We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Value Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay County Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay County Hotel
Save
You added Bay County Hotel to your Saves list
The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM JUST £83
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Bury St Edmunds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Real Value Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Ok so it may need a coat of paint and some new furnishings, but most of our homes would get a similar comment if we had visitors. From the time we arrived we had a warm welcome. The room was a good size which was ideal as my wife is disabled. The food was great, hot, plentiful and good variety. The position is ideal right on the seafront but just out of town. Probably the only adverse comment is the disabled entrance is at the rear loading bay and with a disabled scooter it needed to be left near there as the lift was not large enough to hold it. But let's me realistic. How much time do you actually spend in the hotel when you are on a Shearing Coach Break, then looking around the area. When we were in all the staff were helpful and efficient and the entertainment in the evening was good. Would we go back again. MOST CERTAINLY.

Room Tip: The sea views would be good so ask. We had a rear room as we needed a larger room. We found room req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Vanguard917
Thank you for your review I am always very proud to read how helpful and efficient the staff are at the County Hotel. I love readings realistic reviews and you are more than welcome to come again.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    197
    67
    24
    14
See reviews for
58
213
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

we stayed at this hotel from the 13th of jan to the 17th with national holidays the room was good the only exception being the people above us were like a herd of elephants stamping around i complained and the hotel said we could change rooms but only staying for a few days we stayed put,the food was excellent the trips out where good, the price of alcohol was bit steep but it was hotel prices after all on the whole a good time was had by all.

Room Tip: dont have a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Bigbadal3
My apologies for the herd of elephants I'm made up to read that they didn't spoil your stay with us. Many thanks for your review.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Have stayed several times at the County Hotel and have always enjoyed the break.
All the staff, including Andy (Manager) are very friendly but always courteous
and extremely helpful - cannot be faulted.
The hotel itself is always clean and comfortable, no problems with either public
areas or bedrooms.
The food is very good and plenty of choice.
A very good hotel and value for money.
Will be back there again shortly.

Room Tip: We always pay a little extra for sea view room which means that if we return to hotel late afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Raymondo36
It's always nice to hear from one of our regulars espeially with such a glowing report many thanks for your excellent review we look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a nice break here for 5 days, went on a cheapy with national and had good time. Wouldn't like to think we had paid normal tariff for room though, it was spotlessly clean but bed was awful, we couldn't sleep first night for springs, reception had housekeeper put mattress topper on the following day, so they obviously have had this problem before, why not just invest in new beds??Also the bathroom was freezing, no heating in it at all and the basin was in the bedroom not the bathroom. Though saying all that it's in good position on seafront and staff are pleasant, also food was very pleasant considering what we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, we wasn't aware that we could and ended up facing back, though we could see mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Holidaylover201059
Thank you for your mixed review with lots of positive comments I am glad to read that we reacted imediately to your complaint about your bed. You are right it is always a good idea to request a sea view room should you want one. I am delighted to see that all in all you had a pleasant stay with us.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here on a 5 night break with Shearings on 16 December 2013. This is one hotel Shearings are actually looking after. Single room was small but very acceptable and nicely furnished. Lounge areas and bars all recently been upgraded and excellent. Very efficient and friendly service in dining room, and ALL staff in hotel extremely pleasant. Nightly entertainment was better than in most hotels. Only fault was they were completely redecorating the reception area which made getting around a bit tricky at times - but there again it has to be decorated at some point especially when you are open all year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Mervta
My sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by our reception refurbishment you are right it was difficult at times to get around. you must come back and see it now that it is finished I'm sure you will agree it was worth the hassle. I'm very pleased it didn't stop you enjoying your holiday.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canterbury kent
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We went on a 4 night stay at this hotel on a Shearing's coach trip which we had a great driver ,the room was quite small but comfortable it was clean the food was very good drink price's were a little expensive but the entertainment was brillant and would like to go back in the summer as there would be more thing's going on in surrounding area's.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Navigator11
I am over the moon wth your comments and would love to welcome you back here in the summer. I think the drinks may seem expensive in relation with the cost of the holiday but we have surveyed similar hotels in Llandudno and they are no cheaper. Thanks again for your super comments.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and i just returned from a 5 day break with national holidays at this shearings bay hotel.This seafront hotel is in a excellent position within easy walking distance of the town centre,There was a good choice of food available for each course on each day,well cooked and served by our super efficient waitress AGGI,nothing was too much trouble for her,and always had a smile.All the staff that we came into contact with were very pleasant.Our seaview room was clean and had everything we needed,cant comment much on the entertainment as we didnt go,but heard from other guests how good it was.We agree with some previous reviews about the bar prices,but hey ho nobody forces you buy,so take it or leave it the choice is yours,Thankyou all at the county we will be back.

Room Tip: we had a 1st floor twin,couldnt fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCountyHotel, Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many Thanks for your review Aggie and Chef seem to be enjoying a lot of very good mentions at the moment. I will have to be careful they might be approaching me for more money if this carries on. I'm so glad you enjoyed your midweek break with us.
Kind Regards
Andy Travis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay County Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.