We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacles Chip Shop

Barnacles Chip Shop
7 Mostyn Street, Llandudno LL30 2NL, Wales
01492 875 336
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 138 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice food and lots for vegetarians we use this place every time we come here,friendly staff and cheap.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    57
    28
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Re: What attracted us....the vegan menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We (myself, partner and baby son) ate here on Friday 19th July (one of the hottest days of the year). It was sweltering outside as well as inside. The fans were on full blast. We decided to opt for the roast vegan dinners (ie one falafel and one sausage). Despite the heat, we were satisfied with our meal comprising of roast potatoes, cauliflower, peas, carrots and gravy (all vegan). We were amazed this place has its own designated vegan menu complete with Vegan Society logo. It turns out the daughter of the owner is vegan so they provide their very own food to accommodate our needs. We would like to thank her along with the dedicated, friendly, smiling staff who had to work in uncomfortable conditions that day. We are very grateful. We even went back in the evening to try their battered sausages, curry sauce and chips (all vegan). Well worth a visit :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Take Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had take away fish and chips from Barnacles . Have to say they were excellent . freshly cooked , gorgeous mushy peas and thankfully , why don't they all do this , put our own salt and vinegar on .

Brilliant seaside chippy .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“nice fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

been going to Llandudno for years and we always have
something if we are only doing b&b.i like their fish and chips and the lamb roast dinner was very hot and tasty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“exploytation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Not having booked our hotel for lunch we made the very expensive mistake of trying barnacles chip restaraunt in llandudno, on the menu £5.95 for pudding chips and gravy £3.80 for a pot of tea when asked if we could have peas instead of the chips they said yes but then added a further £1.20 for the small pot of gravy a grand total of £16.90 i can fully understand why families don't use llandudno they can't afford to be ripped of its only the elderly on the coach trips and special deals that seem to be there, its a pity to be full of profiteers because it is a lovely resort.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacles Chip Shop also viewed

 

Been to Barnacles Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacles Chip Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.