We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
83A Church Walks, Llandudno LL30 2HD , Wales
01492 878800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 169 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Italian at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

When you arrive at this little gem, ignore the crates of empties in the corner of the front courtyard, ignore also the hideous gargoyles on the gate posts.
Enter this warm and friendly restaurant (actually a bit too warm), enjoy the warm and friendly service, and the excellent food.
A tip here, if there are 2 of you, and you fancy the bruschetta, then one portion is ample for 2 of you.
My main was tagliatelle with sausage in a tomato sauce. It was spot on. I saw risotto on another table, and pizza on a third. All looked delicious. And judging by the empty dishes after, they too were spot on.
Best of all are the prices. I had a starter, a main and a good bottle of Merlot for £25. Amazing value for the quality of the meal. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    96
    23
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Friendly staff and great food. I had probably the largest steak I've ever been served in a restaurant. The meat was cooked blue as requested and accompanying sauce and vegetables were delicious. My husband had a pasta dish, and said it was obe of the nicest he'd ever had. We tried to book in for 2 days later, but unfortunately they were full. I'm not surprised!

Friendly staff; good location; great value for money - thanks!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“First rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a fairly light dinner and had a delicious cabbage soup flavoured with ham, followed by a pizza. Both were first rate and the olive oil was of very high quality. Service was excellent as was the ambience.

I always judge a restaurant by its house wine which shows the pride a padrone takes and would suggest that if it went up a notch or two La Taverna would merit 5*.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

helped fit us in for a table for 2 at short notice. excellent menu, spoilt for choice and good portion size, very busy but they worked hard to cater for everyone and we left satisfied with everything , very reasonably priced great quality. thank you we will visit again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were staying around the corner at the Lauriston Court and Carol-Lynn recommended La Taverna. I'm so glad she did, the food was fabulous. The service was outstanding and it was good value for money. I love Italian food and can happily say that this was one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever been to.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.