We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not stunning.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Home Cookin' Restaurant

Home Cookin' Restaurant
139a Upper Mostyn Street, Llandudno LL30 2PE, Wales
1492 876585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 167 Restaurants in Llandudno
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice but not stunning.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Decided to try this place because the place was called Home Cookin which to be honest maybe built the place up and was always going to fail to live up to its name, the wife had the Lasagna and well to be honest her opinion was a little bland and a bit too over cheesey and trust me the wife eats lasagna a lot when we eat out so i trust her judgement.

I had the Mixed grill and ok yes i was happy with it all looked very nice and tasted nice too so no complains there except if i say "no mushrooms" it would be nice to have that happen, good job i am not allergic to the things.

The staff were friendly and very attentive and the prices were as expected for a restaurant in a tourist location such as llandudno.

If anyone can explain why we were offed nuts in a dish as our drinks arrived i would love to know its never happened before in a restaurant and i hope it never happens again.

Don't think we will be going back there again but it was not a bad experience just not one to make me book another table anytime soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Home Cookin’ We are sorry to see it wasn’t to your liking, but like everything to do with food it’s all down to individual opinion. Yes we offer a small bowl of nuts with your drinks just as a gesture while you wait for your meals to be cooked. Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review and thank you for visiting Home Cookin’

Yours sincerely

Kevin Williams
Head chef / manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    141
    51
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a great meal very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have been coming to this restaurant for over 10 years and always have a lovely meal, great food and really good childrens menu. The roast dinners are like you would cook at home and the staff are very friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted to hear you have used Home Cookin’ on a regular basis over the years. We appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to write such a positive review. Thank you once again
Yours sincerely
Kevin Williams
Head Chef / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a Sunday lunch here which was excellent and very good value. service was efficient and friendly and the whole place was clean and comfortable

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted to hear you to enjoyed your sunday roast at Home Cookin’. We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a positive review. Thank you once again
Yours sincerely
Kevin Williams
Head Chef / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always my first choice...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Visit after visit, we are never, ever disappointed. As locals, we always choose Home Cookin' - the customer service is excellent, the food always top quality and the price is very reasonable. Well worth a visit as there's always something for everyone :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kev518williams, Manager at Home Cookin' Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted to hear you have used Home Cookin’ on a regular basis over the years. We appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to write such a positive review. Thank you once again
Yours sincerely
Kevin Williams
Head Chef / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Llandudno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We are regular visitiors to Llandudno and we alway visit the restaurant as the food and service is excellent.

The menu offers a wide range of choices, that will meet your individual requirements. I am confident you won't be disappointed.

Definatley the BEST restaurant in Llandudno.

Going back in the next couple of weeks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Cookin' Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Home Cookin' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Cookin' Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.