We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. George's Hotel to your Saves list
St. George's Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I booked this hotel as a present and weekend get-away for my parents and firstly i will say that the service given by Jorden when booking was excellent; polite, efficient and humorous with it all of which I consider to be the mark of professional. my parents were delighted with their stay commenting on a fabulous room and food which was "out of this world". Thanks to the staff for making the "rents" extremely happy which also makes me extremely happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are so pleased that it was such a special stay for your parents. Your kind treat, as you say makes it equally special for you.
Jordan is a valuable member of the team who will be thrilled to be mentioned.
So finally please send our best wishes to your parents and hope they and you will have the opportunity of returning to Llandudno and St George's.
kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    227
    71
    30
    25
See reviews for
176
410
24
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Good location on the prom. Sea view room was dated but clean. Had to ask for extra pillows, light bulbs to be replaced and shower to be unblocked. These things were done immediately but should have been checked previously. Breakfast and dinner acceptable. Amazing staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Absolutely the team do make St George's, and we so appreciate you saying it.
Our rooms were fully refurbished only 6 years ago and been well maintained since, though do note the 'blip' and am pleased it was remedied so quickly.
We do hope we will be welcoming you back soon to St George's.
With all our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed mid April and had booked a standard room. It overlooked the back of the hotel, but there again with so much to do and see, we only changed and slept in the room. We took luncheon in the conservatory style bar, with views across the bay - fantastic options on a varied menu. The staff were attentive, the room was clean with a large bathroom and easily accessable for disabled access due to the adequate lift and ramp access. The car parking was an issue, however the staff on reception looked after our car keys and by the end of day 2 we had a space in the car park. Breakfast was a buffet style, but served by attentive staff, and many thanks to the Duty Manager (Paul? sorry I forget) who did sort out the small issue we had with speed and grace. Next time we will book a room with a view, for when the sun shone, it is a breathtaking scenic bay.

Room Tip: Think it would be good advice to request a sea view, and /or a superior room but as we weren't i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing and your many kind words which is so pleasing to read and to know that you will be returning, when as you say to make the most of the fantastic views of Llandudno Bay from St George's.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmilns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch here....Red carpet as you entered hotel, decor lovely,toilets spotless....we were having a light lunch which consisted of 2 rounds of sandwiches ...2 large wines ...pint of beer coffee and scone...and would say we got good value for money ...the waitress who served us who I reckon was polish very helpful ...we spent a hour in the hotel which was more than welcoming after a cold walk along the promenade.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
So good to read that we made such a good first impression and thank you for your kind words.
We can only hope the next time you visit you may even stay longer.
All best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I visited this hotel with my husband and it lived up to its expectations and more!

The Room was great, we had booked a Kingsize room and so expected a decent sized room but when we opened the door we were the 3rd floor up on the corner so we had 2 views and could look out to the sea - the sea breeze was amazing but secure windows gave you the choice!

There was a large screen plasma TV, DVD player, Sofa and coffee table and a lovely sized bathroom and the bed ...I think Emperor size was very comfortable but you could get lost in it!

The staff were very friendly and busy, they had a wedding on when we were there on the Saturday and another function in another room in the evening but all seemed well organised and the staff were happy to help other guests with suggestions/ recommendations and general knowledge.

Breakfast was delicious, great array of fruit, yogurts, pastries, good quality cooked breakfasts and selection of choice...lots of egg options too!

Room Tip: corner of hotel room (road/ main entrance on one side and sea on the other) Several floors so should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such nice comments which all the team do appreciate and give so much encouragement.
We can only hope we shall be welcoming you back soon to St George's and another memorable visit.
All our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights.The hotel is an imposing building with a sea-front location towards the 'pier end' of the bay.
Only a standard room was available so I suppose I shouldn't have been surprised at the view of the rear car park from our bedroom window! However the room was comfortable enough (although the bed was a bit short) and the ensuite bathroom was spacious. There was a destinct lack of storage space for clothing in the room.
The hotel's public rooms were just about 4* standard but with very slightly jaded decoration in some areas. We ate at the hotel's restaurant on one evening and found the food and wine to be pretty good without any of it being exceptional.
The service in the bar was slow and the drink prices on the high side.
Service at breakfast was very slow and from mostly disinterested staff members. The standard of the breakfast food and drinks was prettty good with a reasonable selection.
I found that many of the service staff seemed to have a poor understanding of the English language.
Not only was I surprised to have to pay for our stay' up-front' when checking in, but disappointed that when checking-out and paying for extras, that a couple of small unknown extras seemed to have been included.
A bit of fine tuning could make this hotel very good instead of just quite good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Could be better..well we shall always try to be.
Just on one point allow me to explain in that there was no payment taken on check in. We simply request, as standard practice to pre-authorize your payment card and this enables you to charge extras to your room account. As for any 'unknown extras' please contact me directly so I may investigate this further.
All the team are warm and friendly and I am unaware of any of our team serving our guests who have a poor understanding of English, and the vast number of reviews express what a marvelous team they are.
We do regret any aspects that detracted from your enjoyment however hope there will be an opportunity to welcome you back to St George's and an enjoyable stay.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice position and very friendly and helpful staff, mostly from Lancashire I think.
The room we had was a bit bijoux but had two three foot beds which were very comfortable.
Excellent newly refurbed bathroom.
Welsh breakfast indistinguishable from English but very good with decent coffee.
Only downsides were creaky floorboards, the door to the corridor fitted very approximately, problematical parking (although the staff seemed to cope well when double parking was necessary) and a four man lift.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms even smaller and with four foot six double beds we were told, no good for large Mr So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for this review but my my, it's put the cat amongst the seagulls, I must say. !!
Your review title I presume comes from our name St George's, however we are proud of our Welsh history which we display in the foyer for the benefit of our guests to understand the small part St George's played in the making of this beautiful part of Wales over the last 160 years.
As to our team it is a wonderful eclectic mix but what is important, is your conclusion that our team are a very friendly and helpful bunch.
Our breakfast is a Welsh breakfast we wouldn't, and couldn't call it anything else, with local sausages, bacon and eggs, with local jams and honeys. Thank you for saying how good it was, probably because it was local...
Regarding your Room Tip: Sea view rooms are sold as Standard or Premier, similar to our Side and Town views. The best Room Tip: Is to contact our Reservation Team who allocates your room to ensure you have the room you want.
We hope we will again have the opportunity of offering you a warm Welsh Welcome when next visiting Wales, Llandudno and St George's.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#16 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury. St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.