accommodation, quite the reverse. Tea & coffee provided in your room - nice touch with the complimentary chocolate.

Good position, away from the sea front, but near enough to take stroll either to the West Shore or into town - no need to take the car.

The building oozes charm and elegance, it also boasts an impressive pine staircare.

A truly wonderful experience - we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryn Derwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Derwen

Address: 34 Abbey Road | Llandudno Conwy, Llandudno LL30 2EE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Derwen 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a holiday home for a wealthy Victorian family in 1878 and sympathetically converted to retain all of the original character, every detail of the Bryn Derwen has been created to offer a relaxed and intimate atmosphere.An ornate pitch pine staircase leads to nine individually designed, spacious en suite bedrooms with all the facilities you would expect from a 5 Star Bed & Breakfast.You will find us on Abbey Road a quiet leafy tree lined avenue ideally situated on level ground at the foot of the Great Orme."Steve and Debbie have a well earned reputation for offering a friendly first class service with excellent standards of hospitality and pristine housekeeping which is why so many of their guests return year after year." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bryn Derwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Derwen Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryn Derwen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.