We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Alexandra Hotel to your Saves list
The Alexandra Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Clomnel Street | Just Off the Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed for one night, found the staff friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable. Got back very late on Saturday night and this was no problem at all. It had everything we needed and I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnmh156, Director of Sales at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We are pleased to have met your expectations, we continue even in these difficult times to continue our renewal and improvement program, it is a long and ongoing process which is subject to time and money being available, we will continue to give the service and welcome to our guests, we give value for money and go that extra mile to ensure our staff make all our guests feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    37
    24
    15
    22
See reviews for
31
45
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend with friends

For the money we paid it was great value. Yes some things could be better and improved but then you'd probably pay double the price.

I had a great nights sleep, a nice beer in the bar, a fantastic breakfast and all the staff were very nice.

I would stay here again as the location is perfect, lots of street parking available

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed for twelve nights in late March and early April. Very clean, very acceptable facilities. Sufficient range of foods for breakfast (full english every day with a pot of coffee!). Really friendly staff who exceeded my expectations and all worked very hard. It has a very homely feel to it and it is very affordable.

Very situated. Turn right and you are on the coast. Local parade of shops, retail park, Asda and a pub all within a 0-10 minute walk and the Hotel also has it's own dining area.

If you want a short get away or you are working away for a lengthy period, this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My friends and l have stayed at the Alexander several times and find it a very friendly place to stay that is very good value for money and in a great central position. John and his staff always give us a warm welcome and are very helpful.The hotel does need some improvement but this is a large impressive hotel which is continually being updated and each time we visit more work has been done.Breakfast is great a very good selection in a lovely room.Please do not listen to negative reviews about this hotel as l don't know what they expect for the money,it is excellent value and the staff work very hard.We will continue to use this hotel each time we visit Llandudno and definately recommend it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: We are sometimes a party of 5 and stay in a grreat room that sleeps 5 with a huge en-suite with a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Generally clean , only a 3 hygiene rating made me worry about eating breakfast.
Staff very polite and welcoming.
Could do with a makeover but then it would be dearer, we just wanted to crash for the night which was fine.

Room Tip: doors don`t lock automatically, make sure you turn the key to lock it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is an easy 5min walk from the railway stn,and just a couple of hundred yds from the sea front.The rooms are very clean and well equipt with :- tv,tea/coffee and free WiFi.There are stairs up to the reception and rooms(no lift),but the staff will carry your luggage up for you.
The breakfast was excellent,and you are very close to the shops,pubs,etc. 10/10

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Must begin by saying that, for what we paid, this was much more than acceptable and I would heartily recommend it as a 'budget stay' in Llandudno. This is a Victorian building that has a preservation order on it, thus making alterations and improvements difficult, hence no lift. It has been with the current 'owners' for under 2 years and they are undertaking a slow renovation of the rooms. The twin bedded en-suite room we had on the front was excellent, warm, well decorated and spotlessly clean although many of the other areas do look very 'tired' and carpets could do with a good clean. The staff were lovely and made our stay most enjoyable. The breakfast was really good with a choice of Continental or Cooked, and both were good quality. This is not the 'Ritz', but you are not paying 'Ritz' prices so with it being clean, warm and serving good food
what more can you on the basis of fairness can you expect. We shall certainly return.

Room Tip: Despite being on the front it was very quiet. That said we were several floors up which would help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Address: 11 Clomnel Street | Just Off the Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine example of Victorian architecture a grade two listed building which stands out well in its excellent location set between the main shopping street and the promenade with fine views of the Great Orme and from certain rooms the sea. The Alexandra Hotel offers you a cosy and comfortable stay in the centre of Llandudo at a reasonable price.We are pleased to offer a 24 hour reception & night porter service, all our rooms are en-suite and we are happy to offer, half or full board serviced accomodation for the single traveller or the family of 6, our rates are average for a 2 Star*(*Visit Wales) serviced hotel accomodation in central Llandudno, we are open all year round.Just minutes from the shops or the beach. We regret we cannot accommodate people with mobility problems, we do have a lot of stairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexandra Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.