We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget accommodation at the right price, no complaints” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brig-y-Don Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brig-y-Don Hotel to your Saves list
Brig-y-Don Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Central Promenande, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 152 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Budget accommodation at the right price, no complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I booked and paid for hotel before I read the reviews and didn't know what to expect. Yes, the building is in need of a massive capital investment to bring it to 21st century, however the room and en-suite were spotlessly clean, the staff, especially Louise on reception were lovely. Great location for the promenade and other attractions. We were in a back room which overlooked the car park, not a big deal, we weren't in hotel that much. Car parking on a first come-first served basis. Couldn't park the second night but find a side street a couple of minutes away where no restrictions at night. There was a lady there who had obvious mobility issues, one of the kitchen staff came and introduced himself at breakfast and told her he would be looking after her during her stay which we thought was a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    23
    17
    31
See reviews for
32
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

my friend sue and i had a lovely stay at the brig-e-don the staff were lovely and friendly. the room was clean and recently decorated. the owner is busy refurbishing the hotel at the moment so therefore it is busy in the day with builders etc. the food was satisfactory, the girls in the restaurant were lovely. this lovely old seaside hotel needs a lot of love and attention but i am sure that things will improve with time. overall i would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: need more plugs in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a 4 night stay in March with a coach company. I can see why some of the comments have been made but the hotel is trying hard to upgrade itself. They have renovated the entrance hall and reception area. Some of the rooms left a bit to be desired. We had a double room which overlooked the back of the property - not the most pleasant of sights however the room was warm and clean and had tea making facilities. The shower head was joined by tape and promptly fell off when I had a shower - we fixed it ourselves by buying some strong adhesive tape. Our friend had a bath in her room and asked for a shower attachment to wash her hair - which she was eventually given but did not fit the taps! The staff were helpful and friendly. The bar was disappointing as they had a very limited amount of drinks available, especially soft drinks. It was also lacking atmosphere and comfort. We did enjoy the entertainment provided by a comedian/singer - he was very entertaining. Breakfasts were buffer style and very good. Dinner was not special, we had mince in various guises on 3 evenings. There was no choice for vegetarians and desserts were always defrosted gateau's or cheesecakes - and no cream! Having said all this we did not pay a lot to stay there so could not expect too much. We enjoyed our stay and although we have stayed in much better establishments we could see that a renovation programme was in place but with all things on this scale it would take time and finances - it is a large building in desperate need of TLC.

Room Tip: There is a lift to each floor but there are still a few small staircases to the rooms on most levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Single room which I paid extra for was 7ft wide with peeling woodchip wall paper, chipped terrible furniture from the 60's, bathroom carpet wet, bathroom fan not working, smell was unbelievable, food even worst, still frozen fish served with tinned diced veg!
Just don't go.

Room Tip: no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisbech
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Worst place we have ever stayed, faulty electrics, PAT testing out of date, filthy, tired, mould on bread at breakfast, no food standards hygiene certificate on display. We went with a coach tour but checked out after 1 night as we didn't feel safe. There are plenty of lovely B & B/hotels in Llandundno so avoid this one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

When we arrived they couldn't find amended booking, so tried to charge us for an extra night. Fantastic view from bedroom window and bed was comfortable (no mattress cover) but one chair was broken, handle missing from drawer, 2 back casters missing from bedside table which made it tilt backwards (pointed out to staff as could be dangerous if someone put a hot drink on it), coving coming away from ceiling, one towel had stains on it, couldn't turn radiator on (informed staff and a man brought a small heater), no shower, only 2 mugs and plastic cups in room, but there were 3 of us (1 was 14). Front entrance and reception look lovely, but when you walk through from the car park at the back, into the hotel, it looks dismal. Breakfast was horrible: bacon was mostly fat, hardly any choice of cereals, nothing suitable for young children, unbranded coffee was cheap and nasty, on our last morning, the last jug of "orange juice" was either squash or juice very watered down.Young staff need training in hygiene: the waiter picked up and placed most knives and forks on the tables by holding the part that you put food on. Had he washed his hands first? Didn't give a good impression. We totally appreciate the vast job of refurbishing, but there is no excuse for some of our complaints and at £72 a night it was a total rip off from what was available nearby. Owners/management don't seem to have a clue about running a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Booked with booking.com, good deal for 2 nights for 3, asked for sea view and the view from the bay window was beautiful, the staff and owner were very friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble, breakfast was help yourself which was very good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brig-y-Don Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brig-y-Don Hotel

Address: Central Promenande, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brig-y-Don Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Brig Y Don Hotel in Llandudno. Glenn, Lisa, and staff at the Brig Y Don Hotel offer quality guest accommodation. We are a family run establishment which provides warm hospitality in a clean, relaxed and friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Brig-y-Don Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brig-y-Don Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brig-y-Don Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.