We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lodge

Alpine Lodge
Llandudno Ski Centre | Great Orme, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
01492 874707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 167 Restaurants in Llandudno
Cuisines: Bar, Café
Restaurant details
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visit Llandudno often and came for Christmas 2012. The first place we always go to when we arrive in Llandudno is the Alpine Lodge at the Ski Slope. There are great view of the bay and The Orme and they serve the best hot chocolates around!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice food, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I actually like the Alpine Lodge. Yes it is grotty on the inside but the food is very good value for money. The menu is a bit basic but everything I'd tried has been tasty enough. The views are the main selling point though and make it worth the effort. Don't be put off by the indifferent reviews, give it a try and make your own mind up, just don't go on a foggy day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“In need of some TLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Alpine Lodge is to be found at the Llandudno Ski Slope on the lower slopes of the Great Orme. I think it's fair to describe it as a building in need of a major redecoration, to be honest the interior is a dump. However if you can visit on a dry, sunny day and if you're lucky enough to snag one of the outdoor tables on the balcony there's no better place in Llandudno to grab a quick snack. The views from the balcony are great, not to mention you can enjoy watching the skiers on the ski slope below trying to dodge the sheep wandering aimlessly about. The food is decent enough and reasonable value but the main reason to visit is the view. Basically it's highly recommended but only on the condition you sit outside.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful outside, grotty inside”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Visting Wales for the day and walked upto to the Alpine lodge but only to be served warm flat beer in the most grottiest, dirtiest pub ever. The table we sat at my shirt and drink stuck too, the floor was vile and the toilets made me gag. Although the view was amazing...

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandudno
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Lovely cup of coffee with fantastic views. You can also have a very reasonably priced meal

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Lodge also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.