We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kendrick Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Kendrick Guest House to your Saves list
The Kendrick Guest House
13 Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best rates book direct
Ranked #49 of 153 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I decided to stay an extra night in Llandudno while visiting my cousin and as I couldn`t stay in same hotel walked a few yards down to `The Kendrick` where I was welcomed in straight away and spent a very enjoyable time there. I was lucky to get a double room with a very comfortable bed and the breakfast was the best I had had while being away from home. I will definately stay there again the next time I`m in Llandudno.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    25
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
73
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We received a very warm welcome at Kendrick hotel. Lovely, clean, comfy rooms with beautiful views over Llandudno sea front. The breakfast was very good and the hotel is withing walking distance of the shops, theatre, pool and pier.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

stayed at the kendrick on the 10th and 11th august we wanted somewhere near the theatre and this was ideal the rooms were spotless and the breakfast was excellent the owners were very friendly and helpful and the staff were very nice would stay here again but would not book room 16 as this was very small

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had decided to stop in Llandudno for two nights after seeing a Groupon voucher but when discovered no rooms available decided to hunt around for a reasonably cheap one. I discovered this one after a Google search and decided to book. For two nights in room 17 (second floor) overlooking the Snowdonia National Park it was £134 for two B&B, which I thought was reasonable.
When arriving we struggled to find the car park so we parked on the road and found the car park on foot. There are three parking spaces for The Kendrick alongside three for The Grafton. They are fairly big spaces, but its quite difficult to get in to the car park itself from the road. The front of the B&B is very smart, lovely paint job and very smart garden area with a table and chairs.
We were welcomed by Sheila who was very polite and welcoming - very natural and not forced. We noticed that they are selling up as there was an advert for the B&B on the check in desk. This may give some people the impression they don't want to do it anymore, but this certainly didn't come across from the hosts. The lobby is very nicely decorated with lovely comfy sofas.
We went to our room and we were pleasantly surprised. A lovely, fairly large room with nice furniture and a good view. The bed was quite hard, but judging by the fact we both slept like logs this wasn't a problem. There was a single bed in the room too, but there was still plenty of space to move around. The en-suite is quite small, but everything worked brilliantly. The TV was a new style and was a great picture - great to watch the Olympic highlights when coming back from a busy day out. The tea and coffee facilities were great, although it would be nice to have semi-skimmed milk as a happy medium. The room was very clean and tidy. Practically no dust anywhere and it smelt fresh. You could open the window quite wide so you can get plenty of fresh air in the room.
Onto the breakfast. Both mornings it was almost faultless. The dining room overlooks the sea and we were lucky enough to get a table in the window. The selection of cereals is really good and the orange juice very nice. It would be nice to have another type of juice maybe and some other fruit, not just grapefruit. The cooked breakfast was well presented and cooked very well. It all tasted very nice apart from the bacon which was extremely salty. Sheila took the orders and she coped very well. She was polite and chatty - even speaking to us about the Grease musical the night before where she happened to notice us!
The B&B is in a good location regards being on the sea front, but is quite away from the 'main' part of Llandudno. It is about a 10 minute walk into the centre and to the pier but the walk along the promenade is lovely, and we had the weather to suit!
Overall we had a great stay. The two B's (bed and breakfast) were spot on - a real good homely B&B run by genuine people.
We were quite disappointed to leave and would love to stop again. The hosts made us feel very comfortable and nothing was too much for them. I would highly recommend this to anyone stopping in Llandudno.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the sea front, it may be a little more expensive but will be worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orrell
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just returned from staying overnight in the Kendrick. We were in a "superior double room with sea view" room 23 on first floor at a cost of £84 B+B.

Our welcome was pleasant enough (if maybe a little too business-like) from Sheila. Brian was very friendly. We paid in full on arrival as requested and went to our room. We felt it was very spacious although as previous reviewers have stated, the shower room and WC was rather 'compact and bijou' but everything worked well enough so not really a problem. The tea/coffee tray was basic with a few sachets of nescafe, sugars and little pots of uht milk which is not to our liking so we just got a pint of milk from the shop and used that instead. There was also just one sachet of Hot Choc so we had to share that, now unfortunately the teabags were just awful so we also bought our own tetleys from the shop and used those.

The TV was good although a little small but unfortunately later on when I was trying to keep up with the Olympics the picture kept cutting out due to some kind of interference but not sure what was causing it. The bed was very comfortable and we had a really good nights sleep. The sea view was wonderful. The room itself really was very nice and very clean. This B+B is quite a walk from the town centre and the main 'goings-on' in LLandudno so be prepared for around a 20-25 minute walk albeit quite pleasant along the promenade (well it was for us as it was very good weather while we were there).

The breakfast is served between 8 and 9am and I have to say we were rather underwhelmed. The food itself was nicely cooked however the portions are small and perhaps not good value for money for the £84 price tag. There is a good selection of cereal but the only other thing on offer on the "buffet" was a bowl of tinned grapefruit and some fruit juice ..... No yoghurts or muffins or croissants or anything like that ..... just cereal and tinned grapefruit. I chose to have the 'full' cooked breakfast to follow but without beans or tomatoes (which I dont like) and I recieved on my plate :- 1 rasher of bacon, 1 small sausage (supermarket quality), 1 poached egg and 2 closed cup mushrooms .... my husband had 1 rasher of bacon, 1 small sausage, 1 fried egg and a spoonfull of (what he assures me were) cheap beans. The toast was also unfortunately very thin bread toasted. I would suggest that this is a very meagre portion breakfast with some rather cheap ingredients and definately not value for money and I really think the breakfast offering lets this otherwise lovely and comfortable B+B down. After all the 2 main components are 'Bed' , which was fine and 'Breakfast' which really wasn't (in our opinion).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Lovely Hotel, Lovely Welcome, very clean and comfortable, had a very pleasant stay and a beautiful breakfast, would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Llandudno - I am sorry to read that Vinslin of Birmingham felt she had a bad experience but i am sure it was a misunderstanding as having just come back and read her review i do not think it would be possible for Sheila to be anything other than accommodating, polite and curteous - there are many hotels in Llandudno and i am sure some better than others but having stayed in Llandudno many times, this is one of the better - go and enjoy !!!
Lisa and Brian Clare

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

the kendricks what a lovely b an b the breakfast was great so clean the host brian sheila and family wolnderful host recommend it no prob

Room Tip: sea views are brill
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kendrick Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kendrick Guest House

Address: 13 Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1BG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kendrick Guesthouse is run by husband and wife team, Will and Val Matthews, who feel that their role in life is to make their guests' stay as enjoyable as possible. The guesthouse is fully licensed and offers 9 en-suite bedrooms, all of which offer free wifi (subject to availability), tea and coffee making facilities and include a quality breakfast each morning with a selection of fruit and Kelloggs cereals followed by a full cooked breakfast made from the finest locally sourced ingredients. Vegetarian options are available on request. To the front of the hotel, offering magnificent sea views across Llandudno Bay we have 4 rooms, all of which offer a seating area and complimentary binoculars for use during your stay to allow guests to enjoy the views along with wine glasses. These comprise one superior sea view with a bay window, one further double, one twin and one family room (with one double and one single bed). To the rear of the hotel we have 5 further rooms: 3 double and 2 family rooms (1 double and 1 single bed). One of the double rooms is on the ground floor and is ideal of people who are less able or those who just don't want to climb the stairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Kendrick Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kendrick Guest House Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kendrick Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.