We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We don't do takeaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holmes Place

Holmes Place
15 South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
+44 1492 874235
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 167 Restaurants in Llandudno
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Description: The cafe is located right near the beach and Llandudno pier. We have an ice cream kiosk outside and offer a take out menu (which can be subject to waiting times during busy periods). Our most popular dish is fish and chips, a seaside classic! The staff are a close knit bunch with many of us returning year after year! We are a friendly bunch and there is a real family atmosphere amongst the staff. A few of the staff are even actually related! We have a fantastic health rating of 5 stars and many of our senior staff have a collection of health and safety certificates which can be seen on the wall downstairs. We have plenty of space with 16 tables inside, 3 outside and even space downstairs! There are two kitchens, the fish and chips are cooked separately downstairs. They are that popular we need an extra kitchen to cook them in! The main downfall is that the bathrooms are downstairs but we always offer assistance navigating the stairs or directions to the nearest ground floor bathroom!
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We don't do takeaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Visited for lunch today, 9 of us including children. Waitress bit our heads off as soon as we entered, to tell us let her clear the table before we sat down, she then walked off shaking her head. Snapped at us during taking our order, then proceeded to tell the whole cafe that she was busy as she couldn't get 'Suzy' in as she was in hospital after taking too many painkillers! Nice chatter to have around your customers. Three or four families came in to enquire about takeaway ( as advertised on a chalkboard outside) to be told by the same waitress we don't do takeaway go to the chippy up the road, perhaps she is on commission for the other chippy but she certainly wasn't happy to he working in the cafe today, perhaps the cafe does so well they don't need the custom. Food was OK, my daughter and sister had egg and chips and the egg was overcooked. Fish a little greasy also. Won't be going back. My advice try the chippy up the road the waitress seemed to think it was good

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    26
    12
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oven Chips”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Advertised fish and chips, big sign on side of cafe. Special board outside cod, chips and peas with a cuppa for £7.40. Fish was very nice but the chips - frozen oven chips!!! so dry you couldn't swallow them and marrowfat peas. I asked if they always served frozen chips ans was told yes. Unbelievable. The 3 waitresses were all checking their phones and having a 3 way conversation across the restaurant about one of their horrible mother in laws. Would we ever go again - NO.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great service, good food friendly staff m.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I'll be going back! The food was amazing and the staff were really quick and friendly. Perfect place for a quick bite x

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avoid this place unless you are a health inspector.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stopped off looking for a bite and were not disappointed because after a bite of our meals we didn’t want to eat any more. It has an interesting two tier kitchen; half our meals came out of the microwave section which was reheated food (food used in the most extreme limit of the definition of the word). From down stairs came the fish and chips, these chips had not had the reheated treatment and retained some recognition of what a chip should be. Now on to the drinks, a most taxing of operations in the restaurant industry I understand. When choosing a well known fizzy beverage this most complex of processes (pour the liquid into a glass) was beyond this establishment and seemed to undergo a similar process to the food where all the flavour evaporates before it reached the table.
Should you find yourself having not eaten for days and delirious through dehydration, death may be the preferable option before subjecting yourself to the tasteless reheated slop which is in on offer here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Smelly and lack of interest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Been once before and was quite impressed with the food and service as the waiter came to the table to take our order. Food was delivered fairly quickly and we enjoyed it. However on our last visit no-one came to the table and had to go to the desk where a young girl was making very heavy weather of a Bill. She seemed not to be able to comprehend what what she was reading and she disappeared for a long time.Another customer before us was bewildered as to what was going on and his order had not been taken even though he asked to order.The place stank of rancid fat and the Wife felt sick so we decided to go to Mark's where there was no smell. Never again will I go there, it was awful,even though I 'enjoyed' my first visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traci Taz R, Supervisor at Holmes Place, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello,
I suspect you may have encountered a new member of staff (the young lady having trouble with a bill) as we usually take on some of our seasonal staff in March. It may well have been early days, hence the struggling.
As a place that primarily sells fish and chips, there is a constant smell of cooking oil in the air but it won't have been rancid as all our friers are cleaned very regularly.
I apologise that you were not happy on your brief visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holmes Place also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Holmes Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holmes Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.