We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. George's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St. George's Hotel to your Saves list
St. George's Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Arrive and Revive Offer
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Antrim, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic hotel highly recommended however they need to put a bit more into food for the Groups that stay 2 small potatoes 1 piece of meat cut very thin and 2 veg for a main is not quite enough Overall the Hotel and staff are fantastic

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for 'highly recommending us and how 'fantastic' you think the team are.
We do note your point on food portions and even though it is 8 to 9 months since you stayed, do please contact me directly so I may understand the circumstances surrounding the matter.
We believe we provide value for money and regret in anyway this may have detracted from what seems an excellent stay and more importantly one you wish to repeat.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    206
    69
    30
    25
See reviews for
161
367
21
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed with my husband a few times, on conferences. We have always had a good stay & I like the oldy worldy charm of the place. The breakfasts are wonderful, as is the afternoon tea and the staff very keen to be helpful. I always look forward to returning & the location is superb! Vegetarians are well catered for and I look forward to going back..can't wait.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing and it is good to know you will be looking forward to returning to St George's and we will be here with a warm welcome and am sure another enjoyable stay.
Best wishes from all at St George's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I reacently took my parents who were celibrating their 6oth wedding anniversary to this hotel. The staff were superb and ensured that my parents and their guests had a wonderful time. The weather precluded a trip out, but there was a comfortable atmosphere in the hotel. On the Saturday dinner was fantastic. We were treated to a private dining room and even though the staff were at full strech due to other functions and a full resturant they ensured that the celibrations went smoothly. The exterior of the hotel was undergoing a major referbishment and you could see the difference and when compleated will look amazing. I would encourage any one to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Firstly our sincere congratulations to your mum and dad on their diamond wedding anniversary.
All the team were delighted to see you back and celebrating such a special occasion.
Thank you again for your kind comments all the team do appreciate your words, and would agree how wonderful the appearance of St. George's is following the refurbishment.
Hope to see you back soon.
All our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have had the greatest pleasure of celebrating a family wedding at the St George's Hotel & my goodness, the Hotel did the Wedding party very proud. A perfect day was enjoyed by all who attended.
With the recent newly decorated exterior we walked up the red carpeted steps into the Victorian Reception area adorned with large chandeliers.

The party enjoyed chilled champagne & mouthwatering canapes in the Terrace lounge area, overlooking the stunning panoramic coastal views of LLanduno with the Great Orme in the background.
The Wedgewood Suite, where the wedding venue took place has a real "wow factor", with a Wedgewood decorated ceiling, & large chandeliers. All of the wedding tables were beautifully decorated & the top table was absolutely stunning, vibrant & sophisticated.
We later celebrated the evening venue in the Menai suite with a hot buffet & disco.

The Hotel rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean & very comfortable. Bath robes are supplied during the stay, also complimentary bottles of St George's Hotel water.
We also enjoyed a delicious breakfast plenty of variety, from hot buffet to Continental, enough to keep even fussy eaters happy......
The Hotel Staff were very friendly & attentitive, a credit to the Hotel.

All in all, the St George's Hotel really delivered we had a lovely stay & Thank you to all who gave The Bride & Groom a very special day to remember, we certanly won't forget it.

This Hotel is the absolute "pride of LLandudno", "The Welsh Riviera", "The Queen of the resorts". A visit to this Hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Hotel would advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
A wonderful review...thank you, however firstly our very best wishes and congratulations to the Bride and Groom. A lovely family and a lovely day, we are just so pleased all the planning and preparation culminated in a day to remember, for you all.
Have to say the Wedgwood Room did look spectacular, a real credit to you all.
As to our team who delivered such a day, well done and your friendly yet attentive service has created such wonderful memories.
Best Wishes from all at St George's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

3 couples stayed on March 19 & 20, 2013 having thought from a previous visit for afternoon tea that it seemed a bit tired and old-fashioned. What a great surprise, we couldn't have been more wrong. Fine Dining in the restaurant in the evening, big rooms with large beds (ours were 6' wide) very clean and fresh rooms with good looking furniture.
Great breakfasts, not just the ordinary help-yourself buffet jamboree, but someone serving the hot food from a trolley and many non-buffet options on the menu.
Can't wait to stay there again, there is so much to do in the area, but even better when you are coming back to such a great experience.
The scaffolding was coming down while we were there and they have done a superb refurbishment of the outside in nice, subtle colours.

Room Tip: 305 was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Such lovely words and so encouraging for all the team to read them, so thank you it is appreciated.
Brought a smile to my face, on reading how we surprised you and you all found the stay such a great experience.
St George's is so well located and as you say there is so much to do in the area. So it is wonderful to know you will be back and we will be waiting with a warm welcome and another enjoyable stay.
All our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked a last minute one night stay, dinner bed and breakfast after reading reviews and checking hotel website. On arrival we managed to park the car at rear of the hotel, check in was swift and staff very helpful and friendly. Room 320 was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and even had a sea view.

When it was time for dinner we went for a pre dinner drink at the hotel bar, staff again very helpful and friendly,We were given the menu to choose from and that is when we felt slightly disappointed, as this menu did not compare to the sample menu shown on the hotel website. Choice of main course was 3 roasts, turkey, beef or lamb which presumably were the same choices available on the Sunday Lunch menu, 2 fish dishes and one vegetarian option.

My husband and I were really looking forward to an award winning dining experience but unfortunately i cannot say this is what we experienced. There was nothing wrong with the food served but we can have a sunday roast anywhere.

Breakfast was excellent served in the impressive wedgewood room.

I would definitely visit the St George again but probably just on a bed and breakfast basis

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
A lovely review thank you for your kind words. You stayed with us on Easter Sunday and regrettable Easter Day along with Mother's Day, Christmas and New Year we operate with a more streamlined menu and this should have been made clear on our website. The reason is simply due to service demands on these days. All other times of the year we operate with our full award winning menu. You kindly have said you will return, so please do mention this with our Reservation Team who will make the note and I can assure you all the team will be wanting you to experience the best of St George's.
All our very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I have visited the St George's Hotel many times and most recently in December and Easter weekend. I noticed that in December the appearance of the exterior looked tired and decayed, the hotel was in need of some maintenance. Upon my recent Easter weekend visit to the St George's Hotel, I must say I was pleasantly surprised that there was work underway, to spruce up the exterior. Although there was scaffolding erect on parts of the building, the maintenance work has made such a difference! The building looks brand new and fresh like the sea! I will most certainly be returning for another visit in the near future and I am excited to see the finished result upon my future arrival : )

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgesLlandudno, Manager at St. George's Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for placing a review, I must say the main topic of conversation with our guests new and returning is the huge improvement in the appearance of St. George's.
We are so pleased to read you will be returning soon and look forward to welcoming you back to the completed and new look St. George's.
All best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. George's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George's Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#7 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#9 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. George's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Llandudno and all that the North Wales Coast has to offer in stylish sophistication and contemporary luxury. St Georges Hotel, cleverly combines traditional Victorian elegance and its stunning setting with the comfort of a luxurious 4 star Hotel. Every detail of the hotel is designed to offer a relaxed, intimate atmosphere, calm moods and a fresh, professional approach to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. George's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Llandudno
St Georges Hotel Llandudno
St George Hotel Llandudno
St. George's Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.