We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rose Tor worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Tor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rose Tor Hotel to your Saves list
Rose Tor Hotel
120-124 Mostyn Street, Llandudno LL30 2SW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Rose Tor worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

Stayed at this hotel on the May weekend of the 5th and 6th 2007.

As we went to our room it looked like the door had been kicked in by the police at some point as it was all smashed and damaged around the
frame by the door lock. The bed sheets were stained and one even had a hole in it. The wall paper was hanging from the wall in one room and the window frame was so rotten that when the wind was blowing at night time my daughter was covered in bits of "black" from the rotten
frame. There was no shower, not even a shower head only a bath and the radiator looked like it had been salvaged from the titanic as it was that rusty and dirty.

The carpet in the bathroom was missing around the edges and torn and at 7.30 in the morning there was not a drop of hot water to be had in any room.

The tv was circa 1972 and had to be tuned in manually and in general the place wanted condeming.

Unfortunateley we could not book any where else as the whole resort was full so we spent as little time as poss in this "Hotel".

As we checked out we lodged a complaint and the management agreed with us and then told us other defects that we didn't spot!! They said they had only had it 5 months but they were still advertising and taking peoples money as is this makes it ok!

There made no apology nor any offer of a discount.

DO NOT stay here you will be better of in a social security hostel.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseTor, Owner at Rose Tor Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2007
We are sorry that BlackStormtrooper did not enjoy their stay as much as we would have hoped. This room has since been upgraded and decorated with all issued raised addressed. Kind regards - the Rose Tor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    6
    4
    11
See reviews for
6
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancs
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

We stayed in room 25 on the top floor, up many winding steep steps. You have to lean to the side to avoid the ceiling whilst negotiating the last turn with your hands full of luggage.

I'm only about 5ft 9" and still banged my head!

We paid extra for a "superior room".This availed us a shower AND bath.(actually shower IN bath) The shower being useless, like standing under a tap and not being able to alter the temperature.

The room is small, the wardrobe not big enough to fit clothes for a four night stay.

Ventilation was poor with 2 x 6" opening windows.

I think it had a a flat roof as we could hear what sounded like seagulls up and down.

We were offered this room through a web site at £70.00 ppn. We booked 4 nights @ £50ppn direct and stayed 1.

Maybe this is the worst room in the hotel? We certainly won't return!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseTor, Owner at Rose Tor Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2007
Although before our time, we would like to point out that this room has since been upgraded and redecorated and all these issues dealt with. Kind regards - the Rose Tor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

We stayed in the de luxe bedroom with the four poster bed. The room was very clean and well presented. There was a good choice of breakfast from full english to kipper!. Bar was well stocked and the staff were very friendly. Will certainly go again.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2005

Real Value hotel with central location. Booked over this site and very pleased all-round. Rooms while having a "chintzy" decor, were very clean and comfortable. Staff, pleasant and welcoming, and a nice relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast was well cooked and generous. We would happily recommend the "Rose Tor" to all, and will stay again on-route to Angelsey Racing Circuit.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

me and my husband stayed at the rose tor in may for a short weekend.
the room was of genorous size very clean and well pressented, the breakfast was excellent (cooked to perfection). we will most definatly be returning to llandudno as well as the rose tor

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

clean room, good breakfast, happy staff, nice bed,
what more can you expect for £40 for 2 people

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2005

My partner and I booked into the last remaining room, the Four Poster Deluxe expecting something slightly special. on return from a meal out, the residents bar had shut 45 minutes early, after being assured it would be open. At 3am we were woken by one side of the four poster collapsing! Our breakfast was cold and greasy. Upon checking out we told of the afore mentioned complaints only to be told "the bed sometimes does that" We won't be returning!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Tor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Tor Hotel

Address: 120-124 Mostyn Street, Llandudno LL30 2SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rose Tor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Tor Llandudno
Hotel Rose Tor
Rose Tor Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Tor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.