We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Llandudno, and once eaten there you'll want to return again and again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Cookin' Restaurant

Home Cookin' Restaurant
139A Mostyn Street, Llandudno LL30 2PE, Wales
01492 876585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 138 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Accrington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Llandudno, and once eaten there you'll want to return again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I always eat at this restaurant when I return to Llandudno (every year usually), and the food is always excellent, the choice is varied for everybody's tastes, the service is always excellent. There's not much more you can say, you just have to visit this restaurant, the staff are always friendly and good value for money.. The only draw back is that the restaurant is always full, simply because everyone has heard how good the food at Home Cookin is and come back for more. 10/10 Excellent.

G Baldwin

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and fantastic Head Line of Home Cookin’ Thank you for your continued custom over the years and recommending us to others. We appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to write such a positive review. Thank you once again
Yours sincerely
Kevin Williams
Head Chef / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    158
    56
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PARIS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious but reservation recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

As we went to Home Cookin' on the spur of the moment (on the recommendation of a local shopkeeper as we trailed round Llandudno looking for somewhere to eat), we didn't have a reservation. It seems to be a very popular place and we would have had to wait for ages if an outside table hadn't come free which nobody else in the queue wanted. Once seated, everything was fine - Our waitress was charming and the food was absolutely delicious. The various mains were all really good and the cheesecake was incredible. I would certainly love to go back but would make sure I had a reservation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Home Cookin’, we are glad to see you enjoyed both your visits to our restaurant, we do recommend all customers to try and book in advance especially for an evening or weekend table, thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to Llandudno
Yours sincerely
Kevin Williams
Head Chef / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kids choose Home Cookin' over Mcdonalds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A regular of ours now,me and the wife fairly regularly. Comes to something when you take your grandkids out for lunch and instead of saying Mcdonalds they say Home Cookin', this speaks volumes.

Good value for money too, they always leave full.

Make sure you book tho, I dont know another place in the area that has queues of people waiting to get in, other than the Post Office on Giro Day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Home Cookin’ We are glad you and your family have enjoyed the fresh tasty dishes we offer. The Kids Head Line Is Great and yes we recommend to all customers to book in advance as we do have large queues at peak times. Thank you for such positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Yours sincerely
Kevin Williams
Head Chef / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Came a close second to my nan's home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Visited Home Cookin on recommendation from a friend and very very very happy we did.
Home Cooking (in a restaurant) at it's best. Delicious food and friendly staff who took an interest in where we were from and if we were enjoying our trip to Llandudno. Will most definately be visiting Home Cookin on our return to Llandudno.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted to see your enjoyed both the food and service that Home Cookin’ offers, Good honest food is what we have been providing for over 30 years now and this has helped make our restaurant so successful.
Yours sincerely
Kevin Williams
Head Chef / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, Staffs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely lamb roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Visited on Sunday night without booking . The inside was full so was shown to a outside table and was promptly served with drinks and peanuts while browsing the menu . Both of us opted for the lamb roast and paid the extra pound for larger portion. Plenty of meat, roast potatoes + fresh veg. Just like home cooking and nothing processed. Very efficient staff and we didn't have to wait long to be served. Although it was raining it was still warm and dry under the canopy in the outside area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review we are delighted to see you enjoyed your visit to Home Cookin’. The Go Large Option on our roast dinners is a new addition to our menu but is becoming very popular, as you stated everything is homemade and not processed. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to Llandudno.
Yours sincerely
Kevin Williams
Head Chef / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Cookin' Restaurant also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Home Cookin' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Cookin' Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.