We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless in all aspects...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Save Saved
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£165 (GBP)
Ranked #21 of 64 hotels in Llandudno
Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Flawless in all aspects...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

By far the best hotel in our stay in our tour of the British Isles. From rooms, to the reception service to the restaurant, you feel like a king and queen! Congratulations to the staff... you are the best!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our policy of no children in the pool early morning and from late afternoon onwards is one that our guests and members without children certainly appreciate as your comments show. Sorry you didn’t try Chantrey’s Restaurant but maybe we can tempt you in when you next return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    156
    56
    11
    10
See reviews for
114
218
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My wife and I found this hotel to be very good. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the room was very well decorated and comfortable.
The swimming pool was very nice (with a good bonus of no children in there after a certain time, which I liked) and the steam room was very good.
Breakfast was very good with attentive waiting staff who were friendly and very efficient.
We did not try the hotel restaurant but judging by the rest of the hotel I am sure it is very good.
To sum up, thoroughly recommended and stress free.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our policy of no children in the pool early morning and from late afternoon onwards is one that our guests and members without children certainly appreciate as your comments show. Sorry you didn’t try Chantrey’s Restaurant but maybe we can tempt you in when you next return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lausanne, switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

You may not like everything in this hotel (e.g. the bath room and in particular the shower) but you cannot fault it for the wine list as another guest did. The house wines include excellent bottles from all over the world at a reasonable price and if you cannot find anything you fancy, there is a large list of other wines, red-white-rosé. It is particularly pleasant to drink a glass in the verandah overlooking the bay rather than in the dining room, too dark for my liking.
This is a very pleasant hotel to which I would return. Re the bathroom, I do not like these "rainshowers" if there is not another shower next to it and I will never understand why hotel owners do not provide a soap holder. I also regreted the absence of a shaving mirror, a mixer tap and shelves above the lavabo but these are minor complaints.
The owner was right to reply vigorously to the assertion that the "wines are cheap and nasty" - the contrary is true and in my many travels to the UK I have rarely found a better list.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for your comments and we really appreciate your public praise about our wine list and that you rate it so highly, especially in light of a previous guest’s derogatory views! As you rightly state our wine list is extensive and something we pride ourselves on so we are glad that it met with your full approval. Obviously we’re sorry you’re not a fan of rainshowers as they do have enormous energy saving benefits, as much as 10 litres of water per use, which is of huge importance to us at the hotel, but we still do carry the traditional “drench heads” and would have happily changed it for the duration of your stay so please do let us know when you stay with us again. Thank you again and we hope you and your family will be able to join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We have just spent 4 enjoyable days at the Imperial Hotel. Welcome was good, room was great with a view from a balcony across the bay. Food was pleasant and we usually had our meals on the terrace overlooking the sea. Just wonderful. We hope to go again.

Room Tip: I would think sea view was essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and it maintains its place on our "must visit again" list. On this occasion, when we arrived late morning we were surprised that our sea-view room was already available. As we were settling in, a knock on the door heralded delivery of chocolates and champagne - a benefit we had overlooked when we booked the champagne option - we thought it was just the name of the package.

This is a very pleasant, friendly hotel, close to the town centre and central for a number of pleasant and picturesque walks. Food is good and the conservatory area with a view of the pier is partiicularly pleasant.

The hotel's car park is fairly small but there is parking, at a price, on the adjacent promenade.

We had a very relaxing two-night stay and will return soon.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and we’re delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you found the whole experience at the hotel great. Hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My daughter and i had a really pleasant stay at this hotel, the hotel staff were all lovely and service was always with a smile. My daughter who can be a fussy eater even though she is 25 asked for her main meal in the wonderful restaurant to be a mixture from two different menus which they graciously accepted, i was very impressed. We had a great time using the leisure facilities and once again the staff were great. The only thing that i wasn't too happy about was on check-out i was charged £6.75 for a calypso coffee which i had after my meal the previous evening. I found this very expensive has i have travelled on 5 star cruise ships and i have never been charged anything like this price before so i was to say the least gobsmacked. We will return to the Imperial again because of the service but hoping you can sort out a better price for the coffee for next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for your review and we’re really pleased you enjoyed your stay and your daughter enjoyed her meal – we’re only too happy to accommodate diners with any special requests. We appreciate your comment on our coffee charges but this will have been due to two main reasons – firstly Calypso coffee has a good slug of Tia Maria and the second is because we are a staunch supporter of Fairtrade Coffee and feel it’s a price worth paying knowing the producers are directly benefiting and hope you agree. We hope we will see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Wonderful staff - everyone seemed to have a genuine desire to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. They seemed to sense what you wanted before you'd even asked for it and their attitude was impossible to fault. The quality of the food and the wine in the Chantreys restaurant was excellent. The hot food at breakfast was always fresh and was brought to the table. Our room on the 4th floor overlooking Vaughan Street was quiet and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Slippers and bath robes were provided too. The hotel has everything close at hand: The beach and promenade are across the road, and it's a few minutes walk to the shops, the railway station and the Venue Cymru.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments to the staff. We hope to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#12 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#20 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its impressive Victorian facade, refined decor and professional team, the Imperial is the perfect venue for both business and leisure alike. Enjoy dinner in our elegant award-winning Restaurant offering mouth-watering dishes using only the freshest local produce and complemented by an extensive wine list. Lunches and light refreshments are served on our charming Terrace overlooking the promenade. Resident guests have full use of our health and fitness centre Mint Condition during their stay. Weddings and Conferences are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.